Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6093 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
19 crawler(s) on-line.
 5 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Kraftwerk2:  26 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  33 mins ago
 Jasper:  34 mins ago
 matthey:  37 mins ago
 gryfon:  40 mins ago
 amigasociety:  53 mins ago
 freak:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 18 mins ago
 billt:  1 hr 37 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  RunInUAE *beta*: Now with floppy drive noises!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
ChrisH 
RunInUAE *beta*: Now with floppy drive noises!
Posted on 6-Mar-2010 10:57:18
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

I am releasing a beta version of RunInUAE r3 for testing & feedback:
http://cshandley.co.uk/runinuae/RunInUAE_r3beta8.lha
(edit: This is the EIGHTH beta release)


The FIRST beta included these changes, compared to the last alpha:

* Fixed collisions not working in AGA games like Deluxe Galaga.
(Existing users may need to use the menu item "Control E-UAE > Set collision level to > playfields" when playing such a game.)

* Added the "Set collision level to" menu item.

* No-longer restarts E-UAE unnecessarily. (Back to how it used to be!)

* The user can specify where RunInUAE's window appears on start. And window position is remembered when you hide it.

* The installer now has a Simple Mode for first time installations. (Requires an Amiga Forever CD)

* Fixed E-UAE potentially being installed in the wrong place.

The SECOND beta included these changes.
The THIRD beta included these changes.
The FOURTH beta included these changes.
The FIFTH beta included these changes.
The SIXTH beta included these changes.
The SEVENTH beta included these changes.
The EIGHTH beta included these changes.


If you haven't been following the alpha versions, then please go here to see what has changed.

Last edited by ChrisH on 21-Mar-2010 at 02:09 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 21-Mar-2010 at 02:08 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 13-Mar-2010 at 10:09 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 13-Mar-2010 at 10:08 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 11-Mar-2010 at 08:51 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 11-Mar-2010 at 08:49 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Mar-2010 at 01:23 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Mar-2010 at 01:23 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Mar-2010 at 11:46 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Mar-2010 at 11:45 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Mar-2010 at 09:49 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Mar-2010 at 09:48 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 07-Mar-2010 at 02:16 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 07-Mar-2010 at 11:52 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 06-Mar-2010 at 01:19 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 06-Mar-2010 at 01:11 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 7-Mar-2010 11:52:59
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@all
I have now made the SECOND beta release (please use the download link in the first post). Changes include:

* Added "Set joystick to" menu. (Very useful for Pinball Fantasies, where the default joystick settings stop the arrow keys being used.)

* Added "Set default joystick to" menu.

* Ejects the old disk before insert a new one. Should improve compatibility with certain games.

* Updated the manual to reflect the new joytick options.

I haven't heavily tested the changes I made, but don't expect any problems...

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MickJT 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 7-Mar-2010 14:07:27
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jan-2005
Posts: 525
From: Adelaide, South Australia

@ChrisH

I have a C:RunInUAE_dummy from an older release. Perhaps the installer could find it and delete it automatically.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 7-Mar-2010 14:16:40
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@MickJT
This file is REQUIRED for RunInUAE to work.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 7-Mar-2010 15:32:38
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@ChrisH
What started as a good idea is shaping up to become the "classic" integration many (including me) have wished for, keep up the great work!

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 7-Mar-2010 17:49:54
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@DAX
Thanks.

MickJT's latest version of E-UAE v0.8.29 is really good, because it's the *same* speed as v0.8.28 (although he reckons slightly faster on certain things), yet it fixes the (AHI-related) crash-on-close bug that some people still get (and should be slightly more compatible too).

I intend to include it in the next beta. Beware that it does not so work well with the current beta, due to bad behaviour of RunInUAE (if you want to try it out, then you must remember to close E-UAE before starting another game).

Last edited by ChrisH on 07-Mar-2010 at 07:17 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 07-Mar-2010 at 06:05 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 9-Mar-2010 9:48:50
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@all
I have now made the THIRD beta release (please use the download link in the first post). Changes include:

* Now supplied with E-UAE amigfx v0.8.29, which should fix the crash-on-close bug.
Say NO to reusing all your previous installation choices, if you want to install this.

* Added emulation of floppy drive noises!
You won't believe how much of a difference this makes :)

* Added "joy0" to joystick options.

* Fixed an occasional 'E-UAE is not running anything' problem.

* Made another attempt to fix the IDF9: installation bug, and also better handle if it still occurs.

Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Mar-2010 at 09:57 AM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 9-Mar-2010 11:45:50
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@all
I have now made the FOURTH beta release (please use the download link in the first post). Changes include:

* Improved the floppy drive noise, thanks to some feedback from DAX.

Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Mar-2010 at 11:46 AM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 9-Mar-2010 13:23:08
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@all
I have now made the FIFTH beta release (please use the download link in the first post). Changes include:

* The floppy drive noise was far too loud. Now is the same as in WinUAE.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
hotrod 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 9-Mar-2010 13:28:39
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2794
From: Stockholm, Sweden

@ChrisH

This is sooo cool! I've tried this in WinUAE and it did a huge difference! Made me travel even further back in time to when you where actually sitting there waiting for the disk to load on the old A500 (and other amigas). Great fun !

Thanks for adding this!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 9-Mar-2010 13:56:31
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@ChrisH
Your R5 is indeed Perfect! Somehow even better than WinUae in my humble opinion where the "loudness" problem is not completely cured (as your version is now ;) ).
On a real Amiga you would turn up the TV volume without raising the floppy noises (of course those were real ones!) now we are pretty close to that effect where the floppy sounds are clearly audible during silent loading sessions, barely audible when there is back ground music going on, and mute where there is no drive activity, awesome addition!

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 9-Mar-2010 20:22:35
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@hotrod & DAX
Thanks for your kind words! BTW, short of a major change in how RunInUAE works, I am stuck for what other features to add, so I really hope to make an official (non-beta) release soon. The addition of a new version of UAE (which doesn't crash on exit) overcomes the last obstacle that was holding me back from making such a release.

Last edited by ChrisH on 09-Mar-2010 at 08:23 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 10-Mar-2010 8:24:44
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@ChrisH
Yes a full release (on OS4 Depot too possibly) is needed at this point, I don't think many have realized how cool this app is, it is basically the seamless integration everyone asked at least once in the past!
Now I can run any Amiga software either inside OS4 (ie:ImageFX, TVPaint, Lightwave3D, Page Stream, AudioEvolution etc. etc.) or with RunInUae (OCS/AGA games including WHDLoads and HD installations) all seamlessly and without any hassle

P.S.
For those who still don't know, the natural look of the AmigaRGB out can be reproduced on CRT monitors using non double scanned screen modes (ie:320x256@120Hz using the Radeon Driver, I personally use a Picasso mode of 320x256@150Hz which results in even smoother scrolling).
The image looks IDENTICAL to how it would look on a 15Khz TV connected to an A500 via RGB Scart lead, no blocky pixels at all!
Just crank the monitor's contrast to max (as this mode tends to be dim) and sit away from the monitor somewhat (1 meter should be fine, with a 19 or 21 incher, the image is as big as a mid-sized tv anyway).

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ddni 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 10-Mar-2010 9:27:41
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2007
Posts: 818
From: Northern Ireland

@DAX

Are you all registering the wonderful WHDLoad?


WHDLoad

_________________
AmigaOne X1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 10-Mar-2010 10:06:31
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@ddni
Actually I don't use it myself (just did a test), I am more of an ADF guy.
You can specify up to 800% loading speed acceleration in the settings and pre load up to 4 disks in the drives. RunInUae supports "per game" settings/config so compatibility with increased loading speed is not an issue.

But of course those that make ample use of it, should go and register.

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 10-Mar-2010 16:25:05
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@DAX
That's an idea for a (per game) menu option - faster disk speeds! Would fit well with the Set collision level & Set joystick options (both of which require E-UAE to be restarted, just like faster disk speeds would).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 11-Mar-2010 8:51:13
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@all
I have now made the SIXTH beta release (please use the download link in the first post). Changes include:

* Added a "Set floppy drive speed to" menu item.

* Added "Set default screen size to" and "Set screen size to" menu items. Get 640x480 without editing any config files!

* Added tick boxes to certain menu items. Looks a lot better!

* Against my better judgement (!) RunInUAE now tries to always know whether E-UAE is running or not.
This allows disabling of the relevant menu items when E-UAE isn't running, and also avoids unnecessary polling when floppy disk noises are enabled.

* Added missing ... after certain menu items.
* Slightly improved the floppy drive noise.
* Fixed disabling of floppy drive noises being forgotten (and then ignoring further disable requests).
* Fixed "default" menu items creating corrupt per-game config files.
* Fixed a blank line being put at the top of newly created per-game config files.
* Fixed a couple of crashes due to bad handling of rare errors.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nexus 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 11-Mar-2010 19:50:10
#18 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Feb-2005
Posts: 429
From: Germany

@ChrisH

Cool. This version also works with AmigaForever 2006 Games by just double clicking So, finally AnotherWorld starts up correctly!

The new uae-amigfx version seems also to display grafics better than the old versions. There was some flickering in AnotherWord with the older euae version which is now gone!

Of course , I found also a bug (tested only on Sam440ep, AmigaOS4.1u1). Switching from 320x240 to 640x480 mode via RunInUAE brings up a requester, that this requires a restart of E-UAE and asks if that is ok. Clicking on YES, always brings up a GrimReaper and e-uae crashes. I can email the GR's error report, if required.

great work!
nexus

Last edited by nexus on 11-Mar-2010 at 07:51 PM.

_________________
dye 'em black!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 12-Mar-2010 1:32:20
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@all
I have to sadly report that Floppy Drive Noises causes E-UAE amigfx v0.8.29 to become unstable & eventually crash. The good news is that it works fine with the old E-UAE v0.8.28, if you really need the floppy drive noises.

Hopefully E-UAE amigfx can be fixed...

edit: MickJT thought it appeared I was blaming him for the crashing of the amigfx version, which was not my intention. The cause of the crashing is unknown at the moment, I just wanted to give people a heads-up on any annoying crashing they might have.
edit 2: Turned out to be RunInUAE's fault, not E-UAE's, although it gave every appearance of E-UAE being the cause.

@nexus
Nice to hear AF2006 games work, because I thought they should with the recent-ish changes.

Quote:
I found also a bug (tested only on Sam440ep, AmigaOS4.1u1). Switching from 320x240 to 640x480 mode via RunInUAE brings up a requester, that this requires a restart of E-UAE and asks if that is ok. Clicking on YES, always brings up a GrimReaper and e-uae crashes. I can email the GR's error report, if required.

That does not happen here! Maybe it is related to the above problem. Would be interested to know if it happens with E-UAE v0.8.28 (I can explain how to test this if you are willing to try).

Otherwise please email me the GR crash log (may not tell me much), along any other info you can think of, such as what Amiga Forever CD (if any) you used, what game(s) you were running when you got the crash, your .uaerc & .uaerc_RunInUAE files, etc.

Last edited by ChrisH on 13-Mar-2010 at 02:55 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 12-Mar-2010 at 08:43 AM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: RunInUAE *beta*: Run any 68k game by double-clicking it!
Posted on 13-Mar-2010 10:08:45
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@all
I have now made the SEVENTH beta release (please use the download link in the first post). Changes include:

* Floppy Drive Noises no-longer causes E-UAE or RunInUAE to crash. (Was due to a tricky bug in RunInUAE.)


Please report if you notice any other problems, as otherwise this is basically the version which will get released.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle