Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6093 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
16 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 hardwaretech:  7 mins ago
 matthey:  9 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  18 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  23 mins ago
 Rob:  27 mins ago
 kolla:  33 mins ago
 Cheese:  40 mins ago
 Jasper:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  1 hr 35 mins ago
 portarinos:  1 hr 43 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  General Technology (No Console Threads)
      /  New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 )
PosterThread
opi 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 31-May-2010 16:42:43
#81 ]
Team Member
Joined: 2-Mar-2005
Posts: 2752
From: Poland

@jas_mc

Quote:
it's a regular Linux PC with a startup screen designed to recreate an Amiga 500-style gaming experience, that you can bypass to reach full desktop.


http://www.amigaforever.com/kxlight/

_________________
OpenWindows Initiative. Port PS3 hardware to bananas. For free. Join today and receive expired $50 cupon from AI!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jas_mc 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 31-May-2010 16:46:20
#82 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-May-2010
Posts: 232
From: Unknown

@opi

That does look cool.

_________________
My new blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 31-May-2010 17:53:15
#83 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@jas_mc

Dude, something like AROS boots in like 5 seconds or less on a powerful machine. I'm sure you can find something which demonstrates that on youtube. The problem of loading to a full desktop experience and clicking on an icon isn't really a problem in need of a solution.
I know Windows can run an executable automatically from portable media when it is inserted. Perhaps AROS has something similar that can fulfill your particular desire.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jas_mc 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 31-May-2010 18:20:22
#84 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-May-2010
Posts: 232
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

No, I suppose it isn't a problem that needs a solution. It was just an idea for recreating an early 90s gaming experience as faithfully as possible.

If you imagine it from a PC point of view, the whole concept doesn't make sense... but if you imagine it as (from a user point of view) a simple old-fashioned games console that also happens to have a keyboard built in and can go into full desktop mode, so you can do Open Office or Inkscape or GIMP (or whatever it is you use to be productive), then it might be a fun toy - *especially* if the price is cheap and it actually looks like a retro machine. It's the kind of thing I imagine having in the living room, rather than the study.

But anyway, we can all daydream products that we'd like to have ourselves. If most other people would want them, then they'd prob'ly exist already!

_________________
My new blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 31-May-2010 21:04:01
#85 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

Holy crap, I just got my name on Engadget,

Finally, after nearly 7 years of posting here, I managed to get you guys a scoop.



_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 1-Jun-2010 7:06:37
#86 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

Sorry for the bump... I normally wouldn't.... but as we were only discussing this a few hours ago here are some new pictures on Commodore USA website here.

http://www.commodoreusa.net/invictus.html

I have to say, it looks even nicer than I first thought.

Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 01-Jun-2010 at 08:48 AM.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Arko 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 1-Jun-2010 10:32:16
#87 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2007
Posts: 1989
From: Unknown


Quote:
it's a regular Linux PC with a startup screen designed to recreate an Amiga 500-style gaming experience, that you can bypass to reach full desktop.


One of the last "products" from Amiga Inc. where Amiga games on a small Linux dsitribution with integrated UAE.

----------------

Had someone here ever bought a product from Commodore USA ?

Last edited by Arko on 01-Jun-2010 at 10:56 AM.

_________________
AmigaONE. Haha. Just because you can put label on it does not make it Amiga.

I borrowed this comments from here (#27 & #28):
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=38873&forum=2&start=20&order=0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 1-Jun-2010 13:13:47
#88 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Arko
Quote:
Had someone here ever bought a product from Commodore USA ?

Yeah me....

It hasn't arrived yet though.
I'm wearing a path out to my mailbox.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Arko 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 1-Jun-2010 14:46:32
#89 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2007
Posts: 1989
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

Quote:

BigBentheAussie wrote:
@Arko
Quote:
Had someone here ever bought a product from Commodore USA ?

Yeah me....

It hasn't arrived yet though.
I'm wearing a path out to my mailbox.


When have you placed your Order ?
What type of model ?
What OS will be preinstalled ?
And please give us a short description after the device has arrived.

_________________
AmigaONE. Haha. Just because you can put label on it does not make it Amiga.

I borrowed this comments from here (#27 & #28):
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=38873&forum=2&start=20&order=0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 1-Jun-2010 15:54:29
#90 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Arko

When it arrives I will create an unboxing video, as I promised in a Phoenix thread a couple of weeks back.

Model? OS?
Next you'll be asking what processor?

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Arko 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 1-Jun-2010 19:08:27
#91 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2007
Posts: 1989
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

Quote:

BigBentheAussie wrote:
@Arko

When it arrives I will create an unboxing video, as I promised in a Phoenix thread a couple of weeks back.

Model? OS?
Next you'll be asking what processor?


I was asking for the model, now you told it, thanks.
I was asking about the OS, because Commodore-USA announced support of 3 OS types.

CPU is something I could read on the Webpage,

Last edited by Arko on 01-Jun-2010 at 07:33 PM.

_________________
AmigaONE. Haha. Just because you can put label on it does not make it Amiga.

I borrowed this comments from here (#27 & #28):
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=38873&forum=2&start=20&order=0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 1-Jun-2010 19:45:43
#92 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Arko

It comes with the latest Ubuntu version CD.

I wasn't aware of support being announced for 3 OS types. I don't think that is right. At least I don't remember there was a choice. You can buy Windows Home premium on the site if you want. You can apparently find that EFI thing on the internet somewhere if you want to try to install MacOSX.

As my intention is to use this as predominantly an AROS machine, I picked what I believed to be the most appropriate.
I want a fast CPU and fast FSB and enough RAM to not feel constrained.
I picked Silver Basic which is Core 2 Duo 2.93Gz, 1066MHz FSB. 160Gig HD. 2Gig RAM.
I think that will make a ripper AROS machine.

The fastest one, as far as AROS is concerned, is the high end one which is almost twice the price. I didn't feel it was worth it for a slight speed bump, which I probably wont feel anyway and I don't need the cores for AROS.

I'm going to try and set that up as a triple boot. Ubuntu, Win7 and AROS.
Wish me luck. I haven't done multi-boot stuff stuff since OS/2.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Arko 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 5-Jul-2010 13:24:03
#93 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2007
Posts: 1989
From: Unknown

@Arko

Quote:

Arko wrote:
@BigBentheAussie


And please give us a short description after the device has arrived.


Have you git something from Commodore USA ?

Maybe you should take a look here:
http://www.asiarim.net/projects.html

http://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1415813/000141581210000005/r10q-033110ar.htm

_________________
AmigaONE. Haha. Just because you can put label on it does not make it Amiga.

I borrowed this comments from here (#27 & #28):
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=38873&forum=2&start=20&order=0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
persia 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 5-Jul-2010 19:17:11
#94 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2009
Posts: 1059
From: Unknown

@Arko

I googled the Commodore address listed in their press release and came up with
Titty Tops.

Seriously the address is:

Foothill Post & Ship

26741 Portola Pkwy #1E
Foothill Ranch, CA 92610
+1 (949) 455-0057

They have two undeveloped web sites Commodore Corp . com and Commodore World .com

Last edited by persia on 05-Jul-2010 at 07:23 PM.
Last edited by persia on 05-Jul-2010 at 07:22 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amiga_3k 
Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA
Posted on 5-Jul-2010 20:12:09
#95 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Jun-2006
Posts: 819
From: Assen, Nederland

@persia

Probably (almost certain) they're just box-re distributors: Buy a sea-container full of China-made electronics, slab your own sticker on it and sell it under your own brand. It are companies only acting on getting a quick buck without taking too much risk.

_________________
Back home...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle