Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6146 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
76 crawler(s) on-line.
 25 guest(s) on-line.
 3 member(s) on-line.


 AP,  simplex,  uGod

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 simplex:  1 min ago
 AP:  2 mins ago
 uGod:  3 mins ago
 geen_naam:  7 mins ago
 ppcamiga1:  9 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  9 mins ago
 kolla:  16 mins ago
 amisteph:  19 mins ago
 saimo:  20 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  42 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  NTP Commander - open souce
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
Prober 
NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 24-Jun-2010 2:08:25
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2005
Posts: 43
From: Czech Republic

I have successfully contacted Patrick Sucansky, an author of the file manager NTP Commander (Norton Commander clone for the Amiga). He agreed to release it for free and also made available the source code for the never released version 2.2 (including his DICE development environment). NTP Commander is now released as open source.



Links:
NTP Commander 1.1 (ADF, 317KB)
Source code (ZIP, 514KB)
DICE (for NTP Commander use only) (ZIP, 1.7MB)

_________________
Pegasos II / 1266 Mhz, 2GB RAM, 2x 320GB HDD, ATI Radeon 9250, Sound Blaster Audigy 2, AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition Update 1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
meet.mrnrg 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 24-Jun-2010 2:24:27
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 5-Feb-2007
Posts: 1919
From: UK, AUS, US

@Prober

Great Work... I hope to use and learn from this.

_________________
Quote:
Easy Pocket Money, Freelancers & Experts Online
MiniMig FPGA, Sam440 Flex 733Mhz PPC, Amiga OS 4.1 Update 2, MorphOS 2.4, Other - AmiKit + Cloanto Amiga Forever 2008 + E-UAE, AmigaSYS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gebrochen 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 24-Jun-2010 3:43:42
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Nov-2008
Posts: 1410
From: Australia, VIC

@Prober

Ace.

Cheers.

_________________
Courtesy of SAM440Flex & Amiga OS4.1 only
CD32 / SX1 Expansion
A500 with HxC & 1mb Chip Ram, Flicker Fixer Box
C=OS (Usa) Laptops
MorphOS PowerBook G4
AROS / AmiPUP Netbook
A1000 with 1.5MB RAM.
https://blitterwolf.blogspot.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drummerboy 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 24-Jun-2010 3:51:32
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Jul-2003
Posts: 377
From: Santa Fe, Argentina - San Jose Costa Rica

@Prober

Yeah.. Great Job!!..

Thanks!

_________________
Amiga 1000, 500, 600, 2000, 1200, 4000...

C= VIC 20 / 64 / SX64/ 128

Atari 600XL (SIC Cartdridge)
Atari 800XL (SIO2SD Unit)

Jay Miner`s Atari 2600 - Wood front -

"Amiga, this Computer have a Own Live"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Prober 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 25-Jun-2010 21:44:01
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2005
Posts: 43
From: Czech Republic

Is anyone able to compile these source files? Just for the classic Amiga, not for AmigaOS 4, MorphOS, AROS. I would like to try the latest version of NTP Commander...

_________________
Pegasos II / 1266 Mhz, 2GB RAM, 2x 320GB HDD, ATI Radeon 9250, Sound Blaster Audigy 2, AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition Update 1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Prober 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 7:01:14
#6 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2005
Posts: 43
From: Czech Republic

really nobody?

_________________
Pegasos II / 1266 Mhz, 2GB RAM, 2x 320GB HDD, ATI Radeon 9250, Sound Blaster Audigy 2, AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition Update 1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 7:16:27
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5192
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@Prober

Does that NTP Commander provide anything new over Dopus4 (or any other amiga file managers)?

IMO, "Norton commander" tools are so retarded that they should not have existed since the 80's...

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 7:37:41
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2968
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

@Prober

Why ??

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 8:31:43
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10146
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Prober

Quote:
NTP Commander - open souce


BTW is spelt sauce. Hehe.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 10:25:43
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3396
From: Sweden

@Prober

Sorry but would ANYONE really want software with a GUI like this one in 2010???
Calling it a GUI is also stretching it...

Personally I would not choose this software even if it had the best features.

Last edited by Samwel on 14-Jul-2010 at 10:26 AM.
Last edited by Samwel on 14-Jul-2010 at 10:26 AM.

_________________
/Harry

[SOLD] A1-C - 750GX 800MHz - 512MB - Antec Aria case

Avatar by HNL_DK!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dwyloc 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 14:03:44
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Mar-2005
Posts: 1052
From: Glasgow, Scotland

@Samwel
Quote:

Samwel wrote:
Sorry but would ANYONE really want software with a GUI like this one in 2010???
Calling it a GUI is also stretching it...

Personally I would not choose this software even if it had the best features.


Yes, I still use midnight commander on a Linux box from the command line over ssh everyday and it looks about the same. Just because a GUI dose not look flashy dose not mean it dose not work well. Its clean and easy to read and works well at a low resolution.

Under OS4 and on my expanded A1200 I would much rather use DOpus4, but I could see myself using it on my minimig.

Last edited by Dwyloc on 14-Jul-2010 at 04:04 PM.

_________________
Sam440ep 667mhz, 512MB, 120GB 2.5" HD, OS4.1FE
WinUae 3.0.0, OS 3.9, BB3, Catweasel MkIV
Amiga 1200, Blizzard 040/40 (BlizzardPPC 060/200 with SCSI removed at present), mediatorSX pci, Voodoo3, PCI network card os 3.9BB2
4MB Minimig with ARM addon boar

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 15:55:10
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10146
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Samwel

Quote:
Sorry but would ANYONE really want software with a GUI like this one in 2010???


Yes, reminds of a Debian Linux install in text mode while Ubuntu uses a GUI.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cv643d 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 16:23:31
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-May-2009
Posts: 262
From: Stockholm - Sweden

IMHO Dopus is retarded, programmers should not do the gui IMHO.

NC is clean and you can work very fast and efficient in the "NC" environment.

This GUI rules also, used to run NTP on my Amiga and MC on Linux box. On the Windows box I run Total commander, but miss the NC look and feel.

Best is that the same keyboard shortcuts on all systems almost.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 17:17:22
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2968
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....



_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 17:19:37
#15 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 759
From: UK

@cv643d

Personally I never liked Dopus either... Diskmaster II FTW!

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
clebin 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 17:49:48
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Oct-2003
Posts: 1705
From: Unknown

@DBAlex

Nah, poor man's Filemaster!

Chris

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 14-Jul-2010 17:57:04
#17 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 759
From: UK

@clebin



Sssh, troll.

Last edited by DBAlex on 14-Jul-2010 at 05:58 PM.

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_Steve_ 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 15-Jul-2010 21:29:18
#18 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Oct-2002
Posts: 6782
From: UK

@Prober

Quote:

Prober wrote:
Is anyone able to compile these source files? Just for the classic Amiga, not for AmigaOS 4, MorphOS, AROS. I would like to try the latest version of NTP Commander...


I had a quick go using my SAS/C environment, but I ran into far too many errors to complete the compile. I may give it a bash using the DICE environment supplied in a moment.

_________________
Test sig

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_Steve_ 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 17-Jul-2010 3:35:45
#19 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Oct-2002
Posts: 6782
From: UK

@Prober

OK, I have managed to compile a version using a mixture of the DICE environment and my SAS/C includes/libs (as some were notably missing in the DICE environment supplied).

If I still have problems accessing my ftp space, I'll have to e-mail it to you.

_________________
Test sig

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Prober 
Re: NTP Commander - open souce
Posted on 17-Jul-2010 16:11:28
#20 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2005
Posts: 43
From: Czech Republic

@_Steve_

Perfect, thanks

_________________
Pegasos II / 1266 Mhz, 2GB RAM, 2x 320GB HDD, ATI Radeon 9250, Sound Blaster Audigy 2, AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition Update 1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle