Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6101 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
25 crawler(s) on-line.
 23 guest(s) on-line.
 5 member(s) on-line.


clint, Frank, pixie, more...

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 clint:  51 secs ago
 pixie:  1 min ago
 Hammer:  2 mins ago
 geen_naam:  2 mins ago
 Frank:  4 mins ago
 amigang:  9 mins ago
 Karlos:  11 mins ago
 Bosanac:  13 mins ago
 V8:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Timberwolf beta 4 available
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
number6 
Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 14:52:23
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11537
From: In the village

@all

Timberwolf beta 4 available

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sicky 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 14:53:02
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2843
From: Essex, UK

@number6

Yes just seen it, can't wait to get home and try it

_________________
SAM 460 with 2GB or RAM, 1000GB HD, 4 port SATA, DVDRW drive and Radeon HD 4650 GFX card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 14:57:28
#3 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2493
From: www.amigakit.com

Excellent news: thank you.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | A600GS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Phantom 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 15:03:41
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

Great news, thanks.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tommysammy 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 15:05:47
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Jan-2010
Posts: 659
From: Isselburg,Germany

@Phantom

Works better than Beta 3

Last edited by tommysammy on 29-Jun-2012 at 03:10 PM.

_________________
Amiga600/Vampire2/PrismaMegaMix

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 15:07:13
#6 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2493
From: www.amigakit.com

@tommysammy

Yes its a major step forward - this week has been really good for AmigaOS.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | A600GS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 15:11:18
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2159
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@number6

posting this from beta4

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
stevieu 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 15:45:24
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Apr-2003
Posts: 647
From: England, UK

@number6

Great stuff Posting from it now.

Kudos to them there Frieden brothers!

Steve

_________________
A1200T - OS4.0,OS3.9: 603e PPC 200mhz,060 50mhz, 256mb ram, FastATA MK-III, BVision, 160gb,20gb HDDs

A1200 - OS3.1: Blizzard IV 030, 64mb ram, 400mb HDD

OS4.x - Flying the AMIGA flag

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigasociety 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 16:25:23
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2010
Posts: 787
From: Unknown

Are bookmarks fixed yet where I can just click save bookmark and the page I am on is added to my bookmarks?

I am still having to direct my home button to a stored .html file that has my few bookmarks I want but would be nice to start using bookmarks as intended.

TJ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 16:55:18
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

Excellent news! I'll be checking it out later when I get to back to work/the studio.

I am doing my second radio show this evening from 8pm till 11pm on http://www.estuaryradio.com. The station is online only and pretty new, show me your support: https://www.facebook.com/estuaryradio

Back on topic, I am considering doing a tech news show on the station, probably a couple hours on a Sunday afternoon, retro and new stuff as well, you can bet your bottom dollar I'll be mentioning AmigaOS every week!

Last edited by djrikki on 29-Jun-2012 at 04:56 PM.
Last edited by djrikki on 29-Jun-2012 at 04:55 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Framiga 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 17:35:55
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2003
Posts: 2213
From: Unknown

@amigasociety

Quote:

amigasociety wrote:
Are bookmarks fixed yet where I can just click save bookmark and the page I am on is added to my bookmarks?

I am still having to direct my home button to a stored .html file that has my few bookmarks I want but would be nice to start using bookmarks as intended.

TJ


IMPORTANT: Please also read the readme, it looks pretty and contains some vital information regarding the bookmark saving.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 18:48:28
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2159
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Framiga

Quote:
IMPORTANT: Please also read the readme, it looks pretty and contains some vital information regarding the bookmark saving.

Reading it alone doesn't make bookmarks work.
I followed the instructions, and bookmarks are only saved for the current session.

Also closing and re-starting Timberwolf gets a visit from the GR.
The bug I reported about an additional blank character on the end of the appdir entry for Timberwolf.bin. If you edit this file and delete the blank character, timberwolf runs without
the GR.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Breed 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 18:53:28
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Apr-2003
Posts: 197
From: Kuusamo/Finland

Yes!, this was my last work day before summer holiday and then I got this great update, great things happen.
Thank you for your continued work!
Guys, don't forget donating!

_________________
5*C-64, C128, A500, A1200 PPC, Micro-A1(sold).....and X1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AliveMOon 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 19:31:33
#14 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Jan-2008
Posts: 64
From: Hungary

Please! Video!
Thanx!

_________________
My first prototype game.
Current work on this!

Things I want to buy:
An accelerator card for my A2000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djnick 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 22:13:08
#15 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jun-2003
Posts: 946
From: space

@all

This version works much better than previous on SAM460ex. It actually looks like a real modern browser with perfect looking interface and fonts.

What does not work is:

- embedding fonts from some websites that has embedded fonts [for example our www.tweensgame.com] - looks different on IExplorer / PC and all browsers / Amiga ;) [in terms of fonts]
- Youtube video plugin downloading / no plugin / no video. Or I am missing something? I hope videos can be played somehow using Mozilla?

Other than that I use MuiOWB - this one works really great and fast. I hope one day Timberwolf [great icon though!] will overcome in term of speed and working layouts :)

I will have to test more, this was just one quick and short look / test :)

|Great work! I will support you.

_________________
nykk | deetronic.rs | youtube.com/djnykk | gfx.river | mamavolibebu.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 29-Jun-2012 22:39:22
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

@djnick

RE: YouTube plug-in.

http://www.youtube.com/html5/

You need to opt-in to YouTube's HTML5 programme. Videos are painfully slow though at present, but do work. Yes, cannot wait until the optimisations begin. :)

Edit: However, having said that, Beta 4 just gives me 'video unavailable' on two videos that I just tried.

Last edited by djrikki on 29-Jun-2012 at 10:49 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 2:11:36
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 2048
From: Canada

@Swoop

This is what I had to do to use bookmarks on my MicroA1 with 256MB RAM ...
1) CurrentUserProfile folder is stored on an SFS partition
2) Appropriate assign added to user-startup file
3) Put random in Devs:DOSDrivers
4) Removed my Workbench background photo (using white Workbench screen)
5) Quit AmiDock after booting before launching Timberwolf

Even with this combination, I must power off my system after using Timberwolf if I want to save a bookmark. One bookmark per session. Power off between sessions. Otherwise, the files are overwritten. If I relaunch without power off/on the files are overwritten and the bookmarks are gone.

Obviously, this is not the optimum way to use my system to its full potential and I quickly lost interest. It is not exactly new. I had to do the same with beta 3 and learned a few more tricks this time around.

It seems that my system is not as stable with random running for my normal activities. I suspect that I will be returning the random device back to storage.

---
redfox

Last edited by redfox on 30-Jun-2012 at 02:16 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 30-Jun-2012 at 02:15 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 30-Jun-2012 at 02:12 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 8:45:27
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12676
From: Norway

@redfox

First of all I say that beta 4 work a lot better than beta 3, its faster, and does not crash so often, if you accidently click on youtube video it plays it plays it horrible slow frame rate, instead of crashing.

First time I tried beta 4 it crashed, I started it from AmiDock.
So I rebooted, rebuilt the fonts, and checked that Random was mounted.
Then navigated to the Timberwolf directory and clicked on it icon, this time it stated whit out a crash.
I have SFS partitions,
I did not quit AmiDock or change background image, I just clicked the icon. If I remember correct Timberwolf does not release memory after you quit, so need to reboot because of that.

HJF did say something about deleting CurrentUserProfile directory.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sicky 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 9:37:10
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2843
From: Essex, UK

@All

I cannot get paste function to work, anyone else experiencing this?

_________________
SAM 460 with 2GB or RAM, 1000GB HD, 4 port SATA, DVDRW drive and Radeon HD 4650 GFX card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 10:20:28
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12676
From: Norway

@sicky

Hemm.. did you try RAmiga+V and CTRL+V? does it work from the menu?

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle