Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5813 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
79 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Musashi5150:  18 mins ago
 Dragoon:  44 mins ago
 sabworks:  48 mins ago
 utukku:  53 mins ago
 Bezzen:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 bibiana12:  1 hr 28 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 37 mins ago
 BSzili:  2 hrs 3 mins ago
 Hammer:  2 hrs 7 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Website feedback and suggestions
      /  Re: Website Bugs
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )
PosterThread
TrebleSix 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 11-May-2005 10:47:53
#121 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-Sep-2004
Posts: 3747
From: Pembrokeshire, Wales

Dunno if this has been mentioned, but when you read a thread and post a new message to it, the navigation 'Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )' dissapears from the bottom of the page, so you have to scroll all the way up to access it from there.


_________________
Dark Lord Design Wicked Solutions For Damned Problems

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 11-May-2005 11:51:07
#122 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@Raziel

Well, try with a Jpeg file, "Mime Exception" sounds like the file format is not
supported. Remembering back when i tried with AWeb i couldn't specify the file
as JPEG and though get that error.


AWeb uses the file extetions defined in the settings/browers/viewerrs window to
determine the mime type of a file being uploaded. So save your jpegs with a .jpg
and it should work. I uploaded my avatar with AWeb.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 11-May-2005 12:00:51
#123 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@broadblues

The post new thread buttons will no longer work with the latest version
(not yet released) of AWeb.

This is because the html looks like this

<a href="foo" /><img ... ></a>

the /> at the end of the anchor tag closes it resulting in an empty tag. AWeb
now supports this behaviour to allow some other sites to work. THis is the only
place on the site I've noticed this so I imagine it's a one off glitch.

{edit} preview removed my character refereneces &lt; etc

Last edited by broadblues on 11-May-2005 at 12:03 PM.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 11-May-2005 16:25:08
# ]

0
0

@broadblues

Hi Andy,

i had this strange behaviour with version 3.4 back then.
Never tried it with 3.5, now my avatars up, why bother?

Anyway, it's most likely that the program i used to save the JPEG does some
undocumented stuff with the pic and left it unknown (or mostly unknown) to AWeb,
resulting in this MIME error from the AW.net website.

So, no slapping at AWeb (I still use it all day long and hope to help a bit
with my mostly crappy bugreports).

 
     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 13-May-2005 11:37:48
#125 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@Raziel

i had this strange behaviour with version 3.4 back then.
Never tried it with 3.5, now my avatars up, why bother?


Ah ha! That would be fixed bug then. You'll notice that the mime types in browswer
prefs are in UPPER/CASE. AWeb used to send them this way, Which depending on
the server might result in a mime error as the spec say they should be lower case.

AWeb allways sends them lower case now.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mark 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 13-May-2005 12:53:15
#126 ]
Team Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 1457
From: UK

@Raziel

LOL, its actually a different bug, previously, it was because xoops (for some really weird reason) put those buttons in using (unsupported by Aweb) javascript. Now it has that extra / I dont know where that came from I certainly didnt put it there.

Mark

_________________
IceStar Media Ltd.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 13-May-2005 23:21:55
#127 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@Mark

While I'm at it just noticed the phrase "link to us" in the textual navbar at the top of
the page has no &nbsp; in the gaps unlike the other entries in the menu
causing the phrase to "crumple" and making the navbar look awful if you shrink the window as far
as you can.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrebleSix 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 2-Jun-2005 14:09:01
#128 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-Sep-2004
Posts: 3747
From: Pembrokeshire, Wales

After refreshing the page I (seemingly) randomly get logged out of the site, and therefore need to log in again.

It can't be sessions (as I am using the browser), it may be cookies, but I can leave the browser all weekend and come back and still be logged in, so they seem ok.

Any ideas ?

_________________
Dark Lord Design Wicked Solutions For Damned Problems

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cell 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 6:16:47
#129 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Feb-2005
Posts: 1078
From: the depths of hell

@all

stop whining -- the website works fine.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 10-Jun-2005 14:04:24
# ]

0
0

@cell

Quote:
stop whining -- the website works fine.

OK

Still the "New Topic" button doesn't work for me. (AWeb beta)
Taken from a mail off the AWeb-dev ml

Quote:
The button is a link like this

< a href="foo" / > image < /a >

notice the /> on the anchor element. This is incorrect (x)html. It
effectively means the anchor tag is closed and empty. AWeb was recently
adapted to understand this when it's used correctly eg to give
an empty button tag.

Would be nice to have this fixed

 
     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 10-Jun-2005 16:53:30
#131 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3014
From: Westhall, UK

@Raziel

This is also an issue in Voyager.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
hnl_dk 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 16-Jul-2005 22:12:30
#132 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2003
Posts: 1786
From: Denmark

@Raziel

Same here... "New Topic" does not work with AWeb I hope that this does get fixed, as I use OS4 as my main OS and AWeb as my main browser

_________________
Best regards,
hnl_dk - Henning Nielsen Lund [Denmark]

Please send no PM to me, email me if you want to contact me. See you somewhere else.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 24-Jul-2005 18:18:16
#133 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@AW webmaster

I noticed that under "Terms and Policy" there is a maximum size (5000 bytes) listed for avatars.
When I recently uploaded my first avatar (yesterday), I noticed a different maximum
size (6144 bytes) listed through upload from my profile page. Which is correct?

Edit (added):Added the actual byte count listed

Best Wishes,
#6

Last edited by number6 on 24-Jul-2005 at 06:28 PM.
Last edited by number6 on 24-Jul-2005 at 06:23 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 24-Jul-2005 19:32:43
#134 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5117
From: Right here...

I use IB 2.3 registered. In the news item section only, the page numbers are missing when I'm logged in, but there when I'm logged out. When reading a news item & logged in, I get a 'item doesn't exist' error if I try to view a page other then #1. I can read all the pages only when I'm logged out.

The forum section doesn't have this problem.

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 24-Jul-2005 20:23:02
#135 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@sundown

Welcome back from AmiWest. Hope you had a great time.
Does this post relate to the subject:

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=4260&forum=6
Relevant post #6 by @Olegil

Best Wishes,
#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 24-Jul-2005 21:12:23
#136 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5117
From: Right here...

@number6

AmiWest was a lot of laughs, had a great time there.

Looks like there is a difference between forum posts & news posts. I'm just wondering if any other IB users have the same problem.

I like your new avatar.

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 24-Jul-2005 21:49:06
#137 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@sundown

I have reported this behavior before. I just tested -again- with Aweb.
Indeed when "not logged in" a two page "news" item will allow you to click on
either page to view.
When "logged in" a "total comments" replaces the 1 - 2 page numbers visually.
When you go to "total comments" and choose "flat" "oldest first" "refresh" the
first page loads.
When you then click on "2" for page 2 at either top or bottom of screen, the
error message appears, even though there -is- a page 2.
Nothing new Sundown. It's just Xoops way of denying the existence of the page
numbers we wish to access.

Best Wishes,
#6

Last edited by number6 on 24-Jul-2005 at 09:56 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 24-Jul-2005 23:32:44
#138 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@sundown

I got the same results with classic Voyager.

Javascript and cookie and suppress referer header settings play a part in AW
site navigation, but this problem is independent of any of those settings.
Let me know if I am wrong about this or if you discover any settings that will
bypass this problem with IBrowse.

Best Wishes,
#6



_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 25-Jul-2005 0:33:35
#139 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@sundown

OK. I tried to trick it. Back to Aweb.
While logged out I entered page 3 of the 5 page "news" thread. No problem.
Then I logged in. Instead of a page refresh which should have left me on page 3
of the 5 page "news" thread, it kicked me back to the main headline for the
"news"thread. No posts showing below the main headline. Just the same choices
for "flat" "threaded" "view" "refresh" etc.

Please check this on IBrowse.

@thread

Has anyone checked this on another browser, just to be sure.

Best Wishes,
#6


_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 25-Jul-2005 1:41:05
#140 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@number6
This appears to work fine on registered IBrowse 2.3 as far as I can tell.

Logged out, browse to pg 2 of a 2 page news item.
Log in, and I'm brought back to page 2, NOT page 1 as your post seems to indicate? (with AWeb and voyager)

The 'bad xoops behavior' seems to permeate everywhere, however, not just a single page from what I can see with a quick look:

Quote:

< table border='0' width='100%' cellpadding='5' align='center' > < tr > < td align='left' > < img src='images/arrow.gif' alt='/' / >< a href='http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/index.php' > Forum Index < / a > < br / >< img src='images/arrow.gif' alt='/' / >< a href='http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewforum.php?forum=6&1370' > Site Announcements < / a > < br / >< img src='images/arrow.gif' alt='/' / >< b >Site update: 'user account' page< / b >< / td >< td align='right' >< a href="newtopic.php?forum=6" / >< img src="http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/images/t_new-a.gif" border="0">< /a >< /td >< /tr >< /table >< /td >< /tr >< /table >


Note the '< br / >' re-occuring. This may be a problem, but it isn't limited to new posts it would seem.

_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle