Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6085 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
41 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 BigD,  pixie

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 pixie:  1 min ago
 BigD:  4 mins ago
 AMIGASYSTEM:  12 mins ago
 redfox:  23 mins ago
 nbache:  24 mins ago
 tygre:  34 mins ago
 Davec555:  34 mins ago
 zipper:  45 mins ago
 Rob:  46 mins ago
 Marcian:  51 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  UAE for OS4
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
Chris_Y 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 17:51:56
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3195
From: Beds, UK

@evilrich

Nice. Is AGA emulation planned to be added (or is it already there?)?

Chris

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilrich 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 17:58:16
#22 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Oct-2003
Posts: 534
From: Unknown

@Tuxedo

Quote:
When it'll be released?

I'll be releasing E-UAE 0.8.27 simultaneously for Linux (x86/PPC), MacOS X, BeOS (x86) and AmigaOS (68k and PPC/OS4.0) as soon as humanly possible. It's pretty much ready.

Maybe by the week-end if I have enough time. (Although I did say that last week, and guess what... )

Cheers,
Rich

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilrich 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 17:59:22
#23 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Oct-2003
Posts: 534
From: Unknown

@Chris_Y

Quote:
Is AGA emulation planned to be added (or is it already there?)?

Already there.

Cheers,
Rich

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jose 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 17:59:28
#24 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 973
From: Unknown

"I think Cloanto, "Amiga Forever", is coming out with an emulator for AOS4.0!!!"

Don't get me wrong anyone does what he wants basically but I don't think that makes sense at all, except lowering the sales of the A1 and raising the piracy of AOS4. Ok Cloanto may sell a few copies of the emulator too, nothing else.

_________________

JosÚ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilrich 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 18:03:10
#25 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Oct-2003
Posts: 534
From: Unknown

@Jose

Quote:
"I think Cloanto, "Amiga Forever", is coming out with an emulator for AOS4.0!!!"

Don't get me wrong anyone does what he wants basically but I don't think that makes sense at all, except lowering the sales of the A1 and raising the piracy of AOS4. Ok Cloanto may sell a few copies of the emulator too, nothing else.

I suspect the author of that post meant "an emulator for running on OS4.0" not "an emulator for running OS4.0 on".

Cheers,
Rich

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jose 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 18:09:52
#26 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 973
From: Unknown

@evilrich

probaby, I'm just paranoid .... I gotta start reading the whole thread before posting...

_________________

JosÚ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GrumpyOldMan 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 18:18:25
#27 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 3-Nov-2003
Posts: 675
From: Haukipudas, Finland

@evilrich

How is the hard disk emulation progressing? I gather it is faster in the new release? I have tons of WHDLoad games waiting to be played (painstakingly installed from originals to A1200 hard disk, then burned to CD waiting to be played from hard disk under OS4 UAE

This might have been asked before, but is there a support for Catweasel MK3 so that I can use my old Tac-2s to play the games?

Will the new UAE version be released alongside OS4 Pre-Update? Alongside native Picasso96 for us Pre-Release users?

Many thanks for your efforts with OS4 UAE - to me it is propably the most important piece of software for OS4 and I am very happy to hear it is in good hands and progressing well

Cheers,

Seppo

_________________
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others." (Groucho Marx)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilrich 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 18:30:20
#28 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Oct-2003
Posts: 534
From: Unknown

@GrumpyOldMan

Quote:
How is the hard disk emulation progressing? I gather it is faster in the new release?

Hard disk emulation is supported - both the mounting of a host directory as a drive and hard files. Speed will be better in the upcoming release - primarily because of improvements in clib2, the standard C library in OS4.0.

To get the best performance, you should use SFS - or FFS2 with plenty of buffers, a large block size and the cache plug-in.

Quote:
is there a support for Catweasel MK3

Not yet. I'm working on it.

Quote:
Will the new UAE version be released alongside OS4 Pre-Update? Alongside native Picasso96 for us Pre-Release users?

It's not for me to comment about the OS4 update, but I guess it's no secret that it will have native P96. E-UAE will definitely benefit from that. E-UAE will be included as a contribution with OS4.0, but it'll also be available as a download from my web site.

Quote:
Many thanks for your efforts with OS4 UAE

You're quite welcome.

Cheers,
Rich

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dimmck 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 19:08:49
#29 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Sep-2003
Posts: 415
From: Cheney, WA

@evilrich

Rich,

Since you brought up hard drives and hard files, I have a question. I've been unable to use UAE under OS4 for anything other than looking at the kickstart image for inserting the os. My kickstart is the same one used with UAE on Debian Linux. The hardfile I created using CloanTo's WinUAE. No luck in getting the hard file recognized. It's an 8 Meg copy of the OS (3.1 IIRC) I have on my WinUAE setup.

As it is, if I want to do anything "serious" for prior to OS4, I have to boot UAE on Linux. e.g. Sas's cpr doesn't work under OS4, but does with UAE.

Any ideas?

And thanks for you continued work.

Dave M.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilrich 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 19:15:13
#30 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Oct-2003
Posts: 534
From: Unknown

Hi Dave M.

Quote:
No luck in getting the hard file recognized.

Mail me privately about this, please (uae@rcdrummond.net), and can you include a copy of the config file you are using.

Cheers,
Rich

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
shoe 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 19:39:00
#31 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Sep-2003
Posts: 1585
From: Gothenburg, Sweden

@evilrich

Quote:

evilrich wrote:

The "E" can mean anything you like. And, no, it's not 'evilrich'.


I'm starting to wonder.. Why not A-UAE??
(or even AmiUAE?)

/shoe

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilrich 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 19:45:48
#32 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Oct-2003
Posts: 534
From: Unknown

@shoe

Quote:
I'm starting to wonder.. Why not A-UAE?


Because it compiles and runs also on Linux, various Unices, Mac OS X and BeOS also.

Cheers,
Rich

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
victim 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 19:50:48
#33 ]
Member
Joined: 8-May-2004
Posts: 53
From: Unknown

@evilrich

Ah cool! When can we expect a MorphOS port from you?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
olegil 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 19:52:27
#34 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2003
Posts: 5888
From: Work

@shoe

E(vil)UAE has a certain ring to it.

_________________
This weeks pet peeve:
Using "voltage" instead of "potential", which leads to inventing new words like "amperage" instead of "current" (I, measured in A) or possible "charge" (amperehours, Ah or Coulomb, C). Sometimes I don't even know what people mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilrich 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 20:03:42
#35 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Oct-2003
Posts: 534
From: Unknown

@victim

Quote:
Ah cool! When can we expect a MorphOS port from you

I don't have a system capable of running MorphOS. I know that it builds okay for MorphOS, but I cannot test it, so I don't officially support it.

(BTW, this has nothing to do with politics. I have no personal animus against MorphOS or MorphOS users. Similarly, E-UAE compiles okay on various BSDs, but I also don't provide binaries for those, since I cannot test them here at the moment.)

If anybody is willing to check out the source code, build and test it on MorphOS, and send me patches for any modifications required - please go right ahead. This is open-source development after all.

Cheers,
Rich

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
emeck 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 20:21:49
#36 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Apr-2003
Posts: 683
From: Barcelona, Spain

@evilrich

Quote:
Anyway, people starting calling it "E-UAE" (for instance, see the link on the WinUAE home-page), so the name has sort of stuck.


Yes, I've seen the link, so I asumed that was the official name. I think you should call it as you wish. Experimental, Evilrich or just Evil UAE as Olegil hinted; after all, you are doing a great job with it.

_________________
PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.15
PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.15
Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 22:22:24
# ]

0
0

Quote:

Jose wrote:
"I think Cloanto, "Amiga Forever", is coming out with an emulator for AOS4.0!!!"

Don't get me wrong anyone does what he wants basically but I don't think that makes sense at all, except lowering the sales of the A1 and raising the piracy of AOS4. Ok Cloanto may sell a few copies of the emulator too, nothing else.

Hi Jose,

Hmmm, well, it was a bit vague. evilrich is right, I did say FOR, not OF.

I just thought that a new name may be given to it, to distinguish it from the x86 version. Yes, I meant an "Amiga Forever" version of OCS/ECS AOS1.3 2 3.1 that runs on AOS4.0.



Amiga! AOS! Can you believe it? We STILL want access back to 1985! Good code IS good code!!!!

 
     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 27-Sep-2004 22:30:07
# ]

0
0

@olegil

Evil UAE gets my vote too.

Sounds better than the Ami*, Win*, Mac*, Morph* unimaginative nonsense you usually get.

You should consider it Rich

 
     Report this post  
evilrich 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 28-Sep-2004 8:37:43
#39 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Oct-2003
Posts: 534
From: Unknown

@Uncharted

Quote:
Evil UAE gets my vote too.

Quote:
You should consider it Rich

Um. Maybe.

Cheers,
Rich

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: UAE for OS4
Posted on 28-Sep-2004 8:40:37
#40 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@evilrich

Quote:
I'll be releasing E-UAE 0.8.27 simultaneously for Linux (x86/PPC), MacOS X, BeOS (x86) and AmigaOS (68k and PPC/OS4.0) as soon as humanly possible. It's pretty much ready.


Excellent! This is one piece of software I REALLY want.

By the way, how is the speed/sound with classic games? I mean if I play a game does it look ok and the sound works fine?

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle