Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6067 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
14 crawler(s) on-line.
 29 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Kronos,  Hypex

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Hypex:  1 min ago
 Kronos:  4 mins ago
 amigakit:  15 mins ago
 kolla:  33 mins ago
 Rob:  33 mins ago
 matthey:  38 mins ago
 Bosanac:  43 mins ago
 amisteph:  54 mins ago
 utri007:  1 hr 25 mins ago
 Gunnar:  1 hr 27 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  X1000 CPU clue :)
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 Next Page )
PosterThread
Mechanic 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:16:05
#121 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Jul-2003
Posts: 2007
From: Unknown

@koft

Quote:

koft wrote:
AROS is great, I use it, and I'm getting a PPC Emac soon, to run MorphOS. Those are good deals. I have no problem with those platforms. Stuff you can buy and still have money left for beer to enjoy while having fun.

Aaaaaaahh! There it is.

Your not helping AROS nor MOS with constant attacks on the worlds
best OS. You and your cohorts come off as a bunch of fanatics.

Kind of makes me ashamed to even have AROS on one of my machines.

Do you few have a secret handshake ?

Do you read out of a little red book three times a day ?

Here is an opportunity for you. Design a mainboard for the OS of
your choice, produce it, and sell it as a complete system for under
400 USD with OS. I'll buy one. Good luck.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:19:07
#122 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3204
From: Maryland, USA

@koft

Quote:
High end? Say what? 1.8GHz PPC is high end?


Compared to other PowerPC chips out there, it's pretty high up there, yes. When comparing perfomance and features, the price/performance compared to x86 is irrelevant to whether or not this particular PPC chip is high end compared to other PPC chips.

Whether or not people will be willing to pay for it is another topic. It's a topic worth discussion, but it's outside the scope of "is this PPC chip a high-end PPC chip?"

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:26:28
#123 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@Mechanic

Quote:

Mechanic wrote:
@koft

[quote]
koft wrote:

Here is an opportunity for you. Design a mainboard for the OS of
your choice, produce it, and sell it as a complete system for under
400 USD with OS. I'll buy one. Good luck.


Design a mobo? Why? I tell you what, I'll put an MSI motherboard in a little box and install Ubuntu on it and change the iconset and background, put a 1500 GBP price tag on it. Tons of profit for me and it will blow the A1X1K out of the water, and as a plus, firefox won't tear down the kernel, also, the icons will draw instantly, even with the SVGA driver and a debug build of the kernel. it's win win.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Troels 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:28:22
#124 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@Mechanic
Do you really think Koft would be capable of designing anything... Doing anything beneficial for the community? I think all the talk about his own experiences is just made up, perhaps Koft could tell a bit about what he did for AmigaOS recently?

Real or not it seems his only priority is to spread FUD about the X1000. Unfortunately it seems he's got way to much time on his hands.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:36:53
#125 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3204
From: Maryland, USA

@koft

Quote:
Design a mobo? Why?


There ain't nobody else making me a laptop...

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:46:54
#126 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@Troels

Quote:

Troels wrote:
@Mechanic
Do you really think Koft would be capable of designing anything... Doing anything beneficial for the community? I think all the talk about his own experiences is just made up, perhaps Koft could tell a bit about what he did for AmigaOS recently?

Real or not it seems his only priority is to spread FUD about the X1000. Unfortunately it seems he's got way to much time on his hands.


I've done absolutely nothing for "AmigaOS", ever. Too busy working on things that yield profit and making love with my wife. Perhaps in a few decades I'll retire and contribute to AROS or MorphOS.

Also. I just got off the phone witha guy I found on craigslist selling a 1.25GHz E-Mac. I'll have it in an hour. Later today I'll "contribute" to MorphOS by buying a license. Half the power of the A1X1K for under 300 dollars. Gotta love progress.

Last edited by koft on 22-Jun-2010 at 03:49 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:47:57
#127 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@koft

Quote:
I like the reg too, thanks for bringing them up, I haven't been there in a while. Too bad that article was written by a chimp.




Quote:
256 loosely coupled cored? Say what!? This author knows nothing about what he writes.


From the X1000 page: 'Reference designs have been made with 256 cores, offering a theoretical processing power of over 100,000 MIPS.'

I think the author may well have genned up by a bit of skim reading.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rudei 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:50:54
#128 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2002
Posts: 3589
From: Dallas, Texas

@koft

Quote:
I've done absolutely nothing for "AmigaOS", ever.


Except slate it and HW associated with it

Rude!

_________________
2017 Camaro 2SS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:51:40
#129 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@koft

Quote:
I've done absolutely nothing for "AmigaOS", ever. Too busy working on things that yield profit and making love with my wife.
...and winding people up on Amiga forums...

I'd be fibbing if I said I haven't been entertained though.

Last edited by -Sam- on 22-Jun-2010 at 03:52 PM.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Framiga 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 15:58:47
#130 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2003
Posts: 2213
From: Unknown

come on guys! why don't you simply leave him alone? its quite clear he is here for baiting. Have you seen his curriculum?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:00:15
#131 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@koft

Quote:
Later today I'll "contribute" to MorphOS by buying a license. Half the power of the A1X1K for under 300 dollars.


Yeah - the future!

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:01:08
#132 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@Framiga

Quote:
come on guys! why don't you simply leave him alone? its quite clear he is here for baiting.


We're having too much fun.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:02:08
#133 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@Framiga

Quote:

Framiga wrote:
come on guys! why don't you simply leave him alone? its quite clear he is here for baiting. Have you seen his curriculum?


I'm not baiting anyone. I just dropped my opinion like anyone else would. Believe it or not, not everyone on the Amiga scene thinks that the A1X1K is the next reincarnation of Jesus Christ.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:05:17
#134 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@koft

Quote:
I'm not baiting anyone.


_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:07:13
#135 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10699
From: Greensborough, Australia

@All

Gee that doesn't look good. The PCI-Express Port is faulty!

Must be an A1Dev machine! Hehe.

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Framiga 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:08:11
#136 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2003
Posts: 2213
From: Unknown

@koft

opinions? you are constantly spitting on everyone face here and there.

What i don't understand is why mods haven't give you some vacation yet?



_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigang 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:09:54
#137 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 1873
From: Cheshire, England

@koft

I must admit krof you very good with your word, you just say enough to annoy people but not enough to get removed.

If you have fun on Aros and planing to get MorphOs, then why do you feel the need to attack AmigaOS4 and its hardware, you might not agree with everything Hyperion, Acube or A-eon are doing, but I pretty sure there doing what they can in providing a good solid OS. Just like Aros and MorphOS are doing.

_________________
AmigaNG, YouTube, LeaveReality Studio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:10:44
#138 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@TrevorDick

Quote:
Have you ever seen AMCC & Freescale NDA's ?


This guy has seen every NDA ...ever. In between being profitable and doing his wife.

Quote:
PS good to see you posting again


You are now allowed to change your opinion.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fairlanefastback 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:13:47
#139 ]
Team Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2005
Posts: 4880
From: New York, USA

@Fransexy

Quote:

Fransexy wrote:
@koft

you have a childhood trauma of any type. true?


I understand that you are frustrated. But please don't engage anyone like this. Your post generated an abuse report (and no not from koft) which I have no choice but to approve.

_________________
Pegasos2 G3 running AOS 4.1 and MorphOS 2.0
Amikit user, tinkering with Icaros VM (AROS)
EFIKA owner
Amiga 1200

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 16:20:20
#140 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@koft
Quote:
'm not baiting anyone. I just dropped my opinion like anyone else would. Believe it or not, not everyone on the Amiga scene thinks that the A1X1K is the next reincarnation of Jesus Christ.

yes but as anything you post gets countered 10 times in 10 different angles, you should understand by now that you have a wrong opinion /about the conspiracy theory I mean) and that you are just hijacking the thread with a godzillion of OTs.

As the latter proved to be BS in so many ways it boggles the mind, now it's time to either change it or as a person with some dignity, you should admit that you are very confused.

Either that or you are very smart Troll

Last edited by DAX on 22-Jun-2010 at 04:21 PM.

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle