Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6034 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
46 crawler(s) on-line.
 18 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Hypex

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Hypex:  4 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  16 mins ago
 clebin:  25 mins ago
 Karlos:  52 mins ago
 kolla:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 pavlor:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 Seiya:  1 hr 45 mins ago
 ackcontrls:  1 hr 57 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  2 hrs 10 mins ago
 Deniil715:  2 hrs 25 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )
PosterThread
Foody 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 28-Sep-2006 18:23:00
#141 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Sep-2003
Posts: 1467
From: Canada

@All

OoOOh this is cool let us all attack Samwel this is going to be so much fun

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mr_Capehill 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 28-Sep-2006 18:40:23
#142 ]
Super Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 1932
From: Yharnam

@Crumb

Sorry but you are wrong. I thought you knew it?-)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 28-Sep-2006 20:41:38
#143 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2326
From: Perugia, ITALY

@Samwell & Chip & peoples that thinks same they...

If you dont like/need it simply dont use it!
But...
If a program like sputnik will work on MOSemu why dont use?????
You are sadic and you want to suffer still using (REALLY) BAD Amiga browsers?
I dont think that...
If it would run a program like ShowGirls why not to use it? Ther's NO programs like it on OS4 unfortunately(as just said)...
But if Itix would/will port it...why not?
Same thing was true for other possible programs...
And same thing was true in the reverse way, so OS4 programs that a MOS user will like can be launched via OS4emu...
I dont see nothing wrong in that...
ShapeShifter/Fusion users was mad?
MOL users was mad?
other emulators/wrappers users was mad?

I dunno... really...

Tuxedo.

Last edited by Tuxedo on 28-Sep-2006 at 08:42 PM.

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DoodooHead 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 28-Sep-2006 20:45:25
#144 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 641
From: Reno, Nevada, U.S.

Why not just do what I do?

Buy the computer that runs the software that you want to run.

_________________
Amiga user since 1985.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pixie 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 28-Sep-2006 23:17:34
#145 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 2688
From: Figueira da Foz - Portugal

@DoodooHead

Because we don't have all to be a DoodooHead...

_________________
Indigo 3D Lounge, my second home.
The Illusion of Choice | Am*ga

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DoodooHead 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 28-Sep-2006 23:35:14
#146 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 641
From: Reno, Nevada, U.S.

@pixie

Quote:
Because we don't have all to be a DoodooHead...


That is correct. You can buy an XBOX and try to play Playstation games on it. Then you can write a letter to Bill Gates and demand that he make a Playstation Emulator for the XBOX. All becuase you really wanted to play Playstaion games and bought the wrong machine.

_________________
Amiga user since 1985.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
itix 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 28-Sep-2006 23:44:02
#147 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2004
Posts: 3398
From: Freedom world

@falemagn

Quote:

You could make exec.library return a different base for MOS programs than for AOS4 programs, a base which you'd be free to patch at your will, of course.


OS4 doesnt support this because remapping is global (it is single address base after all). And wouldnt guarantee 100% reliability, still.

_________________
Amiga Developer
Amiga 500, Efika, Mac Mini and PowerBook

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pixie 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 28-Sep-2006 23:51:04
#148 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 2688
From: Figueira da Foz - Portugal

@DoodooHead

So I cannot buy a PC and use my WinUAE(Yes, instaad of my old Amiga1200)? Run! Go telling all your A1 friends to stop using emulators on their beloved A1, on the way tell them not to use their legal and purchased MacOS on MOL while you're at it, but do it fast before it ruins your credibility

_________________
Indigo 3D Lounge, my second home.
The Illusion of Choice | Am*ga

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chain-Q 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 0:10:59
#149 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jan-2005
Posts: 823
From: Budapest, Hungary

@Chip
Quote:
Now I see ChainQ's point!!! Thanks!

You are hopeless... You know damn well, that:
1., MorphOS calling scheme was invented years ago before OS4 started working.
2., OS4 was designed in such a way to make the job itix talks about difficult. (Probably not intentionally, but simply without caring about what other people did before, and why they did that.)

You quote my words, then itix's words, then you put them in an environment to suggest people to draw the wrong conclusion, and then you're happy about it, being a cool guy, with sunglasses... *sigh*...

_________________
MorphOS, classic Amiga, demoscene, and stuff
"When a bridge is not enough, build a Viaduct!"
"Strip the Amiga community of speculation and we can fit every forum on a 720k floppy" (by resle)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DoodooHead 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 0:13:41
#150 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 641
From: Reno, Nevada, U.S.

@pixie

I don't care what you do. I don't care what other A1 owners do. If I wanted to run any MorphOS applications I would go get a machine to run them on. That's all I'm saying. It has nothing to do with anybody else. (I run my MacOS software on a Mac.)

_________________
Amiga user since 1985.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_ThEcRoW 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 2:26:26
#151 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 831
From: Murcia (Spain)

@DoodooHead

"Why not just do what I do?
Buy the computer that runs the software that you want to run."

Where are those computers to buy?. Are there new A1's?
So you don't have valid points and use the old saying: buy the hardware, but, WHAT HARDWARE?

_________________
Amiga 1200 desktop. Apollo 030/50 Mhz 8mb ram + ClassicWB + Wb 3.1
Amiga 500 + ACA500plus 8mb + 30gb CF
Raspberry Pi 3b+ and Amibian 1.4
Mac Mini G4 1GB Ram with the butterfly!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gary_c 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 3:15:12
#152 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 874
From: Chiba, Japan

@DoodooHead
I have to wonder if you're sort of new to Amiga computing. Back in the day, it was a point of pride that we could use Amax or Shapeshifter or PCTask so that we not only could run Amiga software on our computer, but MacOS or PC software as well. People thought it showed that the Amiga was "better" because of this kind of expanded, flexible use. I still think that makes sense. I have no idea why you think "buy more hardware to run the software" is a good thing when a low-cost/no-cost software solution can be used instead.

-- gary_c

_________________
zukakakina.com - themes.tikiwiki.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DoodooHead 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 3:21:07
#153 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 641
From: Reno, Nevada, U.S.

@_ThEcRoW

The topic of this thread is about running MorphOS software on OS4. I say go get a machine to run MorphOS.

As far as where is the hardware for running OS4... I said about a month ago that I was going to save up my money because there was hardware coming. I said there were at least 6 motherboards in development to run OS4 on.

Samantha
Moana
Bridgette
Amy05
Panda
PowerVixen TL
...

I was called a drug user for suggesting such a thing. Check in at here periodically and I'm sure you'll see the announcements when they are ready.

_________________
Amiga user since 1985.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DoodooHead 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 3:27:04
#154 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 641
From: Reno, Nevada, U.S.

@gary_c

Quote:
I have no idea why you think "buy more hardware to run the software" is a good thing when a low-cost/no-cost software solution can be used instead.


Just trying to drum up a few sales for my old pal Bill Buck.

_________________
Amiga user since 1985.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gary_c 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 5:56:47
#155 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 874
From: Chiba, Japan

@DoodooHead

Quote:
I have no idea why you think "buy more hardware to run the software" is a good thing when a low-cost/no-cost software solution can be used instead.
Quote:
Just trying to drum up a few sales for my old pal Bill Buck.

I guess a lame joke is as good a response as any when there are no logical arguments left.

-- gary_c

_________________
zukakakina.com - themes.tikiwiki.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
falemagn 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 6:42:51
#156 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Nov-2003
Posts: 1126
From: Italy

@itix

Shame on me, I had forgotten you take SysBase from an absolute address (in AROS wil let the loader "fill the blanks", so to speak, or pass SysBase as an argument to the entry point).

However, aren't those function vectors typically unused by 68k apps? If so, something is excaping me: why would there be a conflict if MOSEmu patched those vectors or if the function table were extended to account for those vectors?

_________________
It is well enough that people of the nation do not understand our banking and monetary
system, for if they did, I believe there would be a revolution before tomorrow morning.

~~ Henry Ford

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
itix 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 7:39:53
#157 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2004
Posts: 3398
From: Freedom world

@falemagn

Quote:

Shame on me, I had forgotten you take SysBase from an absolute address (in AROS wil let the loader "fill the blanks", so to speak, or pass SysBase as an argument to the entry point).


Yep

Quote:

However, aren't those function vectors typically unused by 68k apps? If so, something is excaping me: why would there be a conflict if MOSEmu patched those vectors or if the function table were extended to account for those vectors?


Lets see... Offset for NewRawDoFmt() is at -920 and at least 3.5 doesnt have functions that far. Extending a function table would be enough. There is only one SysV function inside 3.5 jump table and seems it is an empty slot on 3.5.

On the other hand MOSEmu could just overwrite 3.5/3.9 extensions... not big loss?

_________________
Amiga Developer
Amiga 500, Efika, Mac Mini and PowerBook

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chip 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 8:56:40
#158 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2005
Posts: 574
From: Budapest, Hungary

@Chain-Q

Quote:
You are hopeless...


I asked you already to stop personal insulting.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chip 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 9:12:14
#159 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2005
Posts: 574
From: Budapest, Hungary

@Chain-Q

Quote:
2., OS4 was designed in such a way to make the job itix talks about difficult. (Probably not intentionally, but simply without caring about what other people did before, and why they did that.)



Is it serious??? Why would OS4 developers should care how MorphOS was made????

OMG!!!

I give up. It's too silly discussion...

Last edited by Chip on 29-Sep-2006 at 09:13 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chip 
Re: I think we need MOS emu...And I will explain you why...
Posted on 29-Sep-2006 9:14:27
#160 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2005
Posts: 574
From: Budapest, Hungary

@itix

What about patching the MOS binary during load?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle