Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6083 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
14 crawler(s) on-line.
 16 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Karlos:  16 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  16 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  28 mins ago
 clebin:  53 mins ago
 Deniil715:  56 mins ago
 Bosanac:  1 hr 1 min ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 18 mins ago
 t0lkien:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 31 mins ago
 Rob:  2 hrs 7 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  amigakit looks like they ran out of sams.
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
webhead 
amigakit looks like they ran out of sams.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 20:17:41
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Sep-2004
Posts: 235
From: phobos

well all i can say is wow ,went to amigakit to see about getting a sam board ,and now theres none listed yet again the amiga disapears just as i get the money am i unlucky or what it was going to be my 40th birthday prezzy well thanks alot ,total assssssssss.

why isnt the boards listed on amigakit now i want a samflex helllo hello .

Last edited by _Steve_ on 20-Mar-2010 at 10:43 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AP 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 20:23:26
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 615
From: Vienna/Austria

@webhead: There are other dealers with SAMflex in stock (Alinea, Vesalia,...).

_________________
AmigaOne X5000/40, 2.2 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, Radeon R9 280X, M-Audio Revolution 5.1, 240 GB SSD

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 20:23:53
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2968
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

@webhead

Did you mail them and ask about it ??

Try this first and then come back to complain !

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kyle 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 20:27:33
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Oct-2006
Posts: 865
From: Livorno, Italy

@AP

ACube itself

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
eliyahu 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 20:42:13
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2010
Posts: 1880
From: Waterbury, Connecticut (USA)

@kyle

Quote:
kyle wrote:
@AP

ACube itself

interestingly enough i did try and get in touch with acube last month about the sam440ep bundle they announced a few weeks back.... and never got a response.

maybe calling them direct is the way to go.

i certainly hope amigakit is merely experiencing an inventory issue and not de-listing the SAM and their SAM bundles on a permanent basis. it's very nice to have a dealer on this side of the atlantic as well.

-- eliyahu

Last edited by eliyahu on 19-Mar-2010 at 08:43 PM.

_________________
Multicore support is still a priority

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 20:44:50
#6 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 2056
From: Czech Republic

@webhead
Vesalia is a very good Amiga dealer, I've always received good service from them. I had quite specific requirements for my SAM pre-assembled system, and they were really flexible and helpful to ensure I get what I was looking for.

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 20:52:56
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2677
From: Wellington

AFAIK AmigaKit still stock Sam440ep Flex. Matthew is probably updating his website. I know that Acube also stock them, because I have just bought one for a special software development project.

TrevorD

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 23:08:03
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3086
From: Westhall, UK

@TrevorDick

Does anyone still have the non flex version? I would probably go for an "everything on the board" option, but the flex is still a good board.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pokemon 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 23:13:41
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 28-Dec-2005
Posts: 28
From: Unknown

They might be just letting their inventory of sams clear to get ready for the x1000.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 23:17:14
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3086
From: Westhall, UK

@Pokemon

I doubt that, the X1000 will be several months yet, and I wouldn't imagine they would ditch a cube for selling another OS4 capable machine - to start with they are totally different price brackets and the X1000 can only be purchased as a complete system.

My guess is, as long as Acube are able to supply and people still want to buy, Amigakit will still sell them up to and beyond the release of the X1000 - I hope when Amigakit sees this thread they will confirm as I don't really know.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 5:31:56
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@All

Don't forget Relec (switzerland) or NGI informatique (france), as good amiga dealers.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
metalmac 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 5:37:26
#12 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2009
Posts: 166
From: Stockholm, Sweden

@A1200

It looks like you still got the sam440ep in mini itx case here:

http://www.amiga-shop.net/index.php

http://www.relec.ch/frch/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=4&category_id=1&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=2&lang=fr

Last edited by metalmac on 20-Mar-2010 at 05:40 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 7:36:14
#13 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 2056
From: Czech Republic

@A1200

Quote:
Does anyone still have the non flex version? I would probably go for an "everything on the board" option

I, too, preferred the non-flex SAM, because of the size (I got tired of big cases). But I wouldn't go for anything under 667MHz, this really seems to be the minimum if you want to play videos or old Amiga games under E-UAE.

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wizzard_o 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 8:06:49
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Sep-2004
Posts: 701
From: UK, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Solar System, Alpha Quadrant, The Milky-Way, Universe. 1.1.1.3.44.HP

I found that on Amiga Kit's website, whenever something is out of stock it's simply removed from the site until its back in stock again. (There's no point selling something you haven't got!)

Did you bother to ask Amiga Kit first before starting this post??

Wizz.

_________________
Rev 1D3 Amiga 1200, Apollo 1240 (40Mhz '040, 64MB RAM), Indivision MKII, Fast ATA MK V, Rapid Road USB, PCMCIA WIFI & OS 3.14

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 10:03:23
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@webhead
Your thread title is quite IRRESPONSIBLE, as it potentially damages one of our last few Amiga retailers, without any reason: There is NO proof, and most likely you are wrong.

Please change the title until you have confirmation/denial/explanation from AmigaKit.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Apple Hammer 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 10:08:07
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Jan-2010
Posts: 130
From: Unknown

@ChrisH

But, by paradox, it's the rest of us that allow any potential damage to happen. It's the same with all these kinds of threads - because we all seem to feel the need to react to them, they keep getting air time on Amigaworld's website (as opposed to quickly falling away into the depths of the forum).

If we all ignored such things, then it would be much less of a problem. The way it is now, a very tiny minority gets the lion's share of amigaworld air time. Which gives a negative impression about the platform that in reality is nowhere near that bad

EDIT - with regard to the negativity thing I'm referring mostly to other threads (everyone knows which ones they are) as... to be honest... this one isn't that bad. It's just someone getting over-excited about having a SAM for his birthday. I can understand that!



Apple_Hammer

Last edited by Apple_hammer on 20-Mar-2010 at 10:29 AM.
Last edited by Apple_hammer on 20-Mar-2010 at 10:10 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Nibunnoichi 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 11:12:51
#17 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 18-Nov-2004
Posts: 964
From: Roma + Lecco, Italia

@A1200

Quote:

A1200 wrote:
Does anyone still have the non flex version? I would probably go for an "everything on the board" option, but the flex is still a good board.

I have the non flex version and i absolutely love it! I didn't have too much space available 'cause i already have a tower PC, a PS3 and various other consoles/old computers/things so i went for the mini-itx Sam... it's amazing, it's smaller than an A4 sheet so it fitted very well.

_________________
Proud Amigan since 1987
Owner of various Commodore and a SAM440ep\OS4.1FE
See them on http://retro.furinkan.org/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AP 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 13:00:04
#18 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 615
From: Vienna/Austria

@kyle: >ACube itself

I forgot the most obvious.

_________________
AmigaOne X5000/40, 2.2 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, Radeon R9 280X, M-Audio Revolution 5.1, 240 GB SSD

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 13:12:29
#19 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2430
From: www.amigakit.com


ACube is still our trading partner- I am not sure where this mis-information and speculation came from as ACube logo is still prominently displayed in our webstore.

Our webstore has real-time stock checking in place- it will automatically remove stock if we sell-out of a product line so that we do not pre-sell an item. As we approach our financial year-end, stock levels are traditionally run-down, this is consistent with most retail businesses.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wizzard_o 
Re: amigakit looks like they ditched acube.
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 13:25:48
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Sep-2004
Posts: 701
From: UK, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Solar System, Alpha Quadrant, The Milky-Way, Universe. 1.1.1.3.44.HP

@amigakit

_________________
Rev 1D3 Amiga 1200, Apollo 1240 (40Mhz '040, 64MB RAM), Indivision MKII, Fast ATA MK V, Rapid Road USB, PCMCIA WIFI & OS 3.14

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle