Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6076 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
32 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 bison:  6 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  14 mins ago
 QBit:  21 mins ago
 Karlos:  36 mins ago
 Tuxedo:  46 mins ago
 Rob:  50 mins ago
 zipper:  2 hrs 18 mins ago
 kolla:  2 hrs 50 mins ago
 BigD:  2 hrs 58 mins ago
 newlight:  3 hrs 2 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  MorphOS Software
      /  Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
newlight 
Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 7-Jun-2022 23:49:54
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

Hi

I have a problem about booting Morphos.The question is that I used as usually but after trying to close some apps (probably Iris and Wayfarer) the system gets stuck as it only boots until a white screen and the butterfly and the Ambient word on the top left corner.

If someone can help me I will be very grateful as I was only trying to secure my gmail accounts.

Is very important because an Amiga 1200 repaired and the repair too of the ACA 500 for my Amiga 500 awaits me.

Thanks

Last edited by newlight on 07-Jun-2022 at 11:51 PM.

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TRIPOS 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 8-Jun-2022 7:50:59
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2014
Posts: 1182
From: Unknown

Last edited by TRIPOS on 22-Jun-2022 at 01:01 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jPV 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 8-Jun-2022 10:39:53
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Apr-2005
Posts: 751
From: .fi

@newlight

Quote:

newlight wrote:
it only boots until a white screen and the butterfly and the Ambient word on the top left corner.

Did you happen to install any new screenbar modules before this started to happen? It usually stucks at that point if you have broken 3rd party screenbar modules installed.

If you have 3rd party screenbar modules installed, try to boot from the installation media or boot without startup-sequence, and move the SYS:Classes/Screenbar directory, or its contents, elsewhere to try without them being loaded at startup.

_________________
- The wiki based MorphOS Library - Your starting point for MorphOS
- Software made by jPV^RNO

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 8-Jun-2022 13:20:51
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@TRIPOS

Yeah I know that already.I don't have a USB drive or CD with Morphos installed.

I don't know what filesystem I am using,I supposse the native or usual in Morphos.

The AmigaOne X5000 that I am using came with AmigaOS4.1 FE Update 2 installed,Morphos and Fienix.

Really don't know why now Morphos doesn't boot.

And I need really.

Thanks

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 8-Jun-2022 13:26:29
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@jPV

No I did not happen to install any new screenbar modules.

Any ideas?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 8-Jun-2022 18:37:08
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@jPV&all

OK I managed to boot 1 time on 3 or 4 attempts and when I tried to open Wayfarer
it foesn't open.And when I tried to close windows to shut down the same.I have Iris and the splash screen of Wayfarer open.

I don't know what to think but there must be a solution

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jacadcaps 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 8-Jun-2022 18:44:08
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2007
Posts: 197
From: Canada

@newlight

It looks like the file system is corrupt. You really need to boot from the USB install media and run SFSDoctor on the system partition.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 8-Jun-2022 23:21:39
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@jacadcaps

I don't have Morphos on any of my USB sticks.

Any more ideas?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MEGA_RJ_MICAL 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 8-Jun-2022 23:51:56
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2019
Posts: 845
From: AMIGAWORLD.NET WAS ORIGINALLY FOUNDED BY DAVID DOYLE

This is going to take a long, long time, my friends.









































/mega!

_________________
I HAVE ABS OF STEEL
--
CAN YOU SEE ME? CAN YOU HEAR ME? OK FOR WORK

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
t0lkien 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 9-Jun-2022 5:35:07
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Sep-2004
Posts: 145
From: SPAIN

@newlight

Its not hard to copy morphos to a usb. Make a backup of the usb and try it. Its easy.
How have you installed MorphOS in that machine?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jPV 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 9-Jun-2022 8:35:16
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Apr-2005
Posts: 751
From: .fi

@newlight

Maybe it's a similar case to this?

If you can get it to boot (you can also try to do a minimal boot by pressing the shift key during the boot to get into the early startup menu and select "boot without startup-sequence" there), check with the Info command that is the partition using FFS or SFS filesystem, or something else?

It might be that certain retailer has provided pre-installed systems with FFS, which then might not bear with amount of data modern browsers etc write (unless you have restricted the writes somehow). You really should use SFS or PFS on MorphOS.

Or there's some conflict with OS4 and MorphOS on the same machine (especially on X5000?) that breaks filesystems. It never got solved for sure what happened in the linked thread... but it would be highly unlikely something would change the filesystem info to something completely different...

_________________
- The wiki based MorphOS Library - Your starting point for MorphOS
- Software made by jPV^RNO

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 10-Jun-2022 18:16:58
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@t0lkien

They installed for me last summer Amedia France where I bought my AmigaOne X5000 on October/November 2016 and received on February 2017 with 3 OSes: AmigaOS 4.1 FE Update 2,Morphos and Fienix.

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
t0lkien 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 10-Jun-2022 19:00:09
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Sep-2004
Posts: 145
From: SPAIN

@newlight

Man! MorphOS in 2017 was 3.9 and we are at 3.17!

The initial public release for Wayfarer needs MorphOS 3.14!!

You really need to update the system cos a lot of things have been changed.

Last edited by t0lkien on 10-Jun-2022 at 07:42 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 11-Jun-2022 13:26:06
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@t0lkien

No don'e get confused.The year I get received my AmigaOne X5000 as new was 2017.And my Morphos is not 3.9 instead is 3.15.

Hope clears the situation.

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 11-Jun-2022 13:45:31
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@t0lkien

Now I haveI tried 3 times before.First it shows the Ambient word and the butterfly and the pointer was frozen,second same but with the pointer usable and third it booted but this time when I ran Iris and Wayfarer it didn't open,just 2 splash screens.And when I tried to shutdown with the menu no luck neither.

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jose 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 12-Jun-2022 4:26:48
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 967
From: Unknown

@newlight

Are the other Oses running Ok ?

_________________

JosÚ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TRIPOS 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 12-Jun-2022 7:05:47
#17 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2014
Posts: 1182
From: Unknown

Last edited by TRIPOS on 22-Jun-2022 at 01:00 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 12-Jun-2022 11:42:38
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Jose

Yes they are running fine

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 12-Jun-2022 11:44:04
#19 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@TRIPOS

What probable cause are you talking? What advice?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TRIPOS 
Re: Morphos on AmigaOne X5000 stopped booting
Posted on 12-Jun-2022 14:19:05
#20 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2014
Posts: 1182
From: Unknown

Last edited by TRIPOS on 22-Jun-2022 at 01:00 AM.
Last edited by TRIPOS on 13-Jun-2022 at 05:52 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle