Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5823 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
49 crawler(s) on-line.
 26 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 towo2099

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 towo2099:  46 secs ago
 _Steve_:  5 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  11 mins ago
 zipper:  28 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  30 mins ago
 emeck:  41 mins ago
 Trekiej:  45 mins ago
 Rob:  47 mins ago
 kamelito:  47 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  58 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Emulation
      /  Winuae: recording output to video
Register To Post

PosterThread
z5 
Winuae: recording output to video
Posted on 3-Jul-2007 19:49:06
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2003
Posts: 268
From: Belgium

Has anyone managed to record the output from winuae to video (meaning divx or whatever on harddisk)? Suppose i want to run a demo on Winuae and capture it on harddisk.

There is something in the "output" section of winuae, including selection of the codec and a record to avi enable button, but i never managed to make it work. It seems rather buggy or i'm not doing it correctly.

I would appreciate it if anybody who managed to record something, could write a little bit about "how to" and the settings.

Thanks a lot!

_________________
A.miga D.emoscene A.rchive

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gobgob 
Re: Winuae: recording output to video
Posted on 3-Jul-2007 20:08:25
#2 ]
Member
Joined: 1-Aug-2006
Posts: 38
From: France

@z5

I have recorded many demos with Winuae without problems.
I'm currently at work, i try to tell you more later.
In the meantime, follow this links

tutorial 1

Tutorial 2

_________________
Amiga demos on Youtube - Icaros native/Linux Gentoo/Haiku/Winxp/Win7 user.
My pictures (no Amiga related)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Foody 
Re: Winuae: recording output to video
Posted on 3-Jul-2007 20:09:21
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Sep-2003
Posts: 1467
From: Canada

@z5

Funny thing I have the exact same problem! When I confront it (with many other bugs that WinUAE seem to sprout lately) to the author of WinUAE he accused my system for been faulty when it comes to bad codec. I also told him when I quite WinUAE it reside still in memory and causes my computer to refuse to run any other application until I force close it. There is also another bugy problem, it seems when I set the custom chipset to any less than AGA any virtual floppy disk will be corrupted, say I set the custom chipset to either ECS or OCS then the disk is corrupted with bad sector. That means the custom chipset must always be AGA in order for any disk to work correctly, that makes no sense at all. How would Amiga 500 able to run a single game if it's original disk refuses to work until an AGA custom chipset sprout to life when the very existence of AGA was not there until Commodore decide to engineer an Amiga 1200/4000 with AGA custom chipset?

Last edited by Foody on 03-Jul-2007 at 08:10 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
z5 
Re: Winuae: recording output to video
Posted on 3-Jul-2007 20:24:24
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2003
Posts: 268
From: Belgium

@gobgob

Thanks for the help. However, i'm still getting the "AVIStreamWrite() FAILED" error.

_________________
A.miga D.emoscene A.rchive

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gobgob 
Re: Winuae: recording output to video
Posted on 3-Jul-2007 20:38:51
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 1-Aug-2006
Posts: 38
From: France

@z5

It seem to be a codec problem. Are you using a divx codec ?
Try with an xvid codec, or better with the tscc codec.

_________________
Amiga demos on Youtube - Icaros native/Linux Gentoo/Haiku/Winxp/Win7 user.
My pictures (no Amiga related)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_Steve_ 
Re: Winuae: recording output to video
Posted on 3-Jul-2007 20:47:33
#6 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Oct-2002
Posts: 6747
From: UK

@z5

Go to the Output settings.

Make sure you select an audio codec (by default you can only select PCM 48000Hz at 8 or 16 bit, and select a video codec (I originally tried with DivX, but it fails with an error code 80044066 every time), but I had no problems using the CinePak or 3rd party CamStudio lossless codecs.

Make sure to enable the button "AVI output Enabled" as well.

By default in 1.4.2.0, the disable audio while recording is enabled (it's also ghosted so you cannot disable this option). Don't forget to select a drive to save your output to, then hit start.

I have noticed a pretty large performance hit whilst recording though, but the output was generated and did work, even if the resulting file was a bit large (78MB for around 30 seconds).

_________________
Test sig

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
z5 
Re: Winuae: recording output to video
Posted on 3-Jul-2007 20:54:23
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2003
Posts: 268
From: Belgium

@gobgob

Works now! Thanks a lot!

Any tips on the best settings for smoothest video (and acceptable file size) would be appreciated.

@_Steve_:

Thanks. I too noticed poor performance when recording. Maybe my pc isn't up to the task (amd 2.4 or so Ghz) or maybe some tweaking with the settings or a different codec.

Last edited by z5 on 03-Jul-2007 at 09:10 PM.

_________________
A.miga D.emoscene A.rchive

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ancalimon 
Re: Winuae: recording output to video
Posted on 3-Jul-2007 21:09:56
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2004
Posts: 428
From: Istanbul

@z5
Actualy the only way I can capture video is to select the lossless video codec and pcm sound. than I convert the huge file to wmc using movieshop.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gobgob 
Re: Winuae: recording output to video
Posted on 4-Jul-2007 0:18:50
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 1-Aug-2006
Posts: 38
From: France

@z5

(Sorry for my bad english)

I have a pentium 3.80ghz 2go ram and an external firewire hardrive for the recording.
It seem your computer is good for the task, but try to respects a few things.

for the capture, i use the windowed mode, don't try to encode with a 720x568 resolution, it's too high, i use mostly a 640x512 resolution.
Check the centering horizontal and vertical and line mode "double".

In the sound section:
check "enabled 100% accurate"
frequency 44100

in the output section
Audio PCM 44.100khz, 16 bits, Stereo 172kbits/s
(don't try to encode in mp3, it's too slow)
Important : disable audio while recording must be enabled.

For the video, i use the techSmith Capture codec, i configure this one with the slider on "faster compression". I have not tested the camstudio codec, but it's an option.
(I have used the xvid codec before, but it's slower)

In the filter settings enable Null fliter.

Try with this settings please, make a few tests, and be patient


For example, i have encoded the demo "Symbolia" by Access, my goal was to upload
the file on youtube. on youtube, the size of the videos must be 100 mo maximum.
After the capture with winuae, the file was 631mo for 4 minutes 30.

I have encoded this file in mp4 x264 video codec and AAC sound. The result is a 32.1 mo file with a good quality.
I have followed the explanations here
It's not the more easy method but, it's a good one.

If you want to download this video rapidshare link (play with vlc 0.8.6c (not 8.5) - media player classic - Gom player on windows , no problems on Linux unstable with mplayer, totem and vlc)

The result with the destructive youtube compression Symbolia on youtube

Last edited by gobgob on 04-Jul-2007 at 01:11 AM.
Last edited by gobgob on 04-Jul-2007 at 12:55 AM.

_________________
Amiga demos on Youtube - Icaros native/Linux Gentoo/Haiku/Winxp/Win7 user.
My pictures (no Amiga related)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle