Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5703 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Trekiej:  13 mins ago
 Karlos:  44 mins ago
 newlight:  1 hr 34 mins ago
 Allanon:  1 hr 50 mins ago
 Brian:  1 hr 55 mins ago
 SnkBitten:  2 hrs 11 mins ago
 sTix:  2 hrs 22 mins ago
 nikosidis:  2 hrs 48 mins ago
 -Sam-:  3 hrs 8 mins ago
 cip060:  3 hrs 13 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  sam460 emulated in qemu
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )
PosterThread
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 24-Feb-2018 18:09:48
#81 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10798
From: Norway

@tlosm

Quote:
about radeon this is the qemu passthru option and will need to be test if it will work on a compatible modern hardware.


This really interesting to see if it can be done, I expect their be problems finding Radeon Laptop versions of this graphic cards that AmigaOS supports. As its Desktop versions that Hans is working on.

I expect it be question of disabling graphic card support in Linux kernel, so the Linux OS does conflict with AmigaOS, and setup the RS232 as console into the Linux system.
QEMU need to be able to see some of PCIe cards on real PCIe bus.

UBOOT should be able to initialize graphic card for AmigaOS to use, with its built in x86 emulation.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Feb-2018 at 06:13 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Feb-2018 at 06:11 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 24-Feb-2018 22:55:59
#82 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3049
From: Maryland, USA

@NutsAboutAmiga

I really only see opportunity for driver writers to have access to such new things, vis thr qemu passthrough capability.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 25-Feb-2018 8:34:39
#83 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10798
From: Norway

@billt

Driver will only see the PCIe bus, maybe there be problems with interrupts I don't know, maybe timing critical IO will have problems as well, can't say..

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 25-Feb-2018 at 08:36 AM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
davebraco 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 25-Feb-2018 8:39:46
#84 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Jan-2005
Posts: 117
From: Belgium

Will it be possible to add another graphic card wich support composition, overlay, 3D? Such as a Radeon 9250?

_________________
A1200PPC / Sam440ep / Sam460ex / X1000 / X5000 OS4.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 25-Feb-2018 8:56:20
#85 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

@davebraco
if your pc support pci stub and passthru, qemu have this option. but we have to test if work on emulated sam. the worst of qemu is only in fpu emulation. for now with geekbench on tiger osx i have performances near a g5 1.6 ghz in integer and a g3 600 mhz in fpu. this on threadripper 1950x. but im using the emulated vga that take really big part of computing speed of the host cpu.

Last edited by tlosm on 25-Feb-2018 at 08:57 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 25-Feb-2018 9:43:01
#86 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10798
From: Norway

@davebraco

9250? ha ha, that is slow card, go for modern HD card
if you are emulating a Sam460, you have PCIe bus,
if you can only emulate Sam440 you need to use 9250, but I'm not sure how long they going to support the old PCI standard on the PC.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
davebraco 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 25-Feb-2018 10:08:59
#87 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Jan-2005
Posts: 117
From: Belgium

As a 460 owner, i know that...

So, the answer is yes, we will get compositing, video overlay (or replacement) and 3D with a qemu-emulated-sam460.

_________________
A1200PPC / Sam440ep / Sam460ex / X1000 / X5000 OS4.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cmsj 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 7-Mar-2018 20:38:37
#88 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Jun-2016
Posts: 13
From: Unknown

Quote:

tlosm wrote:
@cmsj

just wait couple of days it willcome available in the first release candidate of qemu 2.12


@tlosm I have built qemu from git - would it be possible to share the qemu command line you use to select the right hardware/options for properly emulating the sam?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 8-Mar-2018 1:27:48
#89 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

@cmsj

there are some bugs that need to be fixed, the sam emulation dont works... just wait the 2.12 release

Last edited by tlosm on 08-Mar-2018 at 01:31 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 14-Mar-2018 15:16:31
#90 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

___Please write here i will post him your help___ Thanks!


Hello,

Anyone here with knowledge about PPC440 (especially as used in AMCC460EX
SoC that the Sam460ex board is built on)? I see some problems related to
timers and bus frequencies which are likely not emulated correctly but I
don't know what's wrong or missing.

Problems I know about that may be related:

1. System time is going slower than expected in AROS (can be seen e.g. in
Time Prefs). The seconds advance but much slower than they should. (AROS
boot iso can be downloaded from http://aros.sourceforge.net/nightly1.php)

2. I had to set clock multipliers in SDR0_STRP0 register (that seems to
have values for different internal buses of the SoC such as PLB and OPB)
in qemu/hw/ppc/ppv440_uc.c:396 to 0 instead of a value more closely
matching real hardware (although I'm not sure what real hardware has in
this reg) because if I set the bits in comment for multipliers bus
frequencies are printed correctly but this slows down U-Boot. A 0 value
here works for U-Boot but makes the printed bus frequencies wrong. (I've
also come across this u-boot patch
https://lists.denx.de/pipermail/u-boot/2011-July/096848.html but haven't
yet tried if it makes any difference.)

3. AmigaOS 4 boots very slowly which may be related as there seem to be a
delay in IO operations (similar to U-Boot with non-0 value in STRP0) that
could be because of a timer going slower than expected but I'm not sure
without source what it really does. (There also seem to be graphics
corruption issues with AmigaOS 4 but I could not identify yet if these are
becuase of incomplete emulation of the SM502 chip or some other problem
caused by delays due to timing (as writing SM502 registers seem to have a
much longer delay than expected).

4. Linux kernel boots but hangs just before init should start. I'm not
sure how to debug this to find out where's the problem so I'm not sure
it's related but could be.

So there seems to be a problem with tb and other frequencies and timers
relying on these but I don't know what's on real hardware and how exactly
are these emulated in QEMU. Does anyone know more about these registers
and how it works on real hardware and has any hints what could be the
problem here? Any help is appreciated.

Regards,
BALATON Zoltan

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 14-Mar-2018 18:59:50
#91 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3049
From: Maryland, USA

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
Driver will only see the PCIe bus, maybe there be problems with interrupts I don't know, maybe timing critical IO will have problems as well, can't say..


They have been working non SoC-passthrough as well as PCI-passthrough, to add things not on PCI bus... And people already successfully use PCI-passthrough for quite some time now.

From 2009:
https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/library/l-pci-passthrough/

2013:
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTM3NTk

2014 AMBA platform bus (not PCI) passthrough:
http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-devel/2014-04/msg02751.html
Now, I don't know what all can be passed-through on PowerPC, as I don't htink i tto be an ARM AMBA bus, but it sounds like it may be doable usign VFIO:

https://lists.nongnu.org/archive/html/qemu-devel/2014-09/msg03357.html


Anyway, again, all I see are opportunities, not walls.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 14-Mar-2018 22:04:35
#92 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 351
From: Unknown

@tlosm
Will this work with a Flower Pot hdf or will have to do a full reinstall?
Thanks.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 14-Mar-2018 22:55:34
#93 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5923
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

errm.. you are talking about two distinct emulated platforms: sam series ppc boards vs ppc accelerator enabled amigas. as far as im informed there are dedicated versions of os4 for each of those. and flower pot is some set of scripts to get os4 properly configured within uae, so go figure..

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 15-Mar-2018 0:30:20
#94 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 351
From: Unknown

@wawa

Thanks, I can go with that.
First question, is how long will it be till qemu comes out with Sam 460 emulation and the next question will there be enough stock of OS4.1FE for Sam available?

Last edited by Trekiej on 15-Mar-2018 at 12:34 AM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 15-Mar-2018 2:27:08
#95 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5923
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

when its done, i guess..

Last edited by wawa on 15-Mar-2018 at 02:27 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 15-Mar-2018 6:24:49
#96 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

@Trekiej

i think not in booting.just because amiga classic hd dont boot in ng. but we need to test the rc1 for see it in working.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 15-Mar-2018 7:34:04
#97 ]
Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 20
From: Napoli - Italy

@tlosm

ask Balaton if this can be useful

http://pccomponents.com/datasheets/IBM-PPC440.PDF
http://datasheet.octopart.com/PPC460EX-NUB800T-AMCC-datasheet-11553412.pdf
https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/user_guides/ug200.pdf

Last edited by Fl@sh on 15-Mar-2018 at 07:38 AM.
Last edited by Fl@sh on 15-Mar-2018 at 07:35 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 15-Mar-2018 10:23:53
#98 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

@Fl@sh

thanks all help is apreciated

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
michalsc 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 15-Mar-2018 12:58:07
#99 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2005
Posts: 225
From: Germany

@tlosm

Quote:

1. System time is going slower than expected in AROS (can be seen e.g. in
Time Prefs). The seconds advance but much slower than they should. (AROS
boot iso can be downloaded from http://aros.sourceforge.net/nightly1.php)


System time is driven by VBlank interrupt which is emulated by decrementer. The decrementer on AROS runs at 50Hz. It calculates CPU usage once every second and in every decremeter interrupt it fires the VBlank "emulation".

The decrementer handler is in arch/ppc-sam440/kernel/intr.c (lines 300-339). The setup of all bus clocks (decrementer runs at OPB frequency) and decrementer is done in function SetupClocking440() in arch/ppc-sam440/kernel/kernel_startup.c (lines 376-454). Setup for sam460 follows after this function ;)

BTW. it might also be that the clock setup for sam460 is broken on AROS. I dunno, I was only developing/testing Aros for sam440...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 15-Mar-2018 14:44:50
#100 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

@michalsc

Thankyou.
i will report asap to Zoltan

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle