Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6047 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
68 crawler(s) on-line.
 28 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 V8

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 V8:  47 secs ago
 QBit:  30 mins ago
 Tiw1:  39 mins ago
 utukku:  45 mins ago
 geen_naam:  45 mins ago
 SHADES:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 Karlos:  1 hr 42 mins ago
 michalsc:  2 hrs 26 mins ago
 billt:  2 hrs 30 mins ago
 terminills:  2 hrs 50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
BigD 
Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 8-Dec-2022 20:36:15
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6762
From: UK

I think I know the answer to this question but I have been thinking about this a lot and I can't really believe the situation. Here's what I gather:

Because Hyperion can't distribute AmigaOS digitally due to the court case they distribute the multiple versions of Roms for different Classic Amigas and the OS itself on a CD-Rom. However, in their infinite wisdom the developers have (as per Workbench3.1) formatted the OS itself to be set up to install from floppy disks in 2022! Therefore, it is impossible to actually use the CD-Rom on a SCSI/IDE Amiga CD drive to install the OS directly as per OS3.5/OS3.9 (the OSes it is supposed to be replacing).

The options are as I understand it:

1) Buy a set of floppy disks/a preinstalled CF card in addition to the licensed CD in order to install the OS without using the CD other than for the serial number on the sticker on the cellophane.
2) Unpack the disk images from the CD to your own floppy disks to install from them.
3) Use a GoTek drive to use the disk images copied to a USB stick (on a PC/Mac) thereby emulating the install disks to install from the USB!

Is this REALLY how it's set up? This is surely a retrograde step? Why can't there also be an option to install directly from the CD?

Last edited by BigD on 08-Dec-2022 at 08:37 PM.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SHADES 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 8-Dec-2022 20:38:28
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Nov-2003
Posts: 827
From: Melbourne

@BigD

I noticed this too!
Tried getting in on via WinUAE and had to stuff around so much, Just went back to 3.9.
Just CBF

_________________
It's not the question that's the problem, it's the problem that's the question.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 8-Dec-2022 21:24:16
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6762
From: UK

@SHADES

Thanks! So I'm right then! What a carry on! One step forward and two steps back = the crazy world of Amiga!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Steady 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 1:00:00
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Nov-2004
Posts: 211
From: Melbourne, OZ

@BigD

Not so. The OS can be installed from the CD and you don't need floppy disks if you already have a means of booting.

The OS is supplied on the CD in adf format so that floppy disks can be used if necessary, otherwise following the setup process will automatically mount and unmount the virtual adf floppies and perform the install straight from the CD. So, yes, it is referring to the adf files but how is that different from Windows .cab files for instance?

The installation is still a smooth process. You just see floppy disks appear and disappears on your workbench as it progresses ... no big deal and provides the most flexibility if physical floppies are needed for some reason (e.g. no access to CD ROM on the target machine).

It is supposed to support base models, after all.

Last edited by Steady on 09-Dec-2022 at 01:02 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 3:33:27
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10883
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Steady

I wonder then why not just include all the files direct so the installer doesn't need to hack around mounting images? It would have taken time to modify the installer to do that. It's not like the CDROM lacks space. Even a mini CDROM should fit all the files. They've got so much data to burn that redundant duplicated data in different binaries becomes a moot point. Heck, they could even have packed the whole OS into a set of LhA archives, just like Amiga CDROM software did 25 years ago.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Steady 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 4:50:45
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Nov-2004
Posts: 211
From: Melbourne, OZ

@Hypex

To do that would mean twice the installation process to create, test, debug and support. Unfortunately resources are not infinite.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SHADES 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 4:52:44
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Nov-2003
Posts: 827
From: Melbourne

@Steady

I must have bummed up the .iso creation then.
I'll try mount the original.

_________________
It's not the question that's the problem, it's the problem that's the question.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 9:00:22
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10883
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Steady

They've already got it twice now then. The floppy disk installer. And the CDROM installer that needs to mount the images. I don't see how they could merge those into one installer. But I've never seen the CDROM installer.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 9:25:25
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 2373
From: Trondheim, Norway

This is why trackfile.device and DAControl was made in the first place, and it works just great. The installer script figures out that it is started from CD and just mounts/unmounts the disk images as they are needed. I don’t grasp how people manage to struggle with this - a lot of other aspects with 3.2 I do find rather dumb, but not this.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 12:02:08
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6762
From: UK

@Steady

Quote:
The OS is supplied on the CD in adf format so that floppy disks can be used if necessary, otherwise following the setup process will automatically mount and unmount the virtual adf floppies and perform the install straight from the CD.


So you click install OS3.2 icon on the CD after booting from it and it sorts out all the mounting and unmounting of the ADFs for you with just some input as per 'Expert User' type "Do you want to install Glow Icons?" type questions? Have I understood you correctly?

Can you upgrade from Workbench 3.0 if you select that partition?

Last edited by BigD on 09-Dec-2022 at 12:03 PM.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 12:22:27
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6762
From: UK

@Thread

Seems like there's another option:

From Amitopia

Quote:
Huge Amiga News! You can now copy all of the AmigaOS 3.2 content to a Hard Drive with an Amiga filesystem on and AmigaOS 3.2 will boot after doing so. It will install then.

The AmigaOS 3.2 CD-ROM content can be copied “as is” to an Amiga formatted hard drive and booted right away for installation thanks to the “Amiga Preinstallation Environment” (AmigaPE).

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PixelHi 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 13:55:24
#12 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Aug-2022
Posts: 37
From: Unknown

@BigD

I used Gotek to boot from adf and used CR Rom to install everything else.

I don't care how instalation files are organized. They most likely did it so one cd contains files that can be used as real floppies, adf, or cd rom install. They addressed basically every category of users. Simple and effective.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 14:14:09
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6762
From: UK

@PixelHi

So once you booted from the install disk adf you were able to install everything else from the CD? So without a GoTek I could copy just the install disk to a real floppy and boot off that while attempting to update Workbench 3.0 or do a fresh install if that doesn't work?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 15:49:02
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10883
From: Greensborough, Australia

@BigD

That's a funny comment. Copy to a hard drive with Amiga file system so it will boot? How can you not use an Amiga file system on an Amiga?

I don't know how people are using their Amigas these days but if you don't have an Amiga file system it won't boot from HDD. Do people put in a FAT formatted drive so they can see the nice looking insert disk screen? Except in 3.2 since they removed it.

Then again, for years now people have been copying Amiga files to FAT formatted drives. And extracting LhA archives on a PC. Then complaining it breaks on their Amiga or doesn't work on OS4. What is wrong with Amiga people? How can they not know the basics of how AmigaOS works!?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 18:20:10
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6762
From: UK

@Thread

Quote:

BigD wrote:
@PixelHi

So once you booted from the install disk adf you were able to install everything else from the CD? So without a GoTek I could copy just the install disk to a real floppy and boot off that while attempting to update Workbench 3.0 or do a fresh install if that doesn't work?


So is this the case? Other than giving money to Ben Hermans I'd like to have a go of this OS!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PixelHi 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 18:54:29
#16 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Aug-2022
Posts: 37
From: Unknown

@BigD

Yes, just assigned CD to correct device # and it installed OS 3.2.

Yes, just use install disc. I wish they would supply this as a actual floppy... but... we need to adopt to new hardware 😉

I did fresh install.

Last edited by PixelHi on 09-Dec-2022 at 06:55 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tpod 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 18:55:39
#17 ]
Member
Joined: 16-Oct-2009
Posts: 87
From: UK

@BigD

It really is very simple & they provide a nice straightforward Installation Booklet. You don't need any floppies involved if you are booting from an Amiga with a working CDROM drive ...by that I mean the unit number & device name are correctly set for CDROM mount file in your Devs/DOSDrivers draw so you can currently actually use your CDROM drive!

You do need a minimum of 3.1 ROM & if your not doing a fresh install you need a minimum of OS3.1 (not 3.0) or above installed on the drive you want to update.

I think some folks forget about mount files which is understandable if there a newbie or they haven't done an installation in donkeys years.

_________________
A1200+Mediator+Voodoo3+040+130mbRAM+0S3.9
A2000+Supra28mhz+9mbRAM+OS3.2, CD32 & WinUAE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 19:18:05
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6762
From: UK

@Tpod & PixelHi

Thanks both! Very helpful.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 21:20:04
#19 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1999
From: Canada

@BigD

Yes, everything can be done from the CD.

In my case, I use E-UAE on my OS4 system. My OS3.1 Workbench "partition" was actually a drawer on my OS4 hard drive, so I didn't want to format anything. I updated my kickstart rom file with one supplied on the CD, booted into OS3.1 and installed AmigaOS 3.2 from the AmigaOS 3.2 CD. Install was easy, no manual swapping of adf files or floppies.


redfox

Last edited by redfox on 09-Dec-2022 at 09:22 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Can you install AmigaOS 3.2 direct from the CD-Rom?
Posted on 9-Dec-2022 22:09:29
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6762
From: UK

@redfox

Great! I'm guessing compatibility is great with both 3.1 and 3.9 and even AmiDock can be coaxed to run from OS3.9? Does TurboPrint 7.6 work OK?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle