Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5654 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
45 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 kamelito

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 kamelito:  2 mins ago
 lionstorm:  7 mins ago
 Rob:  19 mins ago
 zipper:  34 mins ago
 vision:  1 hr 1 min ago
 amisteph:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 emeck:  1 hr 18 mins ago
 Signal:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  2 hrs 1 min ago
 sTix:  2 hrs 5 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 Next Page )
PosterThread
Coder 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 18:25:34
#21 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

I know the fixes can be fast but for some people you talk about sending it far away. I know how expensive it is sending this stuff secure by mail. And like I said, customs. So in the end a not so expensive fix can become an expensive one. And I am not even sure they fix SE boards. I am sure if I do it the costs will run far over the 100 Euro.

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
LottaRosie 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 18:32:40
#22 ]
Member
Joined: 21-Dec-2003
Posts: 92
From: Germany

@shoe

can you explain us how to do these fixes, i am able to do it too in six minutes;) I would like do that immediatly, just for fun and have just switch on my iron. 229C !!
Lets gooooooo !!!!!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 18:39:56
#23 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@spotUP

I think, that every part of mobo is not failed :) Of course MAI is responsible about ArctiaS, since they wrote application data sheets by themself ... ;)

Anyway my A1 works far better with OS4, than Linux. Maybe, because drivers are better suitable for mobo and maybe because of sil. Anyway I don't feel hopeless. There is allways possibilities to make mistakes with hw. And a12k boards have allso some rewirings and part-replacements in some boards. Even Pc-mobos have every now and then "extra-wiring". Normally they are made by factory, not by 3rd parties :)

Time will show, what happens.


Miikka

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mbilla 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 18:44:21
#24 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-May-2003
Posts: 1369
From: EU

@DrBombcrater

Quote:
So far a very few A1 dealers seem to be able to perform the XE USB and DMA fixes, but you have to pay for the work and two lots of shipping. Given the small number of dealers doing the fix, shipping going to be a big issue.


I know that, but products sold in the EU (where I live and bought my A1) MUST have a 2 year warranty! So who is going to replce or fix my A1XE if there are no more XE boards produced? Normally a company must have spare repair parts for at least 10 years. (for electronic equipment that's a long time and I don't think, 10 years count here, but OTOH I don't think that Eyetech do have many spare boards to replace either!)

_________________
A computerworld without MS products and Windows!
Connect your Amigas ...
...The Red ONE-A1XE G4 - A3000T- A3000 - A4000 - A2500- A1000 - A600 - CDTV - CD32...
and your PDAs and laptops ...
Psion 5mx Pro - Psion NetBook - Apple iPhone - MSI Wind OSX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 18:47:52
# ]

0
0

@mbilla

Just contact your dealer, if you are not satisfied with the outcome contact eyetech, if you are not satisfied with the outcome there restort to consumer law. It really couldn't be simpler.

For the rest of us, a set of instructions on how to fix it even at the cost of warranty would be fine, thanks.

Regards

Dave.

 
     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 18:50:48
#26 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 313
From: Unknown


I had the chance to test same version of OS4 Beta on both my A1SE and mA1-C

A1SE has problems with USB mass storage devices. It freezes when you try to mount a USB Mass Storage device on OS4 and Linux...USB Mouse, USB Printer, e.t.c works fine...

mA1-C has no problems with USB mass storage e.t.c..I can succesfully transfer photos from my Olympus C-310 digital camera to mA1..No freezes e.t.c...



Last edited by SinanG on 02-Jan-2005 at 06:52 PM.

_________________
AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
----------------------------------
Amiga X5000 2GB Radeon R7 265
Amiga A1222 2GB Radeon R7 265
Sam 460 2GB RadeonHD 6570

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 18:51:32
#27 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@DaveP

Thank you Dave ... :)


Miikka

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:05:33
#28 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@mbilla

Calm down, pal ... there will be some kind of solution. Allways be.


Miikka

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rassilon 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:07:45
#29 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 540
From: Office desk, Wandsworth, London, UK

@SinanG

aha someone else with the exact same problem as me on an SE!!!!

Lewis

_________________
If you don't know what you need to know by the time you need to know it then its not worth knowing

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DrBombcrater 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:09:41
#30 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Feb-2004
Posts: 1382
From: UK

@mbilla

Quote:
I know that, but products sold in the EU (where I live and bought my A1) MUST have a 2 year warranty!

I believe this is dependant on how member countries implement EU directives. Here in the UK there is no requirement for 2 year warranties. However, there is a law that means suppliers can be liable for product defects (but not normal failures) for six years. It's all very confusing and I suppose taking legal action would be a bit of a nightmare and certainly expensive enough to cost more than a new board.

Given their previous statements I have no hope at all that Eyetech will fix their broken products, even under threat of legal action. I think the best we can hope for is a paid-for repair service from some A1 dealers. Right now, I'd settle for that. My investment in the A1 and OS4 is such that I'd reluctantly pay to have my board fixed. But I'm very sure I'll never, ever buy any of Eyetech's future products.

_________________
Who do you serve, and who do you trust? - Galen

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:10:55
#31 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@SinanG

In my setup (SE) it freezes with scanner or printer connected also, but rarely.

Miikka

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:26:21
#32 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@DrBombcrater

Quote:
Right now, I'd settle for that. My investment in the A1 and OS4 is such that I'd reluctantly pay to have my board fixed. But I'm very sure I'll never, ever buy any of Eyetech's future products.


You see sometimes things like that happen. It's a beta board and so on. Am I unhappy about my problems with my board? Sure. But in the end I look at how the solutions are being showed. If Eyetech, or anyone else, gives us a decent solution I would be happy about that. And certainly I would make another purchase in the future. But it's kind of difficult if it stays like this. My wife would ask me all the time why I would buy another piece of hardware while the first one did so badly. For outsiders it seems different. You know I keep explaining to my wife that the sound does not work and USB also not. The only thing she can say is, so it is broken?

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mbilla 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:40:26
#33 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-May-2003
Posts: 1369
From: EU

@mlehto

I'm not upset so I don't need to calm down

The problem I have is that more and more HW problems show up not only under Linux but also under AOS.

I know that the XE/SE boards were intended to be beta boards! But beta boards aren't sold via dealers to everybody who wants one!

I hope too that the problems can be solved, but at minimal costs!

_________________
A computerworld without MS products and Windows!
Connect your Amigas ...
...The Red ONE-A1XE G4 - A3000T- A3000 - A4000 - A2500- A1000 - A600 - CDTV - CD32...
and your PDAs and laptops ...
Psion 5mx Pro - Psion NetBook - Apple iPhone - MSI Wind OSX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
listat 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:42:07
#34 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 14-Sep-2003
Posts: 220
From: Sussex, England

@hotrod

Quote:
I can think of two things that would please me. A free or low-cost fix for my motherboards or some trade-in deal for the A1 XC once they becomes available.


Or maybe the PCI cards that are required at COST. If Eyetech bought the goods in bulk, they could ship them out to dealers with a maxmium price tag attached for local distribution.

This would reduce the shipping costs etc, and (because they are selling the solution at NO PROFIT to themselves, and trying to reduce EXTRA COSTS to the end user) we could at least feel that the company originally responsible for developing the new Amiga actually care about their customers.

Unfortunately, I do not have a great deal of respect for the way Eyetech operate, this is through past experience, not just speculation from the bulitin boards etc.

_________________
Independent distributor for the Utility Warehouse Discount Club
A1 XE (G4), 512mb (Cos 1gb won't work)
Linux YDL3

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mbilla 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:42:51
#35 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-May-2003
Posts: 1369
From: EU

@DrBombcrater

Quote:
I believe this is dependant on how member countries implement EU directives. Here in the UK there is no requirement for 2 year warranties. However, there is a law that means suppliers can be liable for product defects (but not normal failures) for six years. It's all very confusing and I suppose taking legal action would be a bit of a nightmare and certainly expensive enough to cost more than a new board.


I did buy my A1 from KDH in Germany and do live in Luxembourg. In both countries the 2 year warranty is implemented!
So s.o. needs to fix it!

_________________
A computerworld without MS products and Windows!
Connect your Amigas ...
...The Red ONE-A1XE G4 - A3000T- A3000 - A4000 - A2500- A1000 - A600 - CDTV - CD32...
and your PDAs and laptops ...
Psion 5mx Pro - Psion NetBook - Apple iPhone - MSI Wind OSX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:47:04
#36 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@for all not so pleased owners...

It is quite pointless to complain against eyetech about this. Sure they can be more informative an so on. Anyway we bought our boards before OS was ready.
,at that time it was also quite clear, that MAIs developer boards were for developers in laboratory-scale. Not for consumer-markets. And first boards were primary MAIs developer-boards with amiga-specific firmware. So it was quite clear, that there were risks also. And again, eyetech is seller, not developer or producer. Since it is real expencive to run let's say 5 round of beta-mobos and test them completely (this is not resellers work, it normally is made by factory or manufacturer). This is not what can happen for us, our markets are far too little. When we have 20-50 thousand of buyers, it gets bit better.

For people, who may want to make "legal action" ... law don't repair you mobo, most likely opposite. It can otherwise push one hw-manufacturer away from markets. This is some, what we want ?? I don't think so.

I'm absolutely sure, that there will be solution in future. It just may take some time.

BTW. I will buy hardware from eyetech in future anyway. I cannot see, that this is mostly eyetech fault.

Miikka

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 19:53:57
#37 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@mbilla

Ok then :)

I am sure, that costs are not problem, even if you have pay it yorself. Not for people, who live middle of Europe. Ie. there is workshops around anyway.

If you want to get your repair free, I wish for you all the best :)

Yeah ... I'm not so happy also about these probs. This is anyway my main machine. Pc is far too old, only 500 MHz (so be it...) and a12k is absolutely too slow.

I bought for myself end of 2002 usb-scanner, usb-printer and usb kbd. Kbd works now :) I have to get this with little humour, no other possibilities.... :)

Anyway USB works better with OS4 than linux.

Miikka

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 20:15:34
#38 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@Coder

Last comment now ... it is problem, because maybe 2000 boards is sold (?) and they are spreaded around world. So it is quite difficult to arrange local repairing by seller. So possibilities is to repair it locally (byebye warranty...) with trusted and skilled person/company or send them elsewhere, wich is expensive.

Since unofficial repairing is bit risky, it could better to wait. When instructions will be awail, things get more clear.

Miikka


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DrBombcrater 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 20:24:37
#39 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Feb-2004
Posts: 1382
From: UK

@mlehto

Quote:
at that time it was also quite clear, that MAIs developer boards were for developers in laboratory-scale.

This has been gone over many times before, but the truth remains the same. Other than a few very early SEs, the AmigaOne boards were sold as end-user products and are subject to the same regulations as all other consumer items.

Quote:
And again, eyetech is seller, not developer or producer.

No, that's not true. Eyetech are responsible for the AmigaOne boards, and they're quite prepared to admit that. I can't do better than quote Alan Redhouse on exactly this subject:

"Finally please do not fall into the trap so frequently set up by some people - that this is really a MAI designed and produced product and that we merely resell what we are given.

MAI contracted out the original design, and jointly we have drawn up specifications for the current (and future) board versions to ensure that they are cost effective and saleable. This spec has then been given to a third party specialist to design into a manufacturable board. Our supply contract is directly with the factory, not with MAI. Although we have a close working relationship with MAI, we have materially dictated the board design and specifications, and have placed and funded the build."


That's fairly clear, I think. Eyetech dictated the design of the board, placed manufacturing contracts, then sold the A1s on both a wholesale and retail basis.

Quote:
For people, who may want to make "legal action" ... law don't repair you mobo, most likely opposite.

Indeed, I completely agree. Legal action would cost lots of money and is more likely to drive Eyetech out of business then get us fixed boards, however satisfying it might be to have a court slap Eyetech down.

Personally, all I want is a working A1.

Quote:
I cannot see, that this is mostly eyetech fault.

Whoever you blame for the existence of the A1's design flaws, this mess over getting them fixed is totally Eyetech's fault. They could solve the whole thing almost completely by doing three things:

* Releasing information on what boards are faulty, and in what ways.
* Giving out a list of dealers who can perform fixes.
* Providing technical details on the fixes for those who can perform the work on their own.

I don't want to have to berate Eyetech. I don't want to argue about consumer protection laws. I don't want to take legal action. I just want information on how I can get my AmigaOne fixed!

Surely that's not too much to ask for.

_________________
Who do you serve, and who do you trust? - Galen

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Restore2003 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 2-Jan-2005 20:48:48
#40 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2004
Posts: 438
From: Norway: The land of fjords and red trolls

@DrBombcrater

Have u actually tried hardware patching? It`s the only solution, many ppl has fixed their boards this way,

_________________
If you need music for your productions, or graphics for your creations, feel free to contact me.
also check out my music at http://www.contrazt.no/records.html

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle