Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5671 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
33 crawler(s) on-line.
 39 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 samo79,  eastone

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 samo79:  2 secs ago
 eastone:  5 secs ago
 DiscreetFX:  6 mins ago
 nikosidis:  8 mins ago
 Trixie:  8 mins ago
 OlafS25:  12 mins ago
 Lou:  14 mins ago
 dirkzwager:  15 mins ago
 kolla:  25 mins ago
 Everblue:  26 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
Darrin 
MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 6-Sep-2008 21:23:33
#1 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

Now that the new write enabled core has been released there is a sudden rush of new interest in the Minimig v1.1 boards.

The #1 question seems to be whether a potential customer's existing monitor will work with the PAL core or what model LCD would be a good purchase to go with the Minimig.

I can't find a good source for this information so I went to the Open Circuits Minimig Software Wikki page and added 2 more tables:

1. Tested monitors.
2. Tested SD Cards.

Please help me populate these tables. If you have a Minimig and you use an LCD TV or monitor then either edit the page to include the information or post it here and I'll make regular updates myself. The same goes for the SD Cards just in case there are particular brands that don't work.

For those of you who upgrade to the new cores, please post here and/or update the games list so that we can confirm which games that previously didn't work now function correctly.

Here's the links to the Wiki:

Main Page
http://www.opencircuits.com/Minimig_compatibility

Software:
http://www.opencircuits.com/Minimig_Software_compatibility

SD/MMC Cards:
http://www.opencircuits.com/Minimig_SD-card_compatibility

LCD/Plasma Displays:
http://www.opencircuits.com/Minimig_display_compatibility

Thanks for your help.

MORE NEWS!

Boing4000 as released "Turbo" versions of Yaqube's cores here:

http://asc.dyndns.org/minimig/download/

Simply fit a jumper to the Minimig to have it running with a 68000 at 14MHz!

Last edited by Darrin on 10-Sep-2008 at 04:35 PM.
Last edited by Darrin on 10-Sep-2008 at 04:34 PM.
Last edited by Darrin on 07-Sep-2008 at 02:02 AM.
Last edited by Darrin on 07-Sep-2008 at 02:00 AM.
Last edited by Darrin on 07-Sep-2008 at 12:46 AM.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dwyloc 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATABILITY
Posted on 7-Sep-2008 0:37:46
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Mar-2005
Posts: 1051
From: Glasgow, Scotland

@Darrin

thanks keep up the good work.

I am thinking about purchasing one my self now it possible to save your games.

_________________
Sam440ep 667mhz, 512MB, 120GB 2.5" HD, OS4.1FE
WinUae 3.0.0, OS 3.9, BB3, Catweasel MkIV
Amiga 1200, Blizzard 040/40 (BlizzardPPC 060/200 with SCSI removed at present), mediatorSX pci, Voodoo3, PCI network card os 3.9BB2
4MB Minimig with ARM addon boar

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATABILITY
Posted on 7-Sep-2008 0:39:44
#3 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

OK, thanks to Yaqube for his post on Amiga.org and whoever added the Philips monitor.

We've got 5 tested monitors and 6 SD/MMC cards so far. Remember, if your Minimig worked with Dennis' original 2 cores then they were PAL, if you needed Yaqube's "hacked" core to display a picture then it did't work on PAL but would work with NTSC.

The new core is available for download as either PAL or NTSC, it's your choice. The PIC update is the same for both, so you could have 2 SD cards if you want with a PAL Amiga on one and a NTSC Amiga on the other.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATABILITY
Posted on 7-Sep-2008 0:44:36
#4 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

@Dwyloc

Thanks for the support.

I'm glad I bought one as there's not much hardware we can buy these days to keep supporting the few vendors we have left. It's a great games machine (and my kids love Lemmings, Alien Breed and Cannon Fodder 2 on it - and it keeps them off my A4000!).

I've posted a step-by-step guide to upgrading the PIC over on Amiga.org, however most vendors will be shipping new Minimigs already upgraded (check with them first before ordering).

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY
Posted on 7-Sep-2008 11:31:24
#5 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

Are there any Minimig users on Amigaworld? All my info is coming from Amiga.org...

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 10-Sep-2008 16:38:22
#6 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

14MHz MINIMIG CORE AVAILABLE.

Boing4000 has released "Turbo" versions of Yaqube's cores here:

http://asc.dyndns.org/minimig/download/

Simply fit a jumper to the Minimig to have it running with a 68000 at 14MHz!

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 10-Sep-2008 16:40:38
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5818
From: S.Wales

@Darrin

The turbo mode should be good for playing flight sims.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 10-Sep-2008 17:12:46
#8 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

@Rob

Definately! F19, Wing Commander, X-Com, etc should all benefit greatly. From what I gather, it's 14MHz at the moment, but it's hoped to get it up to 28MHz.

We've also been given a tempting glimpse of the first Minimig v1.1 ARM based expansion card! Designed to replace and fit into the existing PIC socket, it uses USB for firmware updates instead of the serial port and could be the ultimate fast "storage" solution for the Minimig.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kyle 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 10-Sep-2008 18:09:36
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Oct-2006
Posts: 861
From: Livorno, Italy

@Darrin

Hi Darrin, have you received my pm?

Ups, I've seen now the page of lcd monitors compatible with Minimig.
Well, I think I'll buy the Viewsonic monitor that I show you

Last edited by kyle on 10-Sep-2008 at 06:14 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 10-Sep-2008 18:18:27
#10 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

@kyle

Ooop! Sorry, I hadn't noticed your IM.

I checked the specs, and found this:

Quote:
VIDEO INPUT Analog RGB analog (75 ohms, 0.7 Vp-p)
Frequency Fh: 30~82kHz, Fv: 50~85Hz
Sync H/V Separated (TTL)


Which states that the vertical frequency is from 50Hz (PAL) upwards so both the PAL and NTSC cores will work if this data is correct. I'll add that to the list as another good monitor to purchase. Well found!

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kyle 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 10-Sep-2008 18:35:22
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Oct-2006
Posts: 861
From: Livorno, Italy

@Darrin

Well, I'll buy that monitor and I'll say if it works.
On the compatible ldc page there's already a compatible Viewsonic , I think that all monitors by this manufacturer are good for Minimig

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 10-Sep-2008 18:42:36
#12 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

@kyle

I'd still check each Viewsonic though just in case the specs differ.

I checked my usual hardware provider in the USA and that monitor is only $170 over here!

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2509786&CatId=12

It's a great solution for any Amiga user with a Scan Doubler. I might get one (or a larger one) for my A4000.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 10-Sep-2008 18:52:56
#13 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

and here's why (from the product description on Tiger):

Quote:
Viewable Screen Size: 19 inch


Vertical Refresh Rate: 55 - 75 kHz


Horizontal Frequency: 24 ~ 82KHz


So that will only work with NTSC cores.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lazi 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 11-Sep-2008 3:38:26
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Apr-2005
Posts: 637
From: Pomaz, Hungary

@Darrin

I remember the time when my A500 hacked to 14MHz. That got me a 10% speedup overall because the fake fastram in the trapdoor bay.

How the Minimig handle the memory? Does the fastram mapped memory works as zero wait state real fastram?
If so, then the 14 or even the 28 MHz turbo modes are creates a very interesting little machine.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 11-Sep-2008 8:42:50
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@Darrin
I never understood why people only make lists of what works - unless you can get those exact models (typically very hard), you are taking a huge risk. Much better would be a list of working and NON-working things, then you can see if there is a pattern (such as a particular manufacturer), and so make educated guesses.

As for the 14MHz core (potentially 28MHz), sounds very interesting for playing Frontier (Elite 2), as that was a real CPU hog!

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 11-Sep-2008 11:48:18
#16 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

@Lazi

That's a question for Boing4000. I'm away on business at the moment, so I haven't even got to run the turbo core yet. Roll on Thursday...

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darrin 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 11-Sep-2008 11:52:13
#17 ]
Team Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 1941
From: Lake Charles, USA

Quote:

ChrisH wrote:
@Darrin
I never understood why people only make lists of what works - unless you can get those exact models (typically very hard), you are taking a huge risk. Much better would be a list of working and NON-working things, then you can see if there is a pattern (such as a particular manufacturer), and so make educated guesses.


It's meant for working and non-working items which is why there are boxes for "yes" and "no". If something doesn't work then check the "no" boxes. So far, all monitors reported work with the NTSC core and that is to be expected. There's one SD Card listed as non-working and another as "slow".

Quote:
As for the 14MHz core (potentially 28MHz), sounds very interesting for playing Frontier (Elite 2), as that was a real CPU hog!


LOL. Yep, anything that speeds that up is helpful.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000, A4000(T), A3000, A2000, A1200(T), A1200, A500, CD32, Minimig+ARM, FPGA Arcade, Chameleon64, C-One, C128, C128D, C64C, C64, VIC-20, CBM 8032, CBM4032, Efika, Ultimate64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 11-Sep-2008 12:53:47
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@Darrin
Sorry, I hadn't actually checked the wiki, glad to hear you it does list non-working stuff

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kyle 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 12-Sep-2008 16:27:55
#19 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Oct-2006
Posts: 861
From: Livorno, Italy

@Darrin

Hi, today my ViewSonic VA703b has arrived.
I tested it with my Minimig and... it works great!!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dwyloc 
Re: MINIMIG HARDWARE COMPATIBILITY & NEW TURBO MODE!
Posted on 12-Sep-2008 17:21:02
#20 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Mar-2005
Posts: 1051
From: Glasgow, Scotland

@Darrin

Well I have just ordered a minimig from Amigakit so I will report back on which of my Monitors work with it. As both of my Hitachi TFT Panels work with my scan doubler connected to my A1200 tower I am hopeful that they will both work.

As they are both quite old models the information is unlikely to be of any help to people looking to purchase a monitor to go with a minimig maybe of help to anyone with a Hitachi TFT Panel thinking about buying a minimig.

_________________
Sam440ep 667mhz, 512MB, 120GB 2.5" HD, OS4.1FE
WinUae 3.0.0, OS 3.9, BB3, Catweasel MkIV
Amiga 1200, Blizzard 040/40 (BlizzardPPC 060/200 with SCSI removed at present), mediatorSX pci, Voodoo3, PCI network card os 3.9BB2
4MB Minimig with ARM addon boar

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle