Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6093 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
39 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 BigD,  TrevorDick

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BigD:  2 mins ago
 TrevorDick:  4 mins ago
 newlight:  8 mins ago
 alpyre:  13 mins ago
 hardwaretech:  23 mins ago
 saimon69:  57 mins ago
 zipper:  59 mins ago
 Trixie:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 13 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
ChrisH 
RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 13:24:46
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

I am very pleased to announce that RunInUAE has finally been released.

RunInUAE is designed to make it incredibly easy to run old Amiga games on Amiga OS4, and it comes with an easy installer, so that you can:

* Run almost any ADF or HD installed game or program in E-UAE, by simply dragging & dropping it onto RunInUAE's icon in AmiDock!

* Run WHDLoad & JOTD JST installed games directly, by just double-clicking on them!

* Run ADF games by double-clicking them. (Needs a little bit of manual set-up.)

* The installer can set-up E-UAE with full-speed Sam-optimised settings. But it can also use your existing E-UAE settings if you want.

* The installer will copy the necessary Kickstart ROMs off an Amiga Forever CD, if you don't already have them installed.

* You do not need to set-up any assignments, nor create or edit any cryptic scripts or config files, for it to work! (Unlike alternative 'solutions'.) However, it is fairly easy to customise it, if you really need to.


You can download it here:
http://cshandley.co.uk/runinuae/RunInUAE_r1.lha

Notes:
* I forgot to mention in the README what keys are used for the joystick. They are the arrow keys for movement + the Right Alt key for fire.

* On a 667MHz Sam, you will get best results by using ADFs, since this uses an emulated A500. Games run using WHDLoad/etc will have the overhead of emulating an AGA Amiga, and this can cause a subtle jerkiness for some games. Adding gfx_framerate=2 to .uaerc_RunInUAE can help some games (and make others worse).

Last edited by ChrisH on 24-Dec-2009 at 07:17 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 24-Dec-2009 at 05:18 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 24-Dec-2009 at 01:59 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 24-Dec-2009 at 01:58 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 13:29:02
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9302
From: Unknown

@ChrisH

Good work!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ancalimon 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 13:31:07
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2004
Posts: 433
From: Istanbul

I really like things like this
They make everything seem much more polished.
Now only if someone created a new, fast hardware to run OS4 so we don't need to worry about setting UAE so it's perfect.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Troels 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 13:47:46
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2001
From: Unknown

@ChrisH
Tomorrow......
I will have plenty of time to play with RunInUAE

Looking forward to give it a try.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 13:57:13
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@Troels Quote:
Tomorrow......
I will have plenty of time to play with RunInUAE

If the rumours are true, tomorrow you will probably be busy installing something else...

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lionstorm 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 14:19:09
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 1580
From: the french side

@ChrisH

nice of you, thx !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 16:15:50
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@Thread

Can already say it works like a charm

Doubleclicking on ADFs and play right away is too good to be true (and yet it is) if you have WHDLoads it gets even more interesting.

As for UAE we have a thread about speed tweaking but if you have Sam the included uaerc is all you need to play the majority of A500 games with Sound and exllent speed.

Should be included in AmigaOS by default IMHO...

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
opi 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 16:41:03
#8 ]
Team Member
Joined: 2-Mar-2005
Posts: 2752
From: Poland

@ChrisH

Neat. Is there a way to read multiple selection from Workbench (diska.adf, diskb.adf, diskc.adf) and add them all into DF(x+1)? That would make running games that comes on multiple disks fun.

_________________
OpenWindows Initiative. Port PS3 hardware to bananas. For free. Join today and receive expired $50 cupon from AI!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 16:48:58
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@opi Quote:
Neat. Is there a way to read multiple selection from Workbench (diska.adf, diskb.adf, diskc.adf) and add them all into DF(x+1)? That would make running games that comes on multiple disks fun

Not sure if I understand you, but with a little bit of fiddling you can make double-clicking on the first ADF in a game cause up to 3 other disks to be loaded at the same time. You need to use a "per game" config - see towards the end of the manual. But a brief explanation:

If you have game "BigGame-disk1.adf", then you need to create an empty config file using NotePad, called "BigGame-1.adf.uaerc_RunInUAE". It should have lines like this:

floppy1=YourPath/BigGame-disk2.adf
floppy2=YourPath/BigGame-disk3.adf
floppy3=YourPath/BigGame-disk4.adf


Or of course, you can load disk manually by using the hotkeys Ctrl-Alt-F1 to F4.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ande 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 22:38:50
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Oct-2008
Posts: 172
From: Finland

This is great news, thank you Chris.
I will try this tomorrow.

But i have one question, what am i going to do with my Minimig after this?? Now i can run all my old games and software on my Sam

And Merry Christmas to all of you.

Last edited by Ande on 24-Dec-2009 at 10:39 PM.

_________________
Amiga: A computer for the creative mind.

Sam440ep 667Mhz + OS4.1
Minimig (Home made)
A1200/030
A2000/030
A500 * 3

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ddni 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 24-Dec-2009 22:45:47
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2007
Posts: 818
From: Northern Ireland

@Ande

Merry Christmas Dan.

My wife wants to visit Helsinki in 2010..... Know any good places to stay!!?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 25-Dec-2009 1:28:17
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1680
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@ddni

I'm not from Helsinki but was there during the summer last year for a few days. Stayed in Scandic Simonkentta which is overlooking one of the main squares in the city centre, and a short walk from the harbour and shopping. It's also a pretty nice hotel and was excellent value when I was there!


Looking forward to trying out RunInUAE over the hols, thanks for the great work, it's something I'd make great use of!

P.S. Merry Christmas everyone! Gonna go to bed now and see what Santa brings me!

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Channel_Z 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 25-Dec-2009 2:52:30
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2009
Posts: 305
From: Unknown

@ChrisH

Good work catching up to AROS functionality! Let's hope for JIT for E-UAE on OS4.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dwyloc 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 25-Dec-2009 3:47:09
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Mar-2005
Posts: 1052
From: Glasgow, Scotland

@Ande
Quote:
But i have one question, what am i going to do with my Minimig after this


"Play it more" after trying it under emulation again :)

I love my sam440, but the minimig is the best thing to happen to Amiga gaming since the release of the A1200. I have just got my second one, this time with 4MB and an ARM addon board for HD emulation to allow me to use whdload.

The only recent gaming experience that has come close to being as much fun to me is playing the nintendo wii multi player at parties. :)

Still I do welcome making playing old Amiga games on my sam440ep easier, just dont think it offers the same experience as my A1200 or my minimig... But emulation is very useful and I do look forward to each new release of E-UAE and WinUAE.

_________________
Sam440ep 667mhz, 512MB, 120GB 2.5" HD, OS4.1FE
WinUae 3.0.0, OS 3.9, BB3, Catweasel MkIV
Amiga 1200, Blizzard 040/40 (BlizzardPPC 060/200 with SCSI removed at present), mediatorSX pci, Voodoo3, PCI network card os 3.9BB2
4MB Minimig with ARM addon boar

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ande 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 25-Dec-2009 8:09:12
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Oct-2008
Posts: 172
From: Finland

@ddni

Hi there Allan and Merry Christmas, What are you going to do in Helsinki? there are plenty of good hotels in the centre of Helsinki, and i think that they should not be to expensive to stay in.
check this out: http://www.hotels-helsinki.com/

Dan

_________________
Amiga: A computer for the creative mind.

Sam440ep 667Mhz + OS4.1
Minimig (Home made)
A1200/030
A2000/030
A500 * 3

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ande 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 25-Dec-2009 8:16:03
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Oct-2008
Posts: 172
From: Finland

@Dwyloc

Quote:

Dwyloc wrote:
@Ande
Quote:
But i have one question, what am i going to do with my Minimig after this


"Play it more" after trying it under emulation again :)



And you can not hook up a classic joystick to your Sam
and i have special relationship to my Minimig because i have built it myself

_________________
Amiga: A computer for the creative mind.

Sam440ep 667Mhz + OS4.1
Minimig (Home made)
A1200/030
A2000/030
A500 * 3

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 25-Dec-2009 13:53:07
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12005
From: Norway

@ChrisH

RunADF is tooltype program to start ECS/OCS games

http://os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=emulation/utility/runadf.lha

Run adf does look for disk numbers in the filename.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
danwood 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 25-Dec-2009 15:43:33
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2008
Posts: 1059
From: Unknown

Great work Chris,

The installer fails for me though.

It asks me to end the DiskimageGUI commodity, so I remove it.

Then the installer brings up the error

No Disk Present in IDF9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 25-Dec-2009 18:16:20
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga
Yeah, although according to the readme it has problems guessing the disk number, as I would expect. Might still be worth implementing, since "sometimes auto loads the extra disks" would still be better than "never auto loads the disks".

BTW, it does seem that RunInUAE combines the functionality of several existing programs (which I mostly had not heard about before). Hopefully it's nicer to have everything under one roof, and probably with a better installer.

@danwood
Sorry to hear that. I will have to test that case again myself. In the mean time, try running the installer again.

Last edited by ChrisH on 25-Dec-2009 at 06:19 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Valiant 
Re: RunInUAE released - easily run old Amiga games on OS4!
Posted on 26-Dec-2009 4:20:03
#20 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Oct-2003
Posts: 1103
From: West of Eden, VT USA

@ChrisH

Same problem as danwood here, except it doesn't ask to end the DiskImage commodity, just throws up the IDF9 error.

_________________
--
-=#Val#=-
Valiant@Camelot


Amiga 1000; Amiga 2000; Amiga 3000T; CD-TV; CD32;
AmigaOne-XE 800Mhz G4;Sam400ep 666Mhz;
AmigaOne X-1000 1.8Ghz PA6T-1682M

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle