Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6093 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
20 crawler(s) on-line.
 13 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 amigang,  fishy_fis

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 fishy_fis:  38 secs ago
 amigang:  1 min ago
 RobertB:  8 mins ago
 Mobileconnect:  29 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  29 mins ago
 Fl@sh:  33 mins ago
 Trixie:  38 mins ago
 ilbarbax:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 hlt:  1 hr 37 mins ago
 Birbo:  1 hr 40 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
BinoX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:11:19
#761 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 711
From: Cornwall, UK

@CodeSmith

Quote:

CodeSmith wrote:
@BinoX

Depends on how the OS reports it. In Windows if you have a quad core CPU and four tasks running at full bore, Task Manager will report that each task is consuming 25% of the CPU. I've never run Linux on anything other than single core, so I don't know how it reports.


I would agree with that idea if it didn't add up to 200%

In those circumstances I would assume 2x100% cpu usage, hence dual core.

But if I'm proven wrong I'd be quite happy. Dual core or 8 core.. It's all good... I'll be getting one :p

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:11:22
#762 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3023
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@Rogue

Quote:
It only smells of standards. I can assure you it is not an AMD/intel CPU. It's PowerPC.


Awesome.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jupp3 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:12:23
#763 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2007
Posts: 1225
From: Unknown

@zerohero

Quote:
So, most likely dualcore and a chip that uses ~20watts at most.

My C64 can run 8 tasks at 25% CPU each and... Well, honestly I don't know how many watts it will use

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:12:24
#764 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@CodeSmith

Quote:
Problem is that I don't think there are any PCIe controllers right now that provide more than 32 lanes. That's why I think the x16 slots only have 4 or 8 active lanes.


You will get full 16 lanes if only one of the two x16 slots are occupied, and two x8 if both are.

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:12:45
#765 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@tony23



Dual core? But wait, OS4.1 is a single CPU OS, that must mean...

Last edited by Stephen_Robinson on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:17 PM.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Alkaron 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:12:54
#766 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 9-May-2006
Posts: 187
From: Karlstad, Sweden

Yes exactly what is Xorro!? A new version of the classic Zorro, wich brings us more backwards combability?

_________________
Classic!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:13:10
#767 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3045
From: USA

@Rogue

EDIT: Ah, OK. That makes sense.

I have to ask: is there also a clock port?

Last edited by CodeSmith on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:14 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
diezi7 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:14:04
#768 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2005
Posts: 125
From: El Vellón (Madrid)

HI!!
I hope it will be a 64bit PowerPC at least.

There's something similar to a PowerPC in front of PCIe slots?

And also a Xilinx?

This is truly a very ambitious new computer, waiting for more details!

Which OS will use? I'd like to see FF runnning on this HW. It
must fly!!. And if the customs chips are updated to nowadays standars,
it will rock.

Regards

_________________
PowerMac G4 MDD 1.25 Dual MorphOS 3,5 Demo (for a while) Amiga 1200 030 AGA Pegasos 2 G4 (wrecked)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bitman 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:14:56
#769 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2008
Posts: 704
From: Fredericia, Denmark

Where's the pre-order button?

_________________
Maintainer of www.bigbookofamigahardware.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:15:02
#770 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@Derfs

Quote:
i thought the length was a bit weird on that 3rd slot


The Xorro slot is in line with the last PCie x1

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Radov 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:16:08
#771 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2006
Posts: 139
From: Poland

Oh... In case Xena is a professional video-editing stuff, it will be very interesting machine...

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:16:36
#772 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@diezi7

Quote:
Which OS will use?


Duh, guess ;)

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
graincloud 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:17:40
#773 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Feb-2009
Posts: 41
From: Unknown

@all

noone thinking about the connection between multicore and this mysterious new chip?
couldn't it maybe be there to handle the ancient shortcomings of amigaos?
(smp and mp and stuff, mysteriously solved in hardware?)
or maybe a stupid thought?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:17:51
#774 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Rogue

Please tell us.... what is the maximum memory capacity ?

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:18:05
#775 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

Quote:

Rogue wrote:
@diezi7

Quote:
Which OS will use?


Duh, guess ;)


MorphOS?

Last edited by Stephen_Robinson on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:18 PM.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:18:25
#776 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 711
From: Cornwall, UK

@Rogue

My big question is.. How much is it gunna cost? (I will buy one anyway, I just need to work out how long I'm gunna have to save)

Last edited by BinoX on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:19 PM.

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BillE 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:18:34
#777 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Nov-2003
Posts: 1184
From: Northern Scotland

@bitman

Quote:
What is Xena?


It's actually spelled with a Z and is the name of my cat.
ZENA

Maybe it is some sort of MOUSE controller

Last edited by BillE on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:23 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zerohero 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:18:53
#778 ]
Team Member
Joined: 4-May-2004
Posts: 2524
From: Uddevalla, Sweden

OK! No one posted this yet, so I will. I didn't find it though:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PWRficient

Look at "Notable uses"

_________________
Common sense - So rare it's almost like a super power

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:19:23
#779 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3045
From: USA

@Rogue

So it's starting to look like you guys cracked the AmigaOS+SMP problem then. If so, congratulations are definitely in order. I'm curious how you solved the Forbid problem?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mihcael 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:19:48
#780 ]
Member
Joined: 16-Jan-2006
Posts: 92
From: I come from a land ...

e600

MPC8641D = dual core

and
xorro inline with pci-e 1x.... for an a-one???

Last edited by mihcael on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:20 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle