Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
5 crawler(s) on-line.
 23 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 amigang:  5 mins ago
 Rob:  12 mins ago
 michalsc:  15 mins ago
 kolla:  27 mins ago
 Kronos:  30 mins ago
 matthey:  37 mins ago
 DiskDoctor:  59 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 Karlos:  1 hr 44 mins ago
 amigakit:  2 hrs 51 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
Boot_WB 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:02:57
#101 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2006
Posts: 1134
From: Kingston upon Hull, UK

@Thread

Finally caught up with the end of the thread.

The RAM configuration suggests dual channel to me. Although 4GB address space is available to 32-bit cpus, (as has been discussed many times) only around 1.8-2GB (iirc) is available to AmigaOS (rest taken up by i/o, device addresssing etc).
To need 4 ram slots strongly suggests 64-bit - will be interesting to see how this plays out (eg 32-bit 0S4.1.x sandboxed in first 1.8GB address space, hosted in OS4.2 with access to 64-bit address space?

The multi-core nature seems to be more-or-less confirmed - again I'm looking forward to seeing how this is implemented (although EDF has been hinted at), and curious what the performance gain will be.

Thank goodness all those crappy PS2/serial/parallel ports are gone! If they're still needed for debug-logs, etc they should be left as headers on the motherboard - the average user doesn't need the real estate taken up on the ATX panel.

The info about Xena is tantalizing (thanks guys, just what I need - more anticipation!). I'd love to see a classic-hardware-emulation card being created for this (Natami/clone-A), but I sincerely hope that hardware emulation of classics will NOT be on-board the motherboard - why bother given the increased development costs/time that would bring?
In fact, I suspect this is what Xena is - a specialised bus for allowing additional CPU/chipset boards to be used for hardware emulation, allowing access to the motherboard resources (pci-bus, memory).

4 x SATA - Thanks guys, good to see you're dropping PATA - the real-estate costs are ridiculous in this day and age (motherboard space and cabling).

The audio is perhaps one of the most interesting parts - optical out and a 5.1 (or even 7.1?) terminal block. I can't believe no-one has mentioned this yet! Suggestive of surround-sound on the Amiga (dependent on AHI being updated to handle 5.1/7.1).

Gigabit ethernet will be a blessing, if indeed that is what is included.

There are a lot of headers towards the "front edge" of the board - front audio? front USB? front panel connectors? Well, that accounts for maybe half of them. Option jumpers maybe? Will have to wait to find out...

The large (non-hidden) chip behind the PCIe16 slot has got me confused though.
A southbridge or something (but I would expect that to be integrated into the cpu).
Surely not a pci controller (PCIe is directly routed to the CPU)
Looks way too big for a SATA controller.
A PCIe - PCI bridge maybe?
Not a GPU (no video out ports)

I like the overall design philosophy - keep it simple, stupid!
Looking at the teaser, the motherboard design is kept as simple as possible (ie no on-board video, no legacy i/o (except probably a serial header).

Everything else seems to be provided through expansion slots: Video, etc

I like it

@Rogue

You weren't kidding about not being disappointed by the specs, and we haven't even got them yet!

Last edited by Boot_WB on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:08 PM.

_________________
Troll - n., A disenfranchised former potential customer who remains interested enough to stay informed and express critical opinions.
opp., the vast majority who voted silently with their feet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:04:08
#102 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 5074
From: New Zealand

@Derfs

Quote:

Derfs wrote:
posted by Rogue over on amiga.org

Quote:

Well, seriously, most of it is already out there.
2x PCIe 16x (16 lanes connected, they'll scale down to 2x 8x if both are populated)
3x PCIe 1x (Xorro slot in line)
2x PCI legacy slots
4x SATA
8x USB
Onboard Audio
4x RAM socket

It can run 8 programs at 25% each, so that makes it how many cores?

As far as I can see, the only unknown factors not yet guessed are the CPU itself, Xena and Xorro...

For that... well... see you tomorrow


This is what I have been waiting for. A 16x PCI-Express bus means more powerful Radeon HD cards and a fast bus to the card; no more 33 MHz PCI bus and lower end (64-bit VRAM) cards. I'm going to have to start saving up for new hardware.

Hans

_________________
Join the Kea Campus - upgrade your skills; support my work; enjoy the Amiga corner.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - see more of my work

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheDaddy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:04:21
#103 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2005
Posts: 4499
From: Quattro Stelle

Power requirements for a fully loaded board?


_________________
www.loriano.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Derfs 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:05:25
#104 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 789
From: me To: you

@Boot_WB

there is no PCI-X, its PCIe slots

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trev 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:05:50
#105 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2005
Posts: 778
From: Sacramento, CA, USA

@all

Not going to read the whole thread (yikes!), but the board layout looks a bit like the C-One to me. (EDIT: And A-Eon works as a play on C-One.) Is Jens involved in some way? Apologies if the question has already been asked and answered.

EDIT: And, I just spent $1000+ on a Sam440ep rig. WTF? The wife and I also just bought a new Samsung UN55B8500 LCD TV, so I think new 'puter stuff will be on hold for a while.

Last edited by Trev on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:23 PM.
Last edited by Trev on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:06 PM.
Last edited by Trev on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:06 PM.

_________________
Sam440ep-flex 733 MHz/1 GB RAM/Radeon 9250/AmigaOS4.1 Update 2
borked A1200/Blizzard1260+SCSI-IV/Z4+MediatorZIV/Deneb/Voodoo3/CatweaselMk3
more borked A1200/MBX1200z/Indivision
A500/clockport/RRNet
A600/A603

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Derfs 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:07:15
#106 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 789
From: me To: you

@Hans

be afraid, as everyone will be asking you for 2D/3D drivers for every Radeon HD PCIe card there is

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Boot_WB 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:07:28
#107 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2006
Posts: 1134
From: Kingston upon Hull, UK

@Derfs

d'oh, my bad. Meant PCIe (as in express), not PCI-X (as in 64-bit PCI).

Correcting now...

_________________
Troll - n., A disenfranchised former potential customer who remains interested enough to stay informed and express critical opinions.
opp., the vast majority who voted silently with their feet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amiga1200Mark 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:10:56
#108 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Jul-2008
Posts: 139
From: Liverpool

@tomazkid

Slightly off topic but Amiga Future 82 has been put back from the 5th January until 15th and the front cover has been replaced by a coming soon screen. Maybe they are going to fit something in about an ambitious project. Also the review for 4.1 update 1 was due for this issue.

Last edited by Amiga1200Mark on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:11 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:12:30
#109 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 5074
From: New Zealand

@Derfs

Quote:

Derfs wrote:
@Hans

be afraid, as everyone will be asking you for 2D/3D drivers for every Radeon HD PCIe card there is


Noooooooooooooooo!

Hans

EDIT: On second thoughts, there's an "ask" button on this page.
Seriously though, I'll be maintaining a compatibility page so that people know which cards have been tested by others when they're buying. That should make life easier for everyone.

Last edited by Hans on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:24 PM.

_________________
Join the Kea Campus - upgrade your skills; support my work; enjoy the Amiga corner.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - see more of my work

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:12:56
#110 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

@KimmoK Quote:
I think any legacy stuff is not worth it on a board that aims for the future.
When we get more CPU power, we have no difficulties handling legacy stuff in SW.

You could well be right. I would just like to (slightly mis-) quote Rigo from May 2009:
Quote:
As each OS revision has been released more and more work has gone into "improving" the system as a whole. Sometimes this means that some OS3 compatibilty has been sacrificed to ensure that OS4 moves forward.

As there are two schools of thought, my advice is:
1) If you want classic support, stick to your antiquated hardware running a dated OS.
2) If you want to ride the bus into AmigaOS' future, then you have to pay the fare.

This decision ideally should be made when embarking on contemplating buying OS4 to start with. It is an evolution of the old OS3 system, and lots of software written for that old system made use of undocumented features that were never guaranteed to work in the future (ie: Now). There have already been lots of instances where hacks have been included to ensure that older software ran on the new system, but this has to stop. Some classic software was classed as "a must have" in order to further the OS, but most old software that relies on these features will not continue to work as these "features" are removed from the system.

So, first and foremost, decide what you want from your AmigaOS4 system: A system that is compatible with older software? Go with MorphOS (which makes big bones about its legacy compatibility), or do you want an AmigaOS system that is prepared to look forward into the future and prepare itself for what lies ahead?

As each release of AmigaOS come out, it will undoubtedly include less and less cludges for this old software to work, that is the price of moving the system forward. So those that need 25 year old software to work are better off looking to another system, or be prepared to use E-UAE on AmigaOS to gain that compatibilty.

(emphasis added by me)

I think 64-bit, SMP & memory protection are all quite possible with such a mindset. Particularly since Rogue/etc has discussed in past how they planned to provide OS4.x wrapper onto new OS4 with radically revised API. (Although I should point out that they were clear that details had not yet been worked-out at the point, so who knows what we will actually be getting?)

Last edited by ChrisH on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:26 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:23 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CptPingu 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:25:37
#111 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Dec-2003
Posts: 46
From: Leicester,UK.

found this image on a-eon, nothing major gave away but anyway...

New image

don't recall seeing it before - a sign of something to come...


Pingu

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
asymetrix 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:26:05
#112 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 868
From: United Kingdom

@thread

My guess :

QorIQ P4 series 8 core cpu

DDR2/DDR3 capability

Multiple AmigaOS running on each core

Gigabit ethernet

multicore communication lane / protocol

FPGA for hardware acceleration or multimedia HD DSP

AKA ' The BEAST'

Last edited by asymetrix on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:30 PM.

_________________
Download 499.26 Mbps, 659.94 Mbps Upload :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Troels 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:28:00
#113 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2005
From: Unknown

@CptPingu
Yeah thats new to me.
How did you come across that?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:29:31
#114 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 5074
From: New Zealand

@ChrisH

Quote:

ChrisH wrote:
I think 64-bit, SMP & memory protection are all quite possible with such a mindset. Particularly since Rogue/etc has discussed in past how they planned to provide OS4.x wrapper onto new OS4 with radically revised API. (Although I should point out that they were clear that details had not yet been worked-out at the point, so who knows what we will actually be getting?)


I'd be interested to see what solutions they come up with, particularly with regard to all those tag-lists that assume that a pointer is a 32-bit ULONG. Regardless, SMP, etc., will be greate to have.

Hans

_________________
Join the Kea Campus - upgrade your skills; support my work; enjoy the Amiga corner.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - see more of my work

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CptPingu 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:31:36
#115 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Dec-2003
Posts: 46
From: Leicester,UK.

@Troels

Let's just say...process of elimination!

Pingu

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:35:01
#116 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3039
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@CptPingu

Quote:
Let's just say...process of elimination!


Crikey! How long did that take?

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:36:31
#117 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 5074
From: New Zealand

@CptPingu

Quote:

CptPingu wrote:
found this image on a-eon, nothing major gave away but anyway...

New image

don't recall seeing it before - a sign of something to come...


With all these people fishing around on the server looking for unreleased clues, I'm betting that the server logs look interesting.

Hans

_________________
Join the Kea Campus - upgrade your skills; support my work; enjoy the Amiga corner.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - see more of my work

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mike 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:38:08
#118 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Posts: 406
From: Alpha Centauri

Interesting Image link


Moderator note: Image was to big, please fix.
Weirdo note: Done

Last edited by mike on 03-Jan-2010 at 10:13 PM.
Last edited by zerohero on 03-Jan-2010 at 09:44 PM.

_________________
C= Amiga addict
,,,
(Oo)
⎛☮ໄ
ﮑὠՀ
Couldn't care less what other people think, seeing that there's concrete evidence they don't.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CptPingu 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:41:00
#119 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Dec-2003
Posts: 46
From: Leicester,UK.

@-Sam-

Not too long really . Trying a few more now... Needs must.

Pingu

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaFreak 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 21:43:57
#120 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-May-2005
Posts: 128
From: Berlin, Germany

@Boot_WB #102:

Good summary - thank you!
But what's about the top left connector (maybe Expresscard 34)?

_________________
Sam440ep & AmigaOS4.1 @ Morex 3677 case
---
(DaFreak of Liquid Skies & Moods Plateau)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle