Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6029 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
58 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Karlos

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Karlos:  19 secs ago
 Deniil715:  38 mins ago
 zipper:  43 mins ago
 michalsc:  1 hr 1 min ago
 Futaura:  1 hr 11 mins ago
 pavlor:  1 hr 38 mins ago
 AndreasM:  2 hrs 38 mins ago
 VooDoo:  2 hrs 58 mins ago
 Trixie:  3 hrs 4 mins ago
 BigD:  3 hrs 27 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )
Poll : Would you love a classic 680x0 Multicore Amiga!
Yes, of Course!
No! Never!
I want a Quantum Computer!
I want Pancackes!
 
PosterThread
QBit 
Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 11:38:46
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

I dream of expanding WinUAE to Multicore 680x0 support and adapting Classic Amiga OS to Multicore support!

And I dream of a emulated 32 channel 16 Bit Paula!
And emulated 3D RTG!

Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 11:46 AM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 11:40 AM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 11:39 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DiscreetFX 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 12:23:33
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Feb-2003
Posts: 2135
From: Chicago, IL

@QBit

Have you considered taking a bite out of your dreams and getting a Vampire V4?

_________________
Sent from my Quantum Computer.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 12:33:59
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

@DiscreetFX

I can`t afford a Vampire! Except of that.. my Dream is possible!

Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 12:34 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kriz 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 12:35:16
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2005
Posts: 211
From: No (R) Way

@QBit

And what applications would need this ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 12:51:20
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

@kriz

There could be new Apllications be programmed and the Classic Amiga revived!

At least a proof of Concept would be cool!

Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 12:52 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
IridiumFX 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 14:57:46
#6 ]
Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2017
Posts: 76
From: London, UK

@QBit
so ... a WinUAE only dream ? And what for ? WinUAE is an Amiga Emulator, not a generic "let's add random feature X" app, right ?

And an actual Amiga cannot be multicore because the chipset would lockup the bus at the first TAS/CAS instruction, which you surely remember are not correctly detected/decoded/handled and clearly understand you get no multicore systems without.

On top of that, having 2 68060s in a system, does not imply the OS will be able to schedule any work for them. If you plan for an add-on card to be handled as a "device", to run its own os and respond to a command queue ... go for it. Otherwise, wrong dream my friend. This is not gonna happen. Not on "classic" Amiga OS

Quote:

QBit wrote:
I dream of expanding WinUAE to Multicore 680x0 support and adapting Classic Amiga OS to Multicore support!

And I dream of a emulated 32 channel 16 Bit Paula!
And emulated 3D RTG!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 15:07:10
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

@IridiumFX



In Form of Software everything is possible. Toni Wilen allready managed to code a more than 4 channels Paula chip!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMrh7pCrTuo

WinUAE allready has the better than the real thing philosophy!

Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 03:13 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 15:25:54
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10548
From: Greensborough, Australia

@QBit

Quote:
I dream of expanding WinUAE to Multicore 680x0 support and adapting Classic Amiga OS to Multicore support!


Your subject says one thing but your body says another.

Aside from emulating a machime that doesn't exist in hardware form how will you solve the OS Forbid() problem?

Quote:
And I dream of a emulated 32 channel 16 Bit Paula!


Wouldn't it be easier to avoid emulation and just use a 32 channel mixer?

Quote:
And emulated 3D RTG!


Hasn't WinUAE caught up with the 90's Amiga yet?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 15:43:15
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

@Hypex
The PC was comletely limited crap.. but it was developed to be like and better than an Amiga.. in Software there are Solutions possible. if I can run M$DOS on a core i9 then it is also somehow Possible to create an Software emulated UBER Amiga!
I am not a Programmer.. Steve Jobs said,, the Mac will never have Colors,, you say there will never be a Muti Core Amiga,, time willl tell With AI Computers and bored future Coders. or Demosceners..and Copyright obsoleteness.. maybe many things could be possible!

It`s just like the Border Scrollers on the C64.. with Computers everything is possible!
I even go further in Software ther could be even an 64 Bit Amiga created!

Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 03:59 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 03:59 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 03:54 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 03:51 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 03:44 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 16:00:08
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 982
From: Unknown

@QBit

So what you are saying is that pretty much everyone working with amiga like operating systems and saying that it can't be done without breaking compability are wrong since you know it can be done?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 16:04:46
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

@Rose

Look at my youtube Video.. what I show there is impossible on a real Amiga!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 16:10:52
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 982
From: Unknown

@QBit



You clearly have no clue what you are talking about.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 16:25:08
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

@Rose

Steve Jobs had no Clue about Hardware Development and was no Coder he just had Computer wishes!

I bet if I was Billionaire and would pay a team it would even be easy to realize my Idea!

If I gave Toni Wilen 10 Million $ and I would buy Hyperion and Cloanto I bet it would be feasable!
I want an emulated classic UBER Amiga with an UBER Amiga OS 3.x!
Amiga RESEARCH!

That*s it nothing less and nothing more, and it is my decision what I want, others want to kill people!

Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:48 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:47 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:47 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:46 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:45 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:35 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:33 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:29 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:29 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:28 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 16:45:06
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12101
From: Norway

@QBit

Its not bug in WinUAE it’s a limitation of the Amiga hardware it emulates,
and it show you why Paula and CIAA/CIAB timer’s suck !!!!

When your using Paula directly as you show, there is no sound mixing,
On the other hand if used AHI, there is sound mixing in software, but you need fast CPU. but programs shown in the video don’t support AHI, so it does help you.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:51 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:50 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 16:51:26
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga



In my Video the emulated Amiga plays more than 4 channels anyway at the same Time!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 16:53:41
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12101
From: Norway

@QBit

That’s because the program has a internal sound mixer in SW, the OS does not provide that, all PT / Octamed player are hardcode to fixed channels.

only if you have audo program that use AHI, will the AHI mix the sounds for you.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:56 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:55 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2022 at 04:54 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 16:57:58
#17 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

Many people believe in things that don*t exist!

Some People believe in Jesus, some in Mohammed, some in Buddha and I believe in the UBER Amiga with UBER Amiga OS! And that could be manifested with enough Money!

Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 05:02 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 13-Jan-2022 at 05:00 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 17:01:58
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12101
From: Norway

@QBit

Quote:
I believe in the UBER Amiga with UBER Amiga OS!


Your not alone, I'm using it every day, tis called AmigaONE and AmigaOS4.1.
all music programs must support AHI, becouse Paula is gone

You can emulate AmigaOS4.1 in WinUAE, but you need the programs to support AHI, there is no why around that...

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2022 at 05:05 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2022 at 05:04 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2022 at 05:04 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 17:05:43
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 124
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

I am not against AmigaOne and AmigaOS 4..1 getting Multicore and 64 Bit! I am for diversity!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Classic Amiga 680x0 Multicore!
Posted on 13-Jan-2022 17:17:27
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12101
From: Norway

@QBit

And I’m only saying you need AHI

The problem with development community is half of the community want take over the hardware, the other half has decompile and fix bugs done by first group of developers.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2022 at 05:31 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle