Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6144 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
77 crawler(s) on-line.
 22 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 eliyahu:  6 mins ago
 BSzili:  16 mins ago
 virgolamobile:  16 mins ago
 Trixie:  20 mins ago
 AlfredOne:  22 mins ago
 BigD:  23 mins ago
 matthey:  32 mins ago
 evilFrog:  32 mins ago
 JKD:  34 mins ago
 utri007:  38 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
Trekiej 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 19-Jan-2021 3:25:19
#41 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 823
From: Unknown

@Hypex

I had to do some updating before running the 53.14 update. I had to update Ami Update first and them some MUI and other updates.

I downloaded 53.14 and installed over an Update 1.
Seems to be working fine.

I am running Amiga OS4.1 FE Classic on Amiga Forever 7 and Flower Pot.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 20-Jan-2021 1:02:26
#42 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1795
From: Canada

@Hypex

My MicroA1 system has been very stable since I installed the AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition Update 2 Hotfix.

AWeb, IBrowse, NetSurf, Origyn (OWB), Odyssey, Final Writer 97, PPaint, TVPaint all working fine. Printing works fine from Final Writer 97 to my HP Photosmart printer via netprinter software.

Only a few issues ... PlayCD and Enhancer Updater program

PlayCD worked fine for a few tries. Then I did some other stuff and came back to PlayCD and it would not launch. Eventually, my system locked up. Fixed now ... replaced PlayCD with PlayCD from OS 4.0.

Perhaps this very old version of PlayCD works better with my LiteON DVD combo drive or MicroA1 chipset.

New version of Enhancer Updater program locks up my system. The version of Updater program on my Enhancer V1.5 CD worked fine.


---
redfox

Last edited by redfox on 20-Jan-2021 at 04:39 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 20-Jan-2021 at 01:20 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 20-Jan-2021 8:36:20
#43 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3467
From: Russia

@redfox

Quote:

New version of Enhancer Updater program locks up my system. The version of Updater program on my Enhancer V1.5 CD worked fine.


That was due to bug in aeon's listviewer.gadget , which were fixed lately by Andy,and you can grab debug-test-version from there: http://www.amiga.org/developer/bugreports/file_download.php?file_id=464&type=bug

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 21-Jan-2021 13:45:47
#44 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10146
From: Greensborough, Australia

@kas1e

Quote:
nd after all that I remember how you didn't update because "everything works, why I need to update?"


Well, those systems I can recall I couldn't update, because they had been updated to the most level they could for that OS4 release. There were no more updates, like a Linux distro, when the release is complete. There would only be a new version after, which required fresh installation. And I wasn't going to destroy my main working system just to run the latest. In any case I still installed the latest to a new volume so it shouldn't matter that one volume wasn't the latest.

Quote:
See, in the same very thread, everything works for everyone. And I am 99.9% sure you do something weird on your system in terms of doing things that you should not :)


Not everyone. And not every system is the same.

Quote:
That what I mean by "mess with the system". It's just you didn't have a clean install ever, but it always pretty deeply changed in all the ways.


How do know I've never had a clean install ever? If I install a new version, that must be installed from scratch, do you think I install it on a copy of my old version? And then duplicate that for another new version? Since with what you imply is I've never installed afresh despite having two OS4 machines.

In any case, the only time I really mess with the system, is when I need to do so to install some software. As you know OS4 lacks a package manager. So even just trying to play a game can send you all over the place downloading dependants. And then sometimes you need to install manually. I've had to reluctantly modify my SOLIBS because some software I wanted to run didn't include what was needed. And the stuff I found had to be hacked in there so it worked. Workbench is bad enough, being dated now, but AmigaOS is a sloppy system to manage.

Quote:
What ? :))


LOL! Well, you didn't give any examples of bloat, and the SDK can be pretty bloated.

Quote:
I mean that you always #### your system in all unusual ways in terms of OS, and that was like this in the last 10 years :) That not bad, just don't expect everything will bug-free when you on your own.


­Since it required it, when I setup the main system volume on my X1000, it would have been installed fresh, so there shouldn't be any bugs on it, since that volume itself isnt ten years old.

Last edited by Hypex on 21-Jan-2021 at 01:52 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 21-Jan-2021 13:47:03
#45 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10146
From: Greensborough, Australia

@NutsAboutAmiga

Thanks, will make a note of this.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 21-Jan-2021 13:56:45
#46 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10146
From: Greensborough, Australia

@nbache

Quote:
Yes, noticed that.

Oh well, it was true when I wrote it


I checked and it found the 2.48 update. So it looks like 2.47 works fine after all for updating to a new version. And 2.43 must be broken as it's too old to detect a new version.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 21-Jan-2021 23:43:42
#47 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1795
From: Canada

@kas1e

Just gave this new listviewer.gadget a try with Updater v53.70. I can download files, but when done the Updater window does not update to show the new status. The list is there but greyed out as if disabled and several buttons are are blank. My system is not locked up and I can close the Updater window, but I can't relaunch Updater.

I have added the above note to the Mantis tracker for listviewer.gadget.

Hopefully, I have installed whatever is required by Updater v53.70.

---
redfox

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 20:59:08
#48 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1795
From: Canada

Update...

My issues with Enhancer Update mechanism have been solved with the help of Andy (broadblues).

I was using the Ringhio server from AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition. Apparently, this old server from 2014 was not playing well with the Enhancer Update mechanism. Disabling Ringhio server solved the problem (but also killed notification messages). I have now installed the Enhancer NotificationServer and it works well with Enhancer Update mechanism.

---
redfox

Last edited by redfox on 22-Jan-2021 at 09:29 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 22-Jan-2021 at 09:06 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 22-Jan-2021 at 09:03 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 22-Jan-2021 at 09:01 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigang 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 24-Jan-2021 10:38:25
#49 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 1567
From: Cheshire, England

@redfox

Yes I do feel its a bit of shame OS4 and Enhancer are separated products, as it feels increasingly more and more OS4 needs Enhancer to really run right.

_________________
AmigaNG, YouTube, LeaveReality Studio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
graff 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 25-Jan-2021 10:50:50
#50 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Jul-2005
Posts: 51
From: Unknown

@amigang

Apart from the Warp3D-related work, for me Enhancer is just "yet another compilation of various tools" which unfortunately also requires you to install some custom classes into the OS installation.

What redfox describes seems to me like an Enhancer tool requiring a specific tool from their own product range, which happens to overwrite an existing OS component of the same name, and forgets to check if it got their own or the OS component. So it's not like its an OS problem, rather a vendor problem.

But then again, opinions may vary

_________________
Regards
Thomas Graff Thøger

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
LarsB 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 25-Jan-2021 11:20:30
#51 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Jul-2019
Posts: 84
From: Unknown

@amigang Your are right. But here we are again. Amiga OS 4.x belongs to Hyperion and the Enhancer stuff belongs to A-EON. And the Kernel does, too.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 28-Jan-2021 20:29:26
#52 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11621
From: Norway

@Hypex

Frozen system at “AmigaOS Final Edition 4.1” boot luckup.

Found where it locks up in Putty.
...
...
...
sb600ide.device 53.22 (28.6.2017)
cfide.device 53.5 (27.02.2014)
[mediaboot] Diskboot is present. Skip mounting static devices.

Not sure but maybe the crash is becouse of cfide.device.
I try to remove the sfcard and see if stops freezing.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 28-Jan-2021 at 08:32 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 28-Jan-2021 at 08:31 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 28-Jan-2021 at 08:29 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ilbarbax 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 29-Jan-2021 8:33:02
#53 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2010
Posts: 176
From: Italy

@NutsAboutAmiga

I got the same problem on my sam. I used to have it at the first releases of 0S 4.1 then went out. Now I have again.
However I sort the problem in the same way as I sorted it earlier. It means I have to boot once from the OS4.1 cd and go to the wb then remove the cd and reboot and works fine. Don't ask me why.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 29-Jan-2021 16:14:05
#54 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10146
From: Greensborough, Australia

@NutsAboutAmiga

Workbench screen or elsewhere?

Have you enabled compositing in GUI prefs?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 26-Mar-2021 21:12:22
#55 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 195
From: Unknown

Where should bugs in FE Update 2 be reported?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nbache 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 26-Mar-2021 22:52:15
#56 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Apr-2003
Posts: 1005
From: Copenhagen, Denmark

@Gregor

The General AmigaOS forum within the AmigaOS support board:

https://forum.hyperion-entertainment.com/viewforum.php?f=14

For more enhancement-like stuff, there's also the AmigaOS feature Requests forum:

https://forum.hyperion-entertainment.com/viewforum.php?f=36

Best regards,

Niels

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 27-Mar-2021 19:44:56
#57 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1795
From: Canada

Update...

After I applied the Hotfix for FE Update 2, I noticed that strange things were happening when I used MUI programs. Seems to be related to HELP bubbles on all my MUI based programs, Soliton, IBrowse, Odyssey, and my ARexx programs that use RxMUI to open MUI windows.

Specifically, if a HELP bubble opened up with part of the HELP bubble outside the MUI window, it wiped out whatever was in the background behind the HELP bubble. When the HELP bubble disappeared, that area was blank. For example, if the HELP bubble opened overtop of the corner of a drawer window, that corner was gone when the HELP bubble disappeard. The actual MUI program window was not affected, only whatever was in the background behind the MUI window.

Everything still worked as expected, but there were blank spots where the bubble had been, as if something was not refreshing the screen after the HELP bubble disappeared.

The only solution I could find was to disable the Help bubbles in the MUI Help settings for all the MUI programs on my system:

- Removed both checkmarks for "Quick help appears".



---
redfox



Last edited by redfox on 27-Mar-2021 at 07:59 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 27-Mar-2021 at 07:55 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 27-Mar-2021 at 07:54 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 27-Mar-2021 23:23:39
#58 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11621
From: Norway

@Hypex

This is before startup-sequence. Removing the flashcard has helped.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Xenic 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 29-Mar-2021 14:03:27
#59 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1246
From: Pennsylvania, USA

TurboText text editor problem with update2.

TurboText works well with OS4FEupdate1, including the 'Find' functions.
However, with OS4FEupdate2 the Find requester fails to work as it should.
If I open the 'Find' menu in TurboText and enter some text and a carriage
return in the requester, TurboText displays a sleep pointer and freezes.
If I don't enter the carriage return and instead click the 'Find Next'
button, Find works as it should.

I did some testing by replacing previous KickStart files with update2
files one at a time. TurboText works normally with all the update2 files
installed except sb600ide.device.kmod, sb600ide.device.kmod and kernal.
I doubt that the disk drivers have anything to do with the problem so
I am assuming that something in the update2 kernal has changed that is
causing Turbotext not to work correctly.

If you don't have TurboText the problem can be reproduced by doing the
following:
1. Download the TurboText archive from Aminet.
2. Extract the archive to ram: (or location of your choice).
3. Open the 'Disk' Drawer and then the Data drawer.
4. Double click of the TTX icon to open the editor.
5. Open a text file in the editor.
6. Use the 'Find' menu to open the find requester.
7. Enter some text in the requester followed by a carriage return.

I'm using an X1000 system with OS4FEupdate2.

_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nubechecorre 
Re: How's your experience been with FE Update 2?
Posted on 29-Mar-2021 19:56:04
#60 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Nov-2003
Posts: 895
From: San remo -Italy-

@NutsAboutAmiga

If you first run the cd and then you reset you use old modules..

_________________
GDG-Entertainment
OS4Games
Iksnet
Bitplane

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle