Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5731 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
46 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 PhantomInterrogative

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 PhantomInterrogative:  2 mins ago
 Trixie:  16 mins ago
 terminills:  18 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  33 mins ago
 jacknife:  36 mins ago
 LarsB:  38 mins ago
 Jasper:  42 mins ago
 Everblue:  42 mins ago
 Serpi:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 towo2099:  1 hr 39 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
elwood 
Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 7:17:49
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 3422
From: Lyon, France

Hi,

As I still find people that doesn't fully understand what the fix does, I give you my experience here.
I got my A1 fixed 2 weeks ago by Amiga Center in France.

Since then, I can plug and unplug my USB peripherals as many time as I want without any detection problem (on all USB ports). So USB is working 100%.

It is known already but I'll say it again: the fix is done on both side of the motherboard. Some lines are routed differently (adding a wire and scratching a line) and some capacitors (I hope it's the right name) are moved.
No additional chip is added i.e. the mobo is not heavyly changed.

Edit:
This doesn't change anything about doing DMA. The IDE driver needs to do it and in OS4, it works !

Last edited by elwood on 26-Apr-2006 at 09:02 PM.
Last edited by elwood on 26-Apr-2006 at 08:56 PM.
Last edited by elwood on 26-Apr-2006 at 08:55 PM.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci
Sam460 1.10 Ghz
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Amiga Translator Organisation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:11:03
# ]

0
0

@elwood

Hi, great report of your working hardfix here! Very interesting to hear

Unfortunately, my A1XE mobo is dead, especially when i tried to overclock it and messed with the voltage, which i shouldn't have done. Anyway, if it still was alive, i would have done the hardfix. In Norway, there is a man called Stefan Burstrôm who has specialisted himself into providing hardfix for the A1XE, so i could have got the fix and for better DMA-performance to the harddrive, a Sillicon Image controller like the Sii0680 i have, gives even faster and better performance, even that now your USB and Ethernet also are working 100% correctly..

In the meantime, i will order the MicroA1-C, which seems to be an already "fixed" AmigaOne with 100% working UDMA, Ethernet and USB, but being a sexy Mini-ITX motherboard with inbuilt graphic and sound chip I'm looking forward to that

 
     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:15:25
#3 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@Helgis

You should be working as the PR man for Eyetech. Helgis Ballmer!

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:19:10
# ]

0
0

@Coder

Thank you so much for saying that, my dear friend That's very nice of you

 
     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:21:57
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1965
From: Taranto, Italy

@elwood

meeeeee toooooooooooo!!

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:38:04
# ]

0
0

@elwood

Gees, thank you so much for the nice words, boys and girls! I love you all! You are just great!

 
     Report this post  
Zardoz 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:40:56
#7 ]
Team Member
Joined: 13-Mar-2003
Posts: 4261
From: Unknown

@Helgis

You should SERIOUSLY become a marketing person. Lot's of excitement and big and nice words about stuff you know nothing about, you qualify 100%!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gregthecanuck 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:42:31
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2003
Posts: 844
From: Vancouver, Canada

@elwood

Quote:

I plugged my HD on the VIA internal IDE port and started Debian with the very first kernel 2.4.19 (the one that showed the best the DMA problem). I executed a md5sum on a 700MB file in a loop. I did the same on the same file, on 4 sessions.
All checksum were the same so DMA is working 100%.


OK, now I am confused (which isn't hard).

I thought it was generally acknowledged that there was a cache coherency issue with the A1 and Linux? Are you saying this doesn't appear to be the case?? You _did_ have DMA enabled for your Linux install, correct?


Thanks

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:43:51
# ]

0
0

@AMiGR

Well, i DO know a lot of the MicroA1-C now and such stuffs, but yes i could have the potential to become a marketing leader or something. Would be cool!

 
     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:49:46
# ]

0
0

@gregthecanuck

Quote:
OK, now I am confused (which isn't hard).


He got the hardfix, my friend. That's why his USB, DMA/Ethernet are working 100% now on his A1XE mobo

 
     Report this post  
Frags 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:50:44
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Nov-2004
Posts: 971
From: East-Midlands (Nottingham) UK

@Helgis

You ought to get a sandwich board that says "The End Of Windows Is Nigh", then you could stand in town preaching about Amigas :o)

_________________
Fraggle

- insert profound text here -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:51:05
#12 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@Helgis

Quote:
Well, i DO know a lot of the MicroA1-C now and such stuffs, but yes i could have the potential to become a marketing leader or something. Would be cool!


Just remember people, you heard it first here in AW!

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gopal 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:53:49
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Apr-2003
Posts: 196
From: Norway

@Helgis

Quote:
In Norway, there is a man called Stefan Burstrôm


He is not Norwegian, nor does he live here. He lives in Lund, Sweden. He did attend Amitron in april (not the fix for pegasos boards, the month).

Quote:
who has specialisted himself into providing hardfix for the A1XE


Afaik he "found" the fix. but I don´t think he´s waiting for people to send him their A1.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:56:47
# ]

0
0

@Coder

Coder, you're simply the MAN and the MYTH! We salute you! Keep up the good mood, my friend! This is a very happy day, as most of the days are so-called good Amiga-days

 
     Report this post  
elwood 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 8:58:04
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 3422
From: Lyon, France

@gregthecanuck

Quote:
You _did_ have DMA enabled for your Linux install

It was disable before I had the fix. I enabled it again to do this test.

I don't know about cache coherency but I know that what didn't work before (the md5sum loop test) works now.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci
Sam460 1.10 Ghz
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Amiga Translator Organisation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 9:00:01
# ]

0
0

@Gopal

Ok, i got this thing about Stefan Burstrôm a bit wrong. I could assign you as my personal secretary to correct my "bugs"

 
     Report this post  
Varthall 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 9:25:11
#17 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Feb-2004
Posts: 1552
From: Up Rough

@elwood

Quote:

I plugged my HD on the VIA internal IDE port and started Debian with the very first kernel 2.4.19 (the one that showed the best the DMA problem). I executed a md5sum on a 700MB file in a loop. I did the same on the same file, on 4 sessions.
All checksum were the same so DMA is working 100%.


I've always heard that the DMA problem under Linux is due to the missing cache
coherency of the Articia chipset, I guess that's something that couldn't be
fixed with a external hardware fix. Have you copied again the same file before
issuing the md5 checksum?

Varthall

_________________
AmigaOne XE - AmigaOS 4.1 - Freescale 7457 1GHz - 1GB ram
MPlayer for OS4: https://sourceforge.net/projects/mplayer-amigaos/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
elwood 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 9:27:35
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 3422
From: Lyon, France

@Varthall

Not copied. I only did the md5sum on it. As it is read each time md5sum is running, if something was wrong, the checksum should be wrong, correct?

Quote:
the DMA problem under Linux is due to the missing cache of the Articia chipset

Well in this case, the OS4 drivers does it so the result is that it works so it's ok for me. The Debian driver doesn't do it? Fine, but personally I don't care.

Last edited by elwood on 03-Jun-2005 at 09:33 AM.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci
Sam460 1.10 Ghz
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Amiga Translator Organisation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zardoz 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 9:32:26
#19 ]
Team Member
Joined: 13-Mar-2003
Posts: 4261
From: Unknown

@Varthall

The cache coherency can be "fixed" with an external hardware fix, that's how it's done on the Peg1 and ?A1. Now, adding the ?A1 fix to an XE would be next to impossible, without going for an April-like chip-on-pcb solution, I guess.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Varthall 
Re: Fixed A1: DMA and USB working 100%
Posted on 3-Jun-2005 9:33:45
#20 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Feb-2004
Posts: 1552
From: Up Rough

@elwood

Not sure about this, but I guess that the bug would show up (file copy aborted or corrupted files) only when large files are being transferred between devices. Try copying the file from a partition to another, or better, from a CD to hard drive, and try the md5 check after every copy on the destination partition.

Varthall

_________________
AmigaOne XE - AmigaOS 4.1 - Freescale 7457 1GHz - 1GB ram
MPlayer for OS4: https://sourceforge.net/projects/mplayer-amigaos/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle