Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5779 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
36 crawler(s) on-line.
 22 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 amipal,  DiscreetFX

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 DiscreetFX:  2 mins ago
 amipal:  4 mins ago
 bison:  9 mins ago
 Hypex:  9 mins ago
 AmigaBlitter:  15 mins ago
 amisteph:  27 mins ago
 bigmac:  43 mins ago
 kamelito:  55 mins ago
 LarsB:  56 mins ago
 Dege:  1 hr ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )
PosterThread
OlafS25 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 10:54:50
#41 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5754
From: Unknown

@pavlor

he meant you do not need PPC emulation when running on PPC, just the emulated hardware (AGA and so on). I have no clue if that really works, at the moment that is phantasy. Toni works on something like supporting PowerUP, that means you could at least use 68k applications with PPC parts. The rest is speculation right now. But from my "naive" view it should be possible to create a version on PPC that uses the underlying PPC processor.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 11:02:11
#42 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9110
From: Unknown

@matthey

Quote:
Is the code for SheepShaver open source?


No MMU emulation, no OS4.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 11:03:28
#43 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9110
From: Unknown

@OlafS25

Quote:
But from my "naive" view it should be possible to create a version on PPC that uses the underlying PPC processor.


Of course it is possible. However, no such technology exists yet and I dont see anynone capable enough to do that hard work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 11:10:44
#44 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5754
From: Unknown

@pavlor

as I wrote "speculation" right now. It will be interesting "if" AmigaOS really boots on X86 then we will see what happens and if Hyperion sees the chances or only the potential threat to their business model.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 11:21:56
#45 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@OlafS25

actually it isnt interesting at all, i dont see what it would change if os4 runs on x86 under emulation or not. there is amithlon and aros runs on said hardware native since ages and it doesnt change anything as well. all that might change is for the label victims, which i dont expect to be the the progress driving fraction here.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 11:42:19
#46 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9110
From: Unknown

@wawa

Well, Amithlon runs only 12 years old OS3.9 (BB2), AROS is not mature enough (my point of view) and has not the "right" name. OS4 emulation on x86 could at least bring cheap notebook.

Quote:
all that might change is for the label victims


For myself, I use rather BAF - Blind Amiga Follower.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
WolfToTheMoon 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 11:43:11
#47 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Sep-2010
Posts: 1305
From: CRO

A4000 prices or demand are not affected by the fact WinUAE runs faster and better.

I don't think OS4 hardware will be affected by this, possibly more people will buy just the OS to try it out and that's about that.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:01:49
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5754
From: Unknown

@pavlor

regarding following "brand name" you either do it or not

Regarding Aros not mature enough, I disagree

I would like to have more "because" sentences, like "Aros is not mature enough because..." then you can discuss, otherwise that are bubbles

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:18:10
#49 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9110
From: Unknown

@OlafS25

Quote:
then you can discuss, otherwise that are bubbles


I wrote that is my opinion - Im regular user of AROS x86, 68k and OS3.x. OS3.x is still my main OS of choice.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:28:23
#50 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5754
From: Unknown

@pavlor

I talk about 68k not X86

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
matthey 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:34:03
#51 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2007
Posts: 732
From: Kansas

Quote:

OlafS25 wrote:
Quote:
But from my "naive" view it should be possible to create a version on PPC that uses the underlying PPC processor.

pavlor wrote:
Of course it is possible. However, no such technology exists yet and I dont see anyone capable enough to do that hard work.


Let's look at the difficulty of coding different UAE PPC executing engines:

PPC on like PPC (e.g. G4 code on G4): easy
emulation: moderate
PPC on different PPC (e.g. G4 code on G5): moderate
JIT emulation: hard

There is already a JIT PPC emulator adapted and that is more difficult to code (but perhaps less difficult to adapt). I bet a PPC guru could have PPC on like PPC executing in a couple of weeks.

Last edited by matthey on 03-Aug-2014 at 12:36 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:36:55
#52 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9110
From: Unknown

@matthey

Quote:
I bet a PPC guru could have PPC on like PPC executing in a couple of weeks.


Who? Names! Why it wasnt done yet?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:39:14
#53 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@pavlor

Quote:
Amithlon runs only 12 years old OS3.9 (BB2)

which s enough for the unique amiga software library. i dont know a single native amiga application that would have higher demands.

Quote:
AROS is not mature enough (my point of view)

- aros has no 2 gb memory limit (something that is announced on os4 in form of a workardound)
- aros has working 3d implememntation and hardware drivers in form of almost up to date mesa/gallium (os4 has had announced that for years)
- aros has smp being worked on (os4 has had announced that for years)
- if you are not stisfied with wanderer (im not in its current form) an update is apparently in coming, and you can replace it with scalos or magellan in the meantime.
...
all in all i dont see anything aros is factually lacking in comparison to os4. it must be just a feeling you have.
Quote:
and has not the "right" name

as if it matters, but then i actually prefer those people whose only category they understand is "the right name" to stick to their preferred solution.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:50:42
#54 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5754
From: Unknown

@pavlor

...

Last edited by OlafS25 on 03-Aug-2014 at 12:56 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:56:18
#55 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5754
From: Unknown

@pavlor

What is missing on Aros 68k? And "nightly builds" are not relevant

BTW it would be interesting to me to hear. I do not see much missing there compared to 3.X if you use Magellan and MUI38 instead of Wanderer and Zune, add original installer. Left is from my view lowlevel libs and AHI, CybergaphX 3, Intuition, Gadtools. Everything else including icon.library can be replaced with the 68k libraries you also use on 3.X or distributions like amikit.

not working are many patches but at least some of those are integrated

Last edited by OlafS25 on 03-Aug-2014 at 12:58 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 13:00:39
#56 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9110
From: Unknown

@wawa

Quote:
it must be just a feeling you have.


Isnt this the single most important part of user experience?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 13:13:05
#57 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@pavlor

Quote:
Isnt this the single most important part of user experience?


apparently you are running out of arguments.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 13:19:34
#58 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9110
From: Unknown

@wawa

Quote:
apparently you are running out of arguments.


As I wrote, that was my POV.


In more general: only few applications (AROS x86), stability (AROS x86 and 68k), not full support for my hardware (AROS x86).

That is why Im still using my fine-tuned stable OS3.x.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 13:38:04
#59 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5754
From: Unknown

@pavlor

stability on Aros 68k?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 13:46:42
#60 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9110
From: Unknown

@OlafS25

Quote:
stability on Aros 68k?


If it crashes too often, it is not stable. May be bad applications, my configuration or something else. However, first releases were much worser.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle