Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6028 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
88 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Jasper

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Jasper:  3 mins ago
 matthey:  23 mins ago
 hardwaretech:  35 mins ago
 michalsc:  38 mins ago
 kolla:  41 mins ago
 Marcian:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 21 mins ago
 bison:  1 hr 44 mins ago
 Prober:  2 hrs 8 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  2 hrs 17 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
Av8Retro 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 18-Sep-2021 20:05:39
#21 ]
Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2021
Posts: 21
From: Unknown

@Steady

Well, so much for exploring additional memory. I get the computer to boot to the U-boot menu, but I can not navigate or select anything with the arrow keys. It is not recognizing the keyboard (K120by Logitech). I tried both the PS2 ports via a PS2-to-USB adapter and also directly via USB, but no luck. This keyboard has worked before so I am at a loss.

I'm hoping someone here on the forum has encountered something similar and has the magic solution :)

Cheers!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 18-Sep-2021 21:11:49
#22 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11251
From: In the village

@Av8Retro

Use a PS/2 keyboard. You should be able to navigate uboot menu successfully.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Av8Retro 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 18-Sep-2021 21:25:00
#23 ]
Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2021
Posts: 21
From: Unknown

@number6

I appreciate the quick reply. Ordered a PS/2 specific keyboard, and should have it by tomorrow. Fingers crossed it is that simple :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 18-Sep-2021 23:05:49
#24 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1857
From: Canada

@Av8Retro

I hope your new PS/2 keyboard works well.

I use an IBM PS/2 keyboard Model KB-8923 from an ancient IBM Aptiva computer. It is a very sturdy keyboard and has served me well for many years.


redfox

Last edited by redfox on 18-Sep-2021 at 11:06 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Av8Retro 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 2:05:24
#25 ]
Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2021
Posts: 21
From: Unknown

@redfox

Thanks redfox. The keyboard arrived and works.

U-boot senses the keyboard and USB mouse and even identifies the mouse by the correct model. But once the Amiga OS installation begins, the pointer is parked in the top left corner and won't move..

I checked the u-boot settings for the rear USB and it is set to on. I went to the diagnostic section in u-boot, and ran it. It senses the mouse and the "laser" light inside the mouse is illuminated, so it has power. But once the installation begins loading, it turns off and the mouse no longer has power. Both rear USB ports behave the same way.

So I figured it might be the same issue as with the old keyboard, and hooked up the mouse via a PS/2 adapter, but still no success getting the input to work under the OS installation.

Any words or wisdom on how to proceed from here?

Cheers!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 5:19:49
#26 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1857
From: Canada

@Av8Retro

I read somewhere years ago that some USB mice were "universal" mice that were compatible with USB protocol and PS/2 protocol. For many years, I used a "universal" Logitech mouse (don't know model#) with a green USB-PS/2 adapter, connected to the PS/2 mouse port on my MicroA1. A few years ago, I replaced this mouse with a Dynex mouse (model# DX-WMSE) and same green adapter..

I disabled rear USB ports years ago, when I had a horrendous time trying to install OS4.1 update 1. My system continually crashed part way through the install. Something in that package drove some MicroA1's crazy. The "temporary fix" was to disable two USB ports. I chose to disable the rear USB ports and my MicroA1 settled down and I was able to install the update with no further issues.

A few years ago, I was able to use a USB mouse connected to one of the "front" USB ports. However, the driver software sometimes went to sleep and ignored the mouse connected to the USB port. As I recall, the mouse connected to the PS/2 port continued to work fine.

I hope this info helps.

---
redfox

Last edited by redfox on 20-Sep-2021 at 06:45 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 20-Sep-2021 at 06:41 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 20-Sep-2021 at 05:23 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 20-Sep-2021 at 05:21 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 12:54:10
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11251
From: In the village

@Av8Retro

When you switched from using an adaptor to an actual PS/2 keyboard you solved your first issue.
It sounds like you are not using an actual PS/2 mouse, which should work.

Also while you only have a usb mouse atm?, you can try something which has worked in the past.
Unplug it after OS4.x boots, then replug it.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Av8Retro 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 16:27:50
#28 ]
Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2021
Posts: 21
From: Unknown

@redfox
@number6

Thanks again to all for the helpful tips!

Ordered a "true" PS/2 mouse and will try again when it arrives.

The weird part is that the USB mouse is recognized in u-boot, when plugged into the USB port, and also when plugged into the PS/2 port with the adapter.

Something strange definitely happens during the boot procedure that disables the USB ports (or the power to them), and also the power delivery to the PS/2 port-->USB adapter.

I will also try disabling the USB in u-boot and see if that helps.

Cheers and have a great week!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 16:48:28
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11251
From: In the village

@Av8Retro

Quote:
Also while you only have a usb mouse atm?, you can try something which has worked in the past.
Unplug it after OS4.x boots, then replug it.


Please try the above as well. In my case I receive a message after replugging that the usb is now recognized and it becomes active. This could be dependent on exact usb mouse being used.

In addition it would perhaps be helpful to redfox and anyone else trying to assist you...
to post the exact version and date of your uboot.

This can be an issue in inherited machines, since it's known fact that some unofficial/experimental versions were issued into the wild.

#6

Last edited by number6 on 20-Sep-2021 at 05:13 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 17:57:52
#30 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10272
From: Greensborough, Australia

@number6

Quote:
Because it is there.
We used serial dialup and the back panel port almost from day 1 with the Micro.


Actually, I think I've confused it with a VGA port. They have the same size port.

For example on bottom here:
https://amigang.com/amigaone.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Av8Retro 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 18:03:14
#31 ]
Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2021
Posts: 21
From: Unknown

@number6

I am running u-boot 1.1.1, date is Oct-4-2004

The Amiga OS version is 4.0 with update 1 (Oct-10-2004)

I tried several different combinations of unplugging and re-inserting the mouse after boot but no change. I should have the PS/2 mouse by tomorrow and will post the result.

Cheers and thanks again!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 18:07:14
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10272
From: Greensborough, Australia

@redfox

Quote:
Back in 2004, I purchased a MicroA1 motherboard and assembled the computer myself. I used an Antec Minuet case. There is no serial port on the backplate of my MicroA1 motherboard. My only choice for adding a serial port is to add a connector to one of the expansion slots on the back of my Antec case.


So no two machines could be alike. My X1000 is similar. My serial is on an expansion slot. But I opted for the serial when I ordered from AmigaKit. Just as well as it doesn't match the common type I looked up. Seems there's always half a dozen standards for serial, audio and USB where a typical case won't match an AnigaOne board. For years I've been putting up with a front USB3 port hooked into a back USB2 port on my X1000 as the internal USB2 connected to the front USB2 port doesn't work. I checked the lines and they all match. Maybe it's picky and doesn't like one side only connected but it reveals another OS4 bug as it can freeze the system.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 18:28:23
#33 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10272
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Av8Retro

Great you got it going again but as always it's a big leap to another step.

A USB keyboard can work in UBoot, but, it must be set to USB first. UBoot won't auto sense.

PS/2 is good as you can pull the mouse out and plug it in again. It's also to best to use in a system freeze as something like a yellow alert will kill multiasking which will freeze USB and all input devices. With a PS/2 mouse you can still click!

I don't know but have you checked the date in UBoot? You might need to reset the date in UBoot and then set date and time using commands. Sometimes the system can be eradic if it is incorrect.

Also, I recall getting stuck on USB. There is the UBoot menu and there are the UBoot variables. You want to try the printenv command and check all the ones with usb in the name. If any have a no or off for usb there's a red flag.

A small UBoot guide:
http://intuitionbase.com/static.php?section=uboot

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 18:41:50
#34 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11251
From: In the village

@Av8Retro

Click my profile and you'll see my system is 4.0 final plus July update.

This might make comparing results difficult until your system imitates either mine or redfox's 4.1.

Maybe someone can help you as to how/where to acquire the necessary updates you should have for 4.0 plus July update.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Av8Retro 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 21:51:08
#35 ]
Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2021
Posts: 21
From: Unknown

@number6

While I'm waiting for the PS/2 mouse to arrive, I think I may as well get the latest 4.1 Final edition.

Is it available for download or only via CD? I'm seeing so many different versions (SAM440/SAM460/AmigaOne500) but none lists the Micro-A1. Hyperion only seems to offer 4.1 Final Edition Classic for download.

Any recommendations on which version and where to get it?

Cheers!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Sep-2021 23:59:37
#36 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11251
From: In the village

@Av8Retro

You'll have to wait for a response from one of the Micro owners as to where to find the files.

Since you have decided to go with 4.1, you'll need:
AmigaOS4.1 FE (final edition)
AmigaOS4.1 FE Update 1
AmigaOS4.1 FE Update 2
AmigaOS4.1 FE hotfix (for update 2)

AmigaOS4.1 FE users, Please correct me if this is not accurate.

You may have to check the dealer list. You want the version for the Micro.
https://www.hyperion-entertainment.com/index.php/where-to-buy/dealers
2 pages

#6

Last edited by number6 on 21-Sep-2021 at 12:17 AM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RussellB 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 21-Sep-2021 0:59:20
#37 ]
Member
Joined: 27-Oct-2002
Posts: 52
From: Cheshire, UK

@Av8Retro

The version you need is for the AmigaOne SE/XE/MicroA1.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 21-Sep-2021 4:59:08
#38 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1857
From: Canada

@Av8Retro

I am currently running AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition Update 2 (hotfix) on my MicroA1.

I followed the steps below.

As per Number6 and RussellB ...

AmigaOS4.1 FE (final edition) ... purchase CD for AmigaOne SE/XE/MicroA1
AmigaOS4.1 FE Update 1
AmigaOS4.1 FE Update 2
AmigaOS4.1 FE hotfix (for update 2)

Update 2 had some issues that were fixed by the hotfix, which was released a few weeks later.

Apparently, the current version of Update 2 contains the fixed files included in the hotfix, so in theory, you don't have to download the hotfix after Update 2.

Purchase the AmigaOS4.1 Final Edition CD for AmigaOne SE/XE/MicroA1.

After you register this software on the Hyperion website, you can download the updates.

I purchased the CD years ago from AmigaKit online website store. No longer listed on their site.

---
redfox

Last edited by redfox on 21-Sep-2021 at 03:14 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 21-Sep-2021 at 05:13 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 21-Sep-2021 at 05:09 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 21-Sep-2021 at 05:00 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pvanni 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 21-Sep-2021 8:11:13
#39 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2003
Posts: 470
From: Lecco, Italy

@Av8Retro

no need for the AmigaOS4.1 FE hotfix (for update 2), the actual Update 2 it's already fixed

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Av8Retro 
Re: Micro-A1 troubleshooting
Posted on 21-Sep-2021 14:36:53
#40 ]
Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2021
Posts: 21
From: Unknown

Excellent information, thank you all!

I will hopefully find a reseller of the OS today and fingers crossed that the PS/2 mouse will work when it arrives today.

If that doesn't work, then it would seem the motherboard is toast, but one step at a time :)

Cheers!



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle