Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6054 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
87 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Comi:  8 mins ago
 Ratta:  20 mins ago
 pixie:  1 hr 7 mins ago
 olsen:  1 hr 8 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 14 mins ago
 Ninja62:  1 hr 53 mins ago
 clint:  1 hr 59 mins ago
 Futaura:  2 hrs 6 mins ago
 Karlos:  2 hrs 9 mins ago
 zipper:  2 hrs 25 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual) -- Fix available 2009-07-26
Register To Post

PosterThread
jahc 
SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual) -- Fix available 2009-07-26
Posted on 24-Jul-2009 23:07:09
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

Microsoft have changed something somewhere.. the "challenge" string thats sent to the client is now 28 digits instead of 20 digits. I dont quite know how to process this properly yet. So you get disconnected about 30 seconds after you've connected. It does send a 20 character string sometimes, but its very rare.

http://www.hypothetic.org/docs/msn/sitev2.0/notification/pings_challenges.php

Mick has the same problem with AmiMSN.

Will try and fix it soon. I've posted for help on an MSN developer forum.


EDIT: Thanks to Mick, its now fixed! Download it now http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com

2009-07-27 : Alpha 54
- Fixed a bug in the Challenge response, that caused disconnection within a
minute of being connected to the server. Microsoft changed their replys from
a set size, to a variable size. My code wasnt equipped! Thank you to Mick
on www.amigaworld.net for single handedly figuring out my bug. Please direct
any SabreMSN donations to him for this release!
- Bugfix: Disconnection would occur when Sabre would connect and then attempt
to remove someone from a pending list, and onto other lists so you could
communicate. Unfortunately I had specified two different groups in the
remove command, which caused immediate disconnection. Thanks to Deniil for
reporting the issue, providing raw output, and then testing with me until
we fixed it.
- Your own Current Media information is now displayed in the personal message
space. Otherwise you'd play music and not know that your personal message
was currently showing the Current Media. Use the MUSIC ARexx command to tell
SabreMSN what music you're currently listening to. Hook this up to your music
players if possible.
- Option to play new message alerts only when the chat window is inactive

Last edited by jahc on 25-Jul-2009 at 02:47 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
COBRA 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 7:24:11
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Apr-2004
Posts: 1809
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@jahc

Thanks for looking into it. In the meantime Pidgin still works under AmiCygnix.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Slash 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 10:55:16
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 686
From: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK

@jahc

The algorithm should be the same though James. I've just tried EpistulaNG (who's code of which I haven't touched in months) five times and it's handled the challenge fine on all occasions, regardless if it's the 20 digit or 28 digit string.

Are you hard coding to the 20 digit string?

_________________
This fire is burnin' and it's out of control
It's not a problem you can stop, It's rock n' roll - GN'F'N'R

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 12:57:04
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@Slash

I dont think so..

I need help. Lets take this example challenge code:
6393169001825322684810013116

Using these values:
PRODUCT ID: PROD0090YUAUV{2B
OTHER ID: YMM8C_H7KCQ2S_KL

Are these values correct?

MD5SUM:9706967a9ee03fff06409e9e07883b00

then you turn it into the four md5sum hashes:

1 md5sum hash:2056652439
2 md5sum hash:2134892702
3 md5sum hash:513687558
4 md5sum hash:3901447

Then you make the challenge string:
6393169001825322684810013116PROD0090YUAUV{2B

then you create the 10 part array.. (hex on the left, unsigned long on the right):

challenge string array:33393336 = 859386678
challenge string array:30393631 = 809055793
challenge string array:32383130 = 842543408
challenge string array:32323335 = 842150709
challenge string array:38343836 = 942946358
challenge string array:31303031 = 825241649
challenge string array:36313133 = 909193523
challenge string array:444f5250 = 1146049104
challenge string array:30393030 = 809054256
challenge string array:55415559 = 1430345049


then you create the final 4 part hash:

9706967a
9ee03fff
06409e9e
07883b00

Then the result key is:
2aeb531e45e8c190bbad5bfadc80c56f


Yes..?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MickJT 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 13:10:52
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jan-2005
Posts: 525
From: Adelaide, South Australia

I have worked it out. jahc and I both hardcoded something we shouldn't have :)

12 part array, correct response: eac27f02ac090fb47b8477e635610b4b

Last edited by MickJT on 25-Jul-2009 at 01:57 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 13:15:25
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4232
From: Sweden

@jahc

But v0.49 STILL works fine! Don't forget that

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MickJT 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 13:58:55
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jan-2005
Posts: 525
From: Adelaide, South Australia

@Deniil715

I think you'll find an update tomorrow with all of Sabre's personal message glory I'm personally too slack to go and update AmiMSN now. I just spent 5-6 hours at an anime convention and will be doing up to 13 hours of it tomorrow. (Starts at 10, can go as late as 11pm)

Last edited by MickJT on 25-Jul-2009 at 02:00 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual) -- Fix available 2009-07-26
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 15:15:17
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4232
From: Sweden

@jahc

Just downloaded "OS4 SabreMSN 2009-07-26 Alpha 0.54" but I still got disconnected after a couple of seconds. Tried again and now it seems to stay connected.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
VooDoo 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual) -- Fix available 2009-07-26
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 15:18:09
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2003
Posts: 1502
From: Croatia

@Deniil715

The same here,after first reconnect is OK!no more disconnecting!

_________________
--
A1200 sandwich :)

uA1c/g3-800 mHz/512mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 Final + upd #1

MacMini G4 1.5ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.9

Croatian Amiga portal

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual) -- Fix available 2009-07-26
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 15:29:55
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10973
From: Greensborough, Australia

@jahc

Quote:
So you get disconnected about 30 seconds after you've connected.


So that's what happened!

BTW, is there a way to stop it from telling me whenever I start it up that I have been disconnected? "Well duh!" I think. I have auto connect enabled and it always seems to complain, not knowing I just got onto the internet, so no wonder I was disconnected! It wasn't connected before I ran it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual) -- Fix available 2009-07-26
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 16:06:48
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4232
From: Sweden

@Hypex

No, that's the old error. If roadshow isn't only it won't even try to connect IIRC.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 19:47:53
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3500
From: Italy, Perugia

@jahc

Latest 0.54 have some problems with the visual of the contact availible, people online seems disconnected altrough you can chat with them without any problem.

Other little issue:

If you set a compact window (chat and contact window in the same interface) the text of the personal message seems trunked at some point, for example the default text here is:

(no personal messag

I have also a feature request: please if possible add a "close button" on the tabs as for example NoWinED

@Deniil715
Yes same experience here :-/

Last edited by samo79 on 25-Jul-2009 at 07:49 PM.

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 25-Jul-2009 22:03:10
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@samo79

Yeah I wanted to fix that niggling disconnected error on auto connect.. but I was rushed because it wasnt working at all for my users.

Finding less time to code these days, with new people in my life.... well, one person.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 26-Jul-2009 4:12:59
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12436
From: Norway

@jahc

Quote:
Finding less time to code these days, with new people in my life.... well, one person..


Well done, what ever you did

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 28-Jul-2009 10:06:00
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10973
From: Greensborough, Australia

@jahc

Hello. Just thought I'd tell you. I googled for Sabre since OS4Depot has no sign of it. (Is it on there or is it the search engine mising fils as usual?)

And it brought up this site:
http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com/sabremsn/

The links are broken and the files don't exist. They are too old I take it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 28-Jul-2009 13:22:23
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@Hypex

whoops, go to http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com/ and click on SabreMSN at the top.. that page is invalid. I'll delete it now.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 28-Jul-2009 14:59:14
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10973
From: Greensborough, Australia

@jahc

Thanks. Works much better. And SabreMSN too.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Crumb 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 28-Jul-2009 15:28:50
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 2209
From: Zaragoza (Aragonian State)

@jahc

thanks for the update! we were at Euskal Party (it's becoming worse each year... this time no amiga prods -sigh-) and we had disconnection problems... we were unsure about the reason but later we noticed the update, thank you!

btw, nice to know the good news about the new person too just remember that if girls like to own lots of clothes you also have the right to keep and use your miggies

Last edited by Crumb on 28-Jul-2009 at 07:42 PM.

_________________
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: CUAZ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 28-Jul-2009 17:11:15
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4232
From: Sweden

@jahc

BTW. The arexx debug is still there in v0.54..

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN broken for now (more so than usual)
Posted on 28-Jul-2009 22:32:08
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@Deniil715

whoops. I see it now.

I thought I had fixed auto connect on startup, but its playing up again.

I've fixed the personal messages thing when music is playing...

a few other minor things too..

Trying to get it right at the moment so I can rest easy when I go away next week.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle