Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5830 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
24 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Argo:  14 mins ago
 emeck:  14 mins ago
 kolla:  16 mins ago
 noXLar:  26 mins ago
 1Mouse:  46 mins ago
 Frank:  56 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 sTix:  1 hr 34 mins ago
 nikosidis:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 Dragoon:  1 hr 38 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Star Trek Database
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
PosterThread
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 24-Apr-2016 0:55:34
#61 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@TiredofLife

I've been told that upgrading to Hollywood 6.1 could solve my issues with audio/AHI

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 25-Apr-2016 22:48:31
#62 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@all

Upoaded v0.4 to OS4Depot, in upload queue at the moment.

I was informed by airsoft themselves that updating my version of Hollywood to v6.1 which has better audio/AHI compatibility it should now would on the newer X5000 machine

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 26-Apr-2016 6:57:04
#63 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1073
From: France

@1Mouse

Yes, now it works under X1000/HD Audio.

Nice

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 26-Apr-2016 17:35:07
#64 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@Severin

The new version should now work on your machine. Let me know what you think

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 26-Apr-2016 19:00:31
#65 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1662
From: Here

@1Mouse

No longer works correctly now, no matter which setting.
The borg file plays too fast and there is noise in the background.

Cheers

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 26-Apr-2016 20:37:35
#66 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@all

There have been a few download since I started uploading ST Ships OS4 but need some feedback with regard to any of the versions I have uploaded.

Feedback makes for better software.

Let me know if it works (what system), let me know if it doesn't (which system)

If it fails to load or if it fails on a specific page, tell me which one.

If it runs well, then any input on how you would make it better.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 30-Apr-2016 20:06:56
#67 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@all

Just uploaded v0.5 which now includes the intro sequence.

The "Ships" button is the only one active.

Is in Uploads queue at the moment.

Please try and enjoy and let me know what you think

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 4-May-2016 19:36:51
#68 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1662
From: Here

@1Mouse

Thought I'd replied to this.

Anyway the latest version is now working again on Sam460CR.
Borg sample back to correct speed.
Everything else looks fine.

Cheers

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 4-May-2016 21:36:57
#69 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@TiredofLife

Glad it works and glad you're liking it.

Is the intro OK?

I think I'll begin adding Schematics and Rooms to this one database and cease work on those as independent databases.

@all

Any other comments from anyone greatly appreciated good or bad so that I can improve the software.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 5-May-2016 0:10:42
#70 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1662
From: Here

@1Mouse

Yeah the intro is a nice touch.
Looking forward to having the combined database.

Cheers

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 8-May-2016 12:25:46
#71 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@TiredofLife

The Ships section combined with Schematics and Rooms should be coming later today

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 9-May-2016 22:31:53
#72 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@all

The Ships database now includes the Schematics & Rooms sections.

Just click on the appropriate button on the buttons screen

Hope all still works ok, any issues please let me know

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 10-May-2016 18:36:12
#73 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2740
From: Gloucestershire UK

@1Mouse

Working fine here. A few niggles...

1. The size, as I said right at the beginning, this needs to be modular, I bet your 150mb exe won't run on a 256mb MicroA1 and will be tight even on 512mb.

2. "main menu" button would be better saying Return or Back as it does not take you to a main menu, just the previous page.

3. Page arrows should not be disaplyed unless they are usable.

4. Rooms, the main menu should just have the ship name then either a sub menu or paged entries for each item.

5. Schematics, again they need to be grouped eg. a sngle main entry for shuttles then species or Federation and a sublist for any with multiple entries.

Any Database should be arranged from general to specific items, specific items are the end data, general items are the lists to get to a specific item, if there is more than one specific it should have a list. eg. you have 44 entries for enterprise rooms. in the main rooms list there should just be one entry for enterprise, then a list of each enterprise varient, then a list of the rooms available. keeping the lists as short as possible but having more of them makes navigation far easier unless you're going to turn this into a real searchable database rather than an interactive presentation.

6. The intro... change the page when the sample ends instead of having the user wait for non-existing initialisation.

7. Rooms and schematics are not divided into species first like ships is, consistancty helps.

8. Swear at severin for being a pedantic pain in the ar*e.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 12-May-2016 20:10:12
#74 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@Severin

You're not being pedantic, all feedback is good feedback.

It's than down to me how to act on that feedback.


So thank you for your post

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 24-May-2016 14:36:43
#75 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@Severin

I'm working on updating it as we speak

I am removing arrows from pages where they are not needed and replacing the text "Main Menu" with "Back"

I'm also adding a page with the insignia on for then Rooms section and also for the Schematics section as these will now be grouped similar to the Ships section.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 24-May-2016 16:12:28
#76 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2740
From: Gloucestershire UK

@1Mouse

Excellent! Another little suggestion, on the bottom bar have ships, rooms, schematics buttons if there is an entry for the displayed item in another section then the user can easily get at all the data on a specific ship without having to go up and down the whole navigation system every time.

Should either be very easy to do or a nightmare depending on your internal data structure.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 24-May-2016 16:20:06
#77 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@Severin

On a few items there is text highlighted in red which takes you to that specific item.

If I am the Voyager text and there is the "USS Enterprise-D" in the text, clicking on this will take you to the Enterprise-D text.

Is this the sort of thing you would like to see as a few of these are already implemented

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 6-Apr-2020 11:55:53
#78 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@all

Self-isolating has given me some extra spare time so I have returned to the Star Trek database software I was writing.

I decided to work on the Ships section and decided to include ships from Picard, not many, but they are included.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 13-Apr-2020 19:25:05
#79 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@all

I have updated three databases, all available on OS4Depot.net (probably still in upload queue)

Star Trek Rooms is now version 0.2
Star Trek Schematics is now version 0.2
Star Trek Ships is now version 0.7

Please give them all a go and let me know what you think

http://www.os4depot.net/

Last edited by 1Mouse on 13-Apr-2020 at 07:27 PM.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 18-Apr-2020 15:48:30
#80 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1340
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@all

Does anyone want MorphOS versions?

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle