Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5740 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
27 crawler(s) on-line.
 13 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 matthey:  16 mins ago
 gonegahgah:  43 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  53 mins ago
 annasolano:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 K-L:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 WeiXing3D:  1 hr 44 mins ago
 eliyahu:  1 hr 53 mins ago
 MEGA.RJ.MICAL:  2 hrs 25 mins ago
 cc3d:  2 hrs 36 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  2 hrs 42 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  MorphOS Software
      /  Can I make the partition Sythem larger with Morph?
Register To Post

PosterThread
dirkzwager 
Can I make the partition Sythem larger with Morph?
Posted on 1-Apr-2020 22:11:44
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 9-Aug-2019
Posts: 124
From: Belgium, LImburg, Bilzen

Can I make the partition Sythem larger with Morph without having to format with HDconfig or is everything lost? I dare not play with this without knowing it, otherwise everything might be gone.
I did a standard installation of Morphos 3.13 Now I have too little space when I start using UAE.

Or does anyone know if this goes with Amiga os4.1? ( HDtoolbox )
There is probably not much difference between Morph and Amigaos in this area.

_________________
Amiga 500+,
Pi 3b+ and Amiga os 3.10
Amikit XE usb Stick
Powerbook 17" and MorphOS 3.13
PowerMac G5 2.3 MP and MorphOS 3.13
Sam 460 with Amiga os 4.1 and checkmate 1500
www.sitedesign.be

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Can I make the partition Sythem larger with Morph?
Posted on 1-Apr-2020 22:27:40
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11331
From: Norway

@dirkzwager

What are you trying to do?

MorphOS, AmigaOS4.1 and AmigaOS3.1.4 does support large boot partitions.

AmigaOS3.1/3.0 does not support large hard drives directly, but there filesystems like PFS i belive can bypasses the scsi.device if understand it correct, and hit the metal.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Apr-2020 at 10:41 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Apr-2020 at 10:37 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Apr-2020 at 10:34 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Apr-2020 at 10:31 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Apr-2020 at 10:28 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dirkzwager 
Re: Can I make the partition Sythem larger with Morph?
Posted on 1-Apr-2020 22:35:14
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 9-Aug-2019
Posts: 124
From: Belgium, LImburg, Bilzen

@NutsAboutAmiga
Sorry that's not what I mean.
I have Morphos on a HD of 250GIG and System (where Morphos is on) is only 2 GIG,
the rest is "work" and is very large.
So without formatting I would like to make the partition larger so that I get more space on System and less on the work partition

_________________
Amiga 500+,
Pi 3b+ and Amiga os 3.10
Amikit XE usb Stick
Powerbook 17" and MorphOS 3.13
PowerMac G5 2.3 MP and MorphOS 3.13
Sam 460 with Amiga os 4.1 and checkmate 1500
www.sitedesign.be

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Can I make the partition Sythem larger with Morph?
Posted on 1-Apr-2020 22:39:09
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11331
From: Norway

@dirkzwager

Im pretty sure you cant resize partitions, you need to back it up, do quick format, and copy the files back, you should do that while booted from a live CD.

(only backup files to a Amiga Filesystem PFS/SFS whatever, not FAT, file attributes can get lost. Backing up soft links does work so well, luckily there should be any.)

Backing up system files to CD, can result in files being write protected, this can cause some real problems. Do not compress the files, LZX/LHA do not support large files.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Apr-2020 at 10:45 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Apr-2020 at 10:43 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dirkzwager 
Re: Can I make the partition Sythem larger with Morph?
Posted on 1-Apr-2020 23:13:34
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 9-Aug-2019
Posts: 124
From: Belgium, LImburg, Bilzen

@NutsAboutAmiga

i get the anser at our friends of Morphzone. from KennyR.

No, partitions cannot be resized on the fly on AmigaOS and MorphOS.

_________________
Amiga 500+,
Pi 3b+ and Amiga os 3.10
Amikit XE usb Stick
Powerbook 17" and MorphOS 3.13
PowerMac G5 2.3 MP and MorphOS 3.13
Sam 460 with Amiga os 4.1 and checkmate 1500
www.sitedesign.be

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle