Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6083 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
65 crawler(s) on-line.
 23 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 thomas:  8 mins ago
 Karlos:  20 mins ago
 thellier:  48 mins ago
 pixie:  50 mins ago
 AF-Domains.net:  53 mins ago
 Musashi5150:  53 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 AmigaOldskooler:  1 hr 18 mins ago
 Vidar:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 THRIVECoworkingSnellville:  3 hrs 19 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 Next Page )
PosterThread
Darth_X 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 17:13:26
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2003
Posts: 2997
From: Vancouver Island, Canada

Quote:

rigo wrote:
The court case is not about the legality of AmigaOS4.1, but the ownership. OS4.1 is still the only sanctioned PPC version of AmigaOS however you look at it.

Simon

The legality of who holds that Amiga trademark

Is the peg2 offficially santioned hardware or not?

_________________
Men who have girlies in their avatars are Girliemen!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chain-Q 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 17:35:16
#22 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jan-2005
Posts: 824
From: Budapest, Hungary

@rigo
Quote:
OS4.1 is still the only sanctioned PPC version of AmigaOS

Well, since MorphOS (and AROS) is not a version of AmigaOS, therefore it hardly needs to be sanctioned by anyone. Fortunately. So your statement hardly has any meaning...

For proper interpretation of the situation see "Linux is not Unix". Still it's compatible and aimed at the same market. Additionally, i'd second Darth_X's question, is the Pegasos 2 sanctioned now?

_________________
MorphOS, classic Amiga, demoscene, and stuff
"When a bridge is not enough, build a Viaduct!"
"Strip the Amiga community of speculation and we can fit every forum on a 720k floppy" (by resle)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldAmigan 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 18:04:20
#23 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Dec-2003
Posts: 670
From: Dumfries, Scotland

Oh dear, are we getting back to that silly Red v. Blue thing again?
Can't we all just be glad that the market for Amiga OS is getting a bit bigger, and hope that the next port will be to more readily available hardware.
Personally, I'd just love to be able to run AOS 4.1 and MOS 2.2 (or 1.4) on the same machine

_________________
Fred Booth
========================================
A500, A600, A1200 c/w Mediator and 030
AmigaOne and OS4.1
Mac LCII, G4 Powermac running OSX + Amigakit and MorphOS 3.0
Dell Mini 10 Netbook running IcAros and AmigaForever+Amikit+AmigaSys
2006 Macb

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chain-Q 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 18:12:08
#24 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jan-2005
Posts: 824
From: Budapest, Hungary

@OldAmigan
Quote:
Oh dear, are we getting back to that silly Red v. Blue thing again?

Yeah, I wanted to mention that i feel myself in 2003-2004 again... Damn, how time flies!

_________________
MorphOS, classic Amiga, demoscene, and stuff
"When a bridge is not enough, build a Viaduct!"
"Strip the Amiga community of speculation and we can fit every forum on a 720k floppy" (by resle)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wol 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 18:52:22
#25 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 979
From: UK.......Sol 3.

@Leo

I think MorphOS will win...


_________________
It is my conviction that killing under the cloak of war is nothing but an act of murder.~Albert Einstein

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 19:39:09
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5210
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@ayone/all

If Ambient is better than WB, is it possible to port it to AOS4?

And I would be interested in seeing a comparisson of Ambient & WB features.

And I would not mind seeing MOS3 as the official AOS5 (with AOSs4box, Abox, Qbox, AA2box etc...), but it would also be ok to me if AOS5 is built around/from AOS4.
The most important thing is that Amiga Inc does not have too much control of the development, their reputation is just too bad.


And let's not fight, let's enjoy!

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 19:39:10
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9390
From: Unknown

@Wol

Quote:
I think MorphOS will win...



Maybe on morphzone.net...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 13:55:20
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10832
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Chain-Q

Quote:
As far as i know this specific statement is still under dispute on the court...


AmigaOS4.x is built on the actual source to AmigaOS. That's what makes it official. Nothing to do with Amiga, Inc. Everthing else is just inspiration.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 13:58:42
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10832
From: Greensborough, Australia

@OldAmigan

Quote:
Oh dear, are we getting back to that silly Red v. Blue thing again?


Well over here the Biggest Looser is on again and they have ten couples competing instead. It's just not the same so yeah, I miss the Blue team vs. Red team.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Leo 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 14:17:59
#30 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1597
From: Unknown

Quote:

AmigaOS4.x is built on the actual source to AmigaOS. That's what makes it official.

Sure, but what do people prefer ? something official, or something better ? (I'm not implying MOS is better, I'm just wondering)... I mean: Amiga (the name) is now dead and burried... It just means nothing at all, and seeing how low it has gone, just isn't of any use today. So what's the point of having something "official" (as in based on original sources) ?

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ruud 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 14:19:29
#31 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Jan-2009
Posts: 144
From: Hampshire, UK

@Hypex

Quote:

Hypex wrote:
@OldAmigan

Quote:
Oh dear, are we getting back to that silly Red v. Blue thing again?


Well over here the Biggest Looser is on again and they have ten couples competing instead. It's just not the same so yeah, I miss the Blue team vs. Red team.


Who wants to be on my Purple team? It's for those that use both mos & os4 and thinks that anyone who uses just one or the other is a moron

_________________
"We live, we die, we laugh, we cry"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmiDelf2 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 14:29:33
#32 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 342
From: Norway, Oslo

Remember that you can still run MorphOS 1.4.5 which is not that bad and it is for FREE. MorphOS 2 have more features and intgr. tcp/ip stack and so on. But you dont have to pay to use MorphOS on PegasosII really.

Don't hit me now ;p but its true..--...

_________________
Regards,
Michal, Amiga user since 1988
amitopia@gmail.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wishmaster 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 14:57:54
#33 ]
Member
Joined: 4-May-2003
Posts: 44
From: Unknown

If on OS is Official or not is no point anymore.
That what is called Amiga Inc. today, has nothing to with the original Amiga anymore.

_________________
Pegasos PPC with MorphOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomppeli 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 15:31:24
#34 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2004
Posts: 1646
From: Home land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki

@KimmoK

Quote:
If Ambient is better than WB, is it possible to port it to AOS4?

Ambient is open source AFAIK so it should be possible. Workbench has some new features in AOS4.1 and even if it doesn't have that many features you can always install some useful commodities to make it much better. ContextMenus, DepthToFront, FuelGauge, ClickToFront, AutoUpdateWB, WBPreview, DiskImageGUI, BenchTrash commodities are very good to start with.

Everybody can always test YetAnotherDesk from os4depot.

My guess is many people comparing anything to Workbench are comparing them to WB 3.x and have never seen AOS4.1 in action.

And even if many people don't like WB it's familiar to people who are coming back to Amiga.

Quote:
And I would be interested in seeing a comparisson of Ambient & WB features.

I would like to see some good demonstration/review of Ambient (the latest version) too.

Last edited by Tomppeli on 03-Feb-2009 at 03:32 PM.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me. My Workbench has always preferences. X1000 + AmigaOS4.1 FE
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." -Seymour Cray

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Varthall 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 15:39:50
#35 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Feb-2004
Posts: 1556
From: Up Rough

@Leo

Quote:

Leo wrote:
Sure, but what do people prefer ? something official, or something better ? (I'm not implying MOS is better, I'm just wondering)... I mean: Amiga (the name) is now dead and burried... It just means nothing at all, and seeing how low it has gone, just isn't of any use today. So what's the point of having something "official" (as in based on original sources) ?

Seeing that AmigaOS is under development, and that machines to run it are manufactured and on sale, I find it difficult to say that the name "Amiga" is dead and buried.

Varthall

_________________
AmigaOne XE - AmigaOS 4.1 - Freescale 7457 1GHz - 1GB ram

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Crumb 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 17:07:02
#36 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 2209
From: Zaragoza (Aragonian State)

@Varthall

In commercial terms I think that the "Amiga" brand is not as strong as 18 years ago. Just check out Amiga Inc's crap sales.

The only thing that saves the name are excellent products like AmigaOS4 but it is sold because it is AmigaOS, not because it includes the word "Amiga" (at least I hope so... I guess that if I don't know a single Amiga Anywere user and I know dozens of AmigaOS/MorphOS users the name is not so important).

_________________
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: CUAZ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 18:01:23
#37 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2241
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@Tomppeli

Quote:

Tomppeli wrote:

Ambient is open source AFAIK so it should be possible.


Ambient requires MUI 4. I guess it also relies on some otehr aspects, but no MUI 4, no Ambient. At least not w/o major changes.

_________________
My programs: via.bckrs.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 18:08:25
#38 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2241
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@AmiDelf2

Quote:

AmiDelf2 wrote:
Remember that you can still run MorphOS 1.4.5 which is not that bad and it is for FREE. MorphOS 2 have more features and intgr. tcp/ip stack and so on. But you dont have to pay to use MorphOS on PegasosII really.

Don't hit me now ;p but its true..--...



Right, plus a tcp/ip stack (MOSnet) is freely avaialble. There's also an official 1.4.5 update pack to providecompatibility for many 2.x intended apps.
More recent apps like OWB or later Ambient versions run fine on 1.4.5, too but requires a more recent MUI 4 though. MorphOS 2.x is a major step, but even I continue to use 1.4.5 on one of my both MorphOS driven maschines (the other runs 2.2), since 2.x on that particular setup doesn't too many advantages.

_________________
My programs: via.bckrs.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 18:46:23
#39 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@Zylesea

It's always fun trying to download a TCP/IP stack on a computer with no TCP/IP stack.

Ditto trying to edit the user-startup with a text editor, and the lack of an installer were all problems that deeply effected the usability of MorphOS 1.4.5, all history now since the release of MorphOS 2.x, but I don't think it helps any to just brush aside people who had problems and were out off because of them.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 18:58:23
#40 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2241
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@Stephen_Robinson

Since MorphOS 1.4 (or was it 1.3) MorphOS supports usb msd. So just dl this f**kin' TCP/IP or some editor with some other computer (or use some Miami archive on some CD or genesis), put it on a stick and there you go. If not usb, burn a cd and off you go.
Am only I that super-duper computer talented that I had no prob to get an editor on MorphOS or install a tcp/ip stack?
I seriously doubt that. Plus, if you are with AOS/MorphOS/AROS today you shouldn't be some noob anyway.

_________________
My programs: via.bckrs.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle