Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5770 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
26 crawler(s) on-line.
 16 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 BSzili

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BSzili:  4 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  14 mins ago
 BigD:  35 mins ago
 Trixie:  57 mins ago
 billt:  58 mins ago
 AP:  1 hr ago
 sTix:  1 hr 1 min ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 8 mins ago
 Templario:  1 hr 42 mins ago
 Plexus:  1 hr 44 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Gaming
      /  Open RedAlert!!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next Page )
PosterThread
VooDoo 
Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 27-Sep-2008 16:25:15
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2003
Posts: 1495
From: Croatia

hmm..avilable for 68k and MOS..maybe anyone work on OS4 port??

_________________
--
A1200 sandwich :)

uA1c/g3-800 mHz/512mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 Final + upd #1

MacMini G4 1.5ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.9

Croatian Amiga portal

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spotUP 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 27-Sep-2008 16:49:20
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2896
From: Up Rough Demo Squad

@VooDoo

i have an exe... but it crashes a lot, and so does the mos and os3 version i heard..

i just didn't think it was worth releasing yet.

_________________
AOS4 Betatester, Peg2, G4@1ghz, Radeon 9250 256mb, 1gb RAM.

http://www.asciiarena.com
http://www.uprough.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 27-Sep-2008 17:06:34
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2702
From: Finland

@VooDoo

I have compiled it also but it doesn't work very well. By choosing "Ignore errors" I can get to the menu but there is no text on the buttons and after that I can't get any further.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
VooDoo 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 28-Sep-2008 14:47:43
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2003
Posts: 1495
From: Croatia

@salass00

Just read on Pianeta Show topic that Andrea "AFX" Palmat╦ work on Red Alert port for OS4!! That is great.. I like this game!! all ppl who works on this port big thanx

_________________
--
A1200 sandwich :)

uA1c/g3-800 mHz/512mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 Final + upd #1

MacMini G4 1.5ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.9

Croatian Amiga portal

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
d0c 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 28-Sep-2008 15:02:09
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Sep-2004
Posts: 896
From: UK

this is something for the " Porting for Profit" guy.....

Last edited by d0c on 28-Sep-2008 at 03:02 PM.

_________________
I was a ZX Spectrum owner....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 28-Sep-2008 15:48:42
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3525
From: Palencia city of the emptied Spain.

@VooDoo

Where is the game Red Alert? and this version is the verion for Amiga the game from WestWood Red Alert? and what is the web site to donwload it? it work in WinUAE?

_________________
Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 F.E.
MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.13
PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.13

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
elwood 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 28-Sep-2008 16:05:05
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 3424
From: Lyon, France

@VooDoo

I confirm. I've seen it running at PA.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci
Sam460 1.10 Ghz
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Amiga Translator Organisation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 28-Sep-2008 17:47:25
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3409
From: Italy, Perugia

@Templario

Hi friend,

Here you can find more information about :

http://www.ohloh.net/projects/openredalert

The AmigaOS 3.x exe on Aminet:

http://aminet.net/package/game/strat/openredalert-r460-68k

And the various mission CD there:

http://na.llnet.cnc3tv.ea.com/u/f/eagames/cnc3/cnc3tv/RedAlert/RedAlert1_SovietDisc.rar
http://na.llnet.cnc3tv.ea.com/u/f/eagames/cnc3/cnc3tv/RedAlert/RedAlert1_AlliedDisc.rar

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
VooDoo 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 3-Oct-2008 22:14:15
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2003
Posts: 1495
From: Croatia

@samo79

Red Alert is on os4depot...... jupi jeeee

_________________
--
A1200 sandwich :)

uA1c/g3-800 mHz/512mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 Final + upd #1

MacMini G4 1.5ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.9

Croatian Amiga portal

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 3-Oct-2008 22:44:01
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5009
From: Sweden

@VooDoo

Now please sh** up :D
You got what you wanted. hehe

EDIT: Let me hear.... amigaos4 rulez

Last edited by Kicko on 03-Oct-2008 at 10:49 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomppeli 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 4-Oct-2008 0:01:36
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2004
Posts: 1635
From: Home land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki

OpenRedAlert crashes everytime I'm trying to enter enemy camp (I'm allied). I got some error messages too (I didn't write down them all):
ERROR: Sound: Could not open file "~;ĄWsP    SNOW".gg

ERROR: [CnCMap::loadTeamTypes] section [TeamTypes] was not found in ini file.

ERROR: ./src/game/PlayerPool.cpp line 181: Create new player: GoodGuy
ERROR: ./src/game/PlayerPool.cpp line 181: Create new player: Special

And sound is broken in one of the video clips (where two guys and one woman is talking to the camera).

_________________
Rock lobster bit me, so excuse me. Amiga. Never forget.
X1000 + AmigaOS4.1 FE
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." -Seymour Cray

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 4-Oct-2008 0:12:38
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1966
From: Taranto, Italy

@Tomppeli

try to delete all ini files. and try to start with demo only. that game use maps in strange places..

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amipal 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 4-Oct-2008 11:28:43
#13 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Apr-2003
Posts: 1899
From: Saltdean, East Sussex, UK

Any idea where the files are supposed to be stored to run this correctly? I've tried having the .mix file in the data drawer as well as the main drawer, and end up with:
Quote:
ERROR: Unable to open conquer.eng


_________________
After a decade away from the scene, I am back!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thematic 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 4-Oct-2008 18:24:16
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1616
From: I'm actually flying into a bug!

@amipal

Try data/mix , and you will probably see at least the main menu. This is a rebadged FreeCNC..

_________________
: AmigaOneXE (unmod.) 750FX/512 MB +stuff & AmigaOS 4.(0|1)
: A1200/68060&96MB/SCSI/EM1200-Voodoo3 & OS 3.5
: A500/1MB
: Pegasos (ff) 512 MB & MorphOS
Praise seitan.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomppeli 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 4-Oct-2008 20:19:39
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2004
Posts: 1635
From: Home land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki

@afxgroup

RedAlert quits or freezes if it doesn't find all ini files. I tested Open RedAlert on my Ubuntu (x86) box too. It froze after two missions. (I had to reset X to get control of my computer back.)

@thread
It works (mostly) here if mix files are in the same dir as the executable or in the data/mix dir.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me, so excuse me. Amiga. Never forget.
X1000 + AmigaOS4.1 FE
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." -Seymour Cray

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Phantom 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 11-Nov-2008 23:06:48
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

@Tomppeli

I tried both of your suggestions, but after the small intro with the tank, I get only a white screen and nothing happens. I think it's too buggy. We need a better updated version.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 13-Nov-2008 13:29:29
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5320
From: UK

@Thread

Is the 68k version any good?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 13-Nov-2008 14:23:18
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4927
From: New Zealand

@Phantom

Quote:

Phantom wrote:
@Tomppeli

I tried both of your suggestions, but after the small intro with the tank, I get only a white screen and nothing happens. I think it's too buggy. We need a better updated version.


Open Red Alert is still very much in beta; that's the original, not the OS4 port.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 17-Feb-2009 12:36:44
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5320
From: UK

@Thread

So seriously, someone must have played this on 68k by now and written some sort of review or set up advice? Is it worth the bother or shall I continue with Napalm until the final release? How buggy is the 68k version at the moment?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gebrochen 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 17-Feb-2009 12:57:14
#20 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Nov-2008
Posts: 1410
From: Australia, VIC

@Thread

I was wondering how far one can use the Open red alert?

As in, would it run red alert 2 also?

_________________
Courtesy of SAM440Flex & Amiga OS4.1 only
CD32 / SX1 Expansion
A500 with HxC & 1mb Chip Ram, Flicker Fixer Box
C=OS (Usa) Laptops
MorphOS PowerBook G4
AROS / AmiPUP Netbook
A1000 with 1.5MB RAM.
https://blitterwolf.blogspot.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle