Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6103 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
31 crawler(s) on-line.
 10 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 bhabbott:  54 mins ago
 agami:  58 mins ago
 Hypex:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 Matt3k:  2 hrs 2 mins ago
 Rob:  2 hrs 40 mins ago
 matthey:  2 hrs 46 mins ago
 Karlos:  2 hrs 52 mins ago
 pixie:  3 hrs 40 mins ago
 Futaura:  3 hrs 54 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Register To Post

PosterThread
ChrisH 
I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 13-Oct-2008 11:41:41
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

As the title says, I need a KVM to allow me to switch between the Sam440 & my Windows PC. I think this means that I need a KVM which supports DVI switching (not VGA), USB keyboard & mouse switching, and audio switching.

KVMs seem quite expensive, and the cheapest suitable one I could find with reasonable reviews is the StarTech.com 2 Port KVM. I am guessing that this is identical internally (and at the rear) to the Avocent SwitchView.

Does anyone have any experience with this KVM, or can anyone recommend any other similarly priced KVMs?

Can anyone think of any problems using this KVM with a Sam440 & a Windows PC? I have an Apple Keyboard & a Microsoft Trackball, both USB.

BTW, as my LCD monitor only has VGA input, I assume that I can just attach a DVI-to-VGA adapter on the output of the KVM?

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 14-Oct-2008 10:13:19
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

Quote:
BTW, as my LCD monitor only has VGA input, I assume that I can just attach a DVI-to-VGA adapter on the output of the KVM?

Having spoken to the KVM manufacturer, it seems that using a DVI KVM with a VGA monitor (via an adapter) is a *bad* idea, and will not work - without using some very special/rare cables (DVI-A for connecting both computers to the KVM.)

One possible work-around is to connect *each* computer via a DVI-to-VGA adapter *and* a VGA-to-DVI adapter (so it starts & finishes as DVI, with VGA in the middle), to make a normal DVI cable act like a DVI-A cable. However, I am unsure what affect this will have on the display quality (plus it will be an ugly kludge)...

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 14-Oct-2008 11:35:02
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2678
From: Wellington

@ChrisH

I use a 4-way KVM switch with my Sam 440, Ai-XE, Micro A1-C and Pegasos.

However with the switch I am using the SAM is not recognized unless I have either the A1 or Micro A1 also powered-up. I am currently traveling away from home and can not remember the manufacturer. It is a typical RGB & ps/2 type KVM switch.

TrevorD

Last edited by TrevorDick on 14-Oct-2008 at 11:36 AM.

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
rigo 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 14-Oct-2008 12:02:14
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jul-2003
Posts: 718
From: Unknown

@ChrisH

The SAM440 boards are delivered with a DVI->VGA adapter, which I was using via a PS2/VGA 2 port KVM. This required the use of a PS2->USB adapter on the SAM too.

Simon

_________________
Simon

Comments made by me on any public fora are not representative of, or on behalf of, any company I may have, or assumed by the reader to have, any association with.

Any comments are a personal opinion, and should be accepted as such.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 2-Nov-2008 19:39:52
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

I am somewhat worried that I may have wasted money on a KVM that uses DVI (not VGA) connectors, because I read somewhere (can't remember where) suggesting that OS4 on Sam does not support Digital signal on DVI. Can anyone confirm this? (m3x?)

(I don't have any KVM cables yet, to test if it works.)

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gadgetgaz 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 2-Nov-2008 20:19:55
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 203
From: Yorkshire, UK

@ChrisH

Does your monitor have two inputs or could you stretch to one that does? If so, you can use the monitor to switch the video and use VNC to direct mouse and keyboard events so you only need one mouse and one keyboard.

I always found video switchers reduce image quality.

_________________
AmigaONE XE G4
____________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 2-Nov-2008 21:27:38
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

OK, I rediscovered why I thought OS4 might not support Digital on DVI - at the back of the Sam440 manual, it says "DVI Digital support from Uboot is under development, but works under Linux CruxPPC." I am unclear whether (a) this affects OS4, and (b) whether this is still true about Uboot (it could be out of date).

@gadgetgaz
One of the reasons for using DVI is that quality should be unaffected (if it uses the digital signal).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 3-Nov-2008 20:00:58
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

Does no-one know the answer?

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 3-Nov-2008 20:25:23
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2678
From: Wellington

@ChrisH

I am using a generic 4-port KVM switch DD-204 (made in China I think?) It has RGB & PS/2 connectors. As mentioned above my SAM 440/OS4.1 works with it but the SAM is not recognized unless I have my A1-XE also powered up at the same time.

Hope that helps?

TrevorD

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 3-Nov-2008 20:47:22
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

@TrevorDick
By "RGB" I assume that you mean VGA? That isn't any help to me, because the issue is with DVI. (In particular, my KVM (and possibly others) requires digital signals on the DVI connector, even though DVI also supports analogue.)

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 3-Nov-2008 20:56:07
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@TrevorDick

Quote:

TrevorDick wrote:
@ChrisH

I use a 4-way KVM switch with my Sam 440, Ai-XE, Micro A1-C and Pegasos.

TrevorD



1: Does Morphos Detect the monitor? I couldn't seem to get my Peg2 to work very well for that reason, even attempting to set a manual screen resoultion didn't work too well as it forgot the settings when I reset.

2: Show off!

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 3-Nov-2008 23:52:56
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2678
From: Wellington

@Stephen_Robinson

Yes, without the A1-XE powered up the KVM switch does not see my Peg 2?

Quote:
2: Show-off!

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Phantom 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 4-Nov-2008 1:58:08
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

@TrevorDick

I used a Level One KWM Switch for my PC and Pegasos2. Now I switch SAM over Pegasos2 and is working great. Of course the PC must be turned on if I want to use the Amiga. Strange though, or these switches are working like that (I have pc in the first, and the Amiga in the second switches).

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 4-Nov-2008 18:49:47
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2678
From: Wellington

@Phantom

Yes I've noticed that phenomena too! All the KVM switches I've tried so far have the same problem? Perhaps I need to use a powered KVM switch?

Trevor


_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Phantom 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 4-Nov-2008 20:12:44
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

@TrevorDick

Maybe, because normal switches must take power from somewhere. In my example, the first is pc, so from there.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 4-Nov-2008 20:18:17
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

Oh well, at least my KVM is (optionally) powered even though I don't yet know if OS4 (or UBoot) will work with it...

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 9-Nov-2008 21:33:10
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

Good news: My DVI-only KVM works with my Sam440 (and PC), so Uboot & OS4 must support a Digital signal on the DVI output

Bad news: I boot without a Startup-sequence with the KVM plugged in via USB. So it has to be disconnected until it starts booting . I'm going to make a new thread about this, so please don't discuss this here.

Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Nov-2008 at 10:55 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Nov-2008 at 09:33 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Nov-2008 at 09:33 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: I need KVM sugestions (for the Sam440)
Posted on 9-Nov-2008 22:52:01
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3239
From: Sydney (of course)

@ChrisH

Quote:

Good news: My DVI-only KVM works with my Sam440 (and PC), so Uboot & OS4 must support a Digital signal on the DVI output.


Sorry, didn't see that question before. Yes, OS 4.1 does support DVI and interrogates the monitor for its specs.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle