Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5697 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
54 crawler(s) on-line.
 5 guest(s) on-line.
 4 member(s) on-line.


terminills, OlafS25, Jasper, more...

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 terminills:  1 min ago
 Jasper:  1 min ago
 OlafS25:  2 mins ago
 BillE:  2 mins ago
 KimmoK:  7 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  7 mins ago
 Ami603:  20 mins ago
 invent:  50 mins ago
 kolla:  53 mins ago
 Templario:  1 hr 7 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga PPC Linux
      /  Kernel 2.6.16.60
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
Geri 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 14-Feb-2008 8:32:21
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2033
From: ST/AT

@firbodi

I know that etch doesn't work very well with 2.6.8. Doesn't the 2.6.16.x kernel work on your machine?

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
firbodi 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 14-Feb-2008 20:58:37
#22 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Sep-2003
Posts: 1046
From: Planet Earth!

@Geri

Hi,

I have tried 2.6.16.60 on my A1-SE. It freezes at the early stages of boot, where the hardware drivers are being loaded. I don't remember where exactly. I didn't try it on my Micro-A1.

I have to give 2.6.16.57 a try. It should be good for upgrading to Etch. Right?

Thanks,
Firbodi

_________________
MicroA1 G3, 512MB RAM, DVD-RW; and A1-SE G3,512MB RAM, CD-RW & DVD-ROM
Avatar: Perspolis, Capital of Achaemenid Empire 500 B.C.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 14-Feb-2008 21:39:18
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5008
From: Sweden

@firbodi

2.6.16.60 works ok here on my A1G4xe. Maybe you have something connected to usb ports. if so please disconnect and try again. Sorry im not following the whole thread so i dont know the whole situation ;)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 15-Feb-2008 10:17:44
#24 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2033
From: ST/AT

@firbodi

Yeah, the SE is a special machine. I guess it freezes while detecting the IDE interfaces? I have to admit that I don't know what's wrong with these machines. At least the kernel should work on the uA1.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fats 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 15-Feb-2008 19:19:01
#25 ]
Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 44
From: Unknown

@Geri

Quote:

Geri wrote:
@Fats

Does it work, if you run the X server without the UseFBDev option in xorg.conf?


No, the same behaviour. After some heavy output the screen gets corrupted.
I don't know if this is important but the gfx card is connected to a SUN monitor I had to patch with a solder to be able to sync. Most of the time the screen is corrupted when I boot the after being turned of some time. It gets OK after a warm reboot and then I never see corruption happening in OS4.

greets,
Staf.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
firbodi 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 15-Feb-2008 22:37:44
#26 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Sep-2003
Posts: 1046
From: Planet Earth!

@Geri

Thanks for your reply.

It is understandable that the SE's are different and you don't have access to one to try to find a workaround.

I just would like to know if 'any' kernels that support Etch are known to work on the SE.

Please let me know, I am eager to upgrade my SE too.

Thanks,
Firbodi

Last edited by firbodi on 15-Feb-2008 at 10:40 PM.

_________________
MicroA1 G3, 512MB RAM, DVD-RW; and A1-SE G3,512MB RAM, CD-RW & DVD-ROM
Avatar: Perspolis, Capital of Achaemenid Empire 500 B.C.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 10:26:41
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2033
From: ST/AT

@firbodi

Quote:
firbodi wrote:
@Geri

Thanks for your reply.

It is understandable that the SE's are different and you don't have access to one to try to find a workaround.

Actually I planned to compile a series of v2.6 kernels to track down this problem, if I ever find the time to do it.

Quote:
I just would like to know if 'any' kernels that support Etch are known to work on the SE.

image said that the v2.6.8 kernel is working on his A1SE. Later kernels seem to have problems with detecting IDE devices on the A1SE.

Quote:
Please let me know, I am eager to upgrade my SE too.

Maybe you can help tracking down this problem by running some test kernels on your SE.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 17-Feb-2008 4:20:17
#28 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri
Quote:

@RacerX
Quote:

@Geri

Now when I try to mount it, it pops up an error window saying "unknown filesystem 'affs' ". But it worked before. I could read/write to it from either Linux or OS4. I just tried it. It still works fine under OS4.

I can access my FFS DOS/3 partition without any problems from Linux (readable and writeable). Maybe you can revalidate the partition with something like turboval? What about the access right of the folders, files, etc? (OS4 ignores them, but Linux not)

(sorry it's taken me so long to reply)

I've just tried it with Debian Lenny with the 2.6.16.49 kernel and it works fine.

If it were a permission issue, it wouldn't say 'unknown filesystem' would it?

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 17-Feb-2008 12:15:47
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2033
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

Quote:
RacerX wrote:
@Geri

I've just tried it with Debian Lenny with the 2.6.16.49 kernel and it works fine.

If it were a permission issue, it wouldn't say 'unknown filesystem' would it?

Yes, I agree. But I wonder what the problem could be. I tried it on my A1 with the 2.6.16.60 and a 2.6.19 kernel. Both can mount the DOS/3 partition without any problem.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: Kernel 2.6.16.60
Posted on 18-Feb-2008 4:48:06
#30 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

That's strange.

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle