Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6056 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
58 crawler(s) on-line.
 24 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Karlos

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Karlos:  2 mins ago
 Hammer:  10 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  11 mins ago
 zipper:  20 mins ago
 OlafS25:  1 hr 7 mins ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 33 mins ago
 geit:  1 hr 45 mins ago
 21stcentury:  1 hr 54 mins ago
 pixie:  1 hr 58 mins ago
 VooDoo:  2 hrs 24 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Inc. offshoot
      /  The New Commodore Amiga 500x and Commodore 64x
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 Next Page )
PosterThread
IslandDreamer 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 21:12:22
#61 ]
Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2008
Posts: 71
From: Los Angeles, USA

@BigBentheAussie

Now you're talking!

_________________
C64 / A1000 x 2 / A4000 / A4000T / iMica

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Arko 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 22:59:36
#62 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2007
Posts: 1989
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

Quote:

BigBentheAussie wrote:
@Arko

Quote:
Do you have got the device you ordered in May ?
Do they have the rights for the Commodore brabd name now ?
Are there any evidences they ever sold a product ?

Well, I got mine.....


So CommodoreUSA is at least more than another "announcing but not delivering" company.

So I wish them some luck, maybe a little success could interest other companies for Commodore/Amiga related products, even if I don't share the enthusiasm about keyboard computers, I would like to see some investors developing a Minimig driven game console toy computer or some people developing a x86 driven retro console with AROS inside.

_________________
AmigaONE. Haha. Just because you can put label on it does not make it Amiga.

I borrowed this comments from here (#27 & #28):
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=38873&forum=2&start=20&order=0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tommywright 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 23:23:20
#63 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jan-2010
Posts: 359
From: Asheville, NC

@Arko

Why don't they make minimig as a card or addon to a ppc or x86 board? That way we could have the best of both. Is emulation just as good?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 1:16:54
#64 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4680
From: Australia

@Arko

Quote:

Arko wrote:

So CommodoreUSA is at least more than another "announcing but not delivering" company.

So I wish them some luck, maybe a little success could interest other companies for Commodore/Amiga related products, even if I don't share the enthusiasm about keyboard computers, I would like to see some investors developing a Minimig driven game console toy computer or some people developing a x86 driven retro console with AROS inside.


They could do X86 based a hybrid PC/games console with pre-loaded Valve's Steam/Impulse/Direct2Drive, pre-loaded Amiga Forever (optional), pre-loaded C64 Forever (optional), and dual boot with AROS/NVIDIA drivers.

Last edited by Hammer on 12-Aug-2010 at 01:59 AM.
Last edited by Hammer on 12-Aug-2010 at 01:57 AM.
Last edited by Hammer on 12-Aug-2010 at 01:39 AM.
Last edited by Hammer on 12-Aug-2010 at 01:39 AM.

_________________
Ryzen 9 7900X, DDR5-6000 64 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 4080 16 GB
Amiga 1200 (Rev 1D1, KS 3.2, PiStorm32lite/RPi 4B 4GB/Emu68)
Amiga 500 (Rev 6A, KS 3.2, PiStorm/RPi 3a/Emu68)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 2:19:16
#65 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4680
From: Australia

@AmiDelf2

Quote:

AmiDelf2 wrote:
@BigBentheAussie

Hi. Why don't you talk with NATAMI crew? Maybe Commodore could produce new Amigas again? Commodore biggest mistake was their PC dedication with Medhi Ali which wanted to kill Amiga. In 1993 when Commodore decided to get rid of their PC division, their financial loss turned positive, but not enough for Commodore to live further than April 1994.

Anyway, good luck :) Commodore is never the same without Amiga dedication for sure!

By the 1994-1995 time period, the old CBM wasn't competitive against one-trick-pony/specialised GPU vendors.

Last edited by Hammer on 12-Aug-2010 at 02:20 AM.

_________________
Ryzen 9 7900X, DDR5-6000 64 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 4080 16 GB
Amiga 1200 (Rev 1D1, KS 3.2, PiStorm32lite/RPi 4B 4GB/Emu68)
Amiga 500 (Rev 6A, KS 3.2, PiStorm/RPi 3a/Emu68)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigang 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 8:25:34
#66 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 1948
From: Cheshire, England

I dont know about this Commodore business, I wish you luck and I hope its not just a scam and you do produce that Amiga fantasy case, but for me its a wait and see approach. It be cool however if you just make the case available for sale.

I notice also the other day that the ASUS Eee keyboard is due for lunch soon, ( review ) most probably why there is new interest in going back to the idea of having the whole computer in a keyboard solution. intresting times

@tommywright

Quote:
Why don't they make minimig as a card or addon to a ppc or x86 board? That way we could have the best of both. Is emulation just as good?


kind of already exist, CATWEASEL MK4 PLUS (PCI card) lets you use all you old Amiga stuff on a PC or on Aros now with the drivers, and UAE is pretty good emulator so that all you need.

Last edited by amigang on 12-Aug-2010 at 08:28 AM.

_________________
AmigaNG, YouTube, LeaveReality Studio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
eniacfoa 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 9:27:18
#67 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 4-Sep-2007
Posts: 355
From: Melbourne

@BigBentheAussie

I think its fantastic that commodore want to live in the today and tomorrow - not the yesteryear. Its even better that there is great respect for the history. Its even better better that commodore wants to help amiga. And the icing on the cake is the dialog between the company and the community.

If they solely focused on amiga/c64 retro stuff, they will never revive the name. Welcome to amiga's paradox. they cant/wont go x86, so there isnt even a remote possibility of any real progress. just hobbying on, which is fine, but dont expect Commodore to do the same...are u thinking they arent doing the name justice so far? I think they are. I think any complaints are just people living in the past.

I find it logically challenging that people would want Commodore to forget about pc's and focus on retro market. With the right management, they could be tomorrows DELL, there is nothing stopping that but the talent and brains behind the company, and they seem to have the right idea - so far - which is make some goddamn money, something the amiga community forgot about.

... I absolutely love how the c64 is integrated into the PC. Surely you can see them doing amiga stuff as well in the future...I feel pretty sure whatever amiga projects they want to get behind, they are going to be a positive force .

I applaud the companies vision and efforts so far. If you want them to help amiga, our little retro system, they are going to need to make money. Let them make money, revive the name and then maybe u might actually see some cool amiga stuff...

KEEP IT UP COMMODORE.

Im sure if they can get their volumes up that prices will come down too.

Feedback -

I personally think they should also offer some more lower spec machines cheaper. There is more chance of cracking the market by appealing to a wider spectrum.

I think the mousepad needs to be less viable, like on an imac or sumthin...same color as the case, etc...it stands out too much and to me is the only ugly part of the case...

Last edited by eniacfoa on 12-Aug-2010 at 09:39 AM.

_________________
In a world of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act.

http://ozconspiracyhouse.myfastforum.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Neraka 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 12:36:00
#68 ]
New Member
Joined: 27-Sep-2009
Posts: 5
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

Your black Amiga 1200 like casing is - in my eyes - simply the most beautiful PC casing ever made (if it ever gets made looking like this)! Simply WOW.

In case you wonder the A1200 is my all time favorite casing

I will follow the project closely and I'm already tuned in on ordering one as a replacement for my current rather bulky PC tower. If my PC could have looks in direction of my A1200, then count me in

If hardware parts can even be upgraded then its the ultimate transportable PC, but I guess that won't be an option...

Now my biggest wish is for AmigaOS to either run natively on this x86 machine (I don't ! want to start yet another discussion on this topic) or that A-EON would produce a X1200 main board fitting this cabinet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 12:36:10
#69 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10977
From: Greensborough, Australia

@BigBentheAussie

This is confusing, at least for those of us who know our computer history. Why does the Commodore 64bit look like a black Amiga A1200 with a MUI Workbench and dock? It even has Amiga keys. What's that got to do with a Commodore 64? Huh.

That's the first thing I see when I goto your link. Along with a rendered old CRT monitor with a chopped off head.

And below there is an old C64 with most disgusting keys! I mean, c'mon, surely if you show a C64 you show the modern version in beige. The one my friends had.

But what I really wanna know is, where is the PC16 and PC+4? Hahaha. You gotta complete the line up man!

Then later...
Quote:
Ask yourself what Commodore would be doing now if they'd never died in the 90s...and you'll probably get the answer to all your questions. It'd likely be rather close to what Apple are doing.


Okay, I asked my self, and have now told myself the answer. They would have have kept their chip making division and would now be making their own CPUs.

Last edited by Hypex on 12-Aug-2010 at 12:58 PM.
Last edited by Hypex on 12-Aug-2010 at 12:52 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Manu 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 12:48:18
#70 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Feb-2004
Posts: 1561
From: Unknown

@Hypex

if you read his post carefully

Quote:

Those are only preliminary specs for the Fantasy/C500.
What PC hardware do you want in there?

The Commodore PC64 will be as close to the original C64 in design as possible.


Fantasy = C500
PC64 = C64 design

_________________
AmigaOS or MorphOS on x86 would sell orders of magnitude more than the current,
hardware-intensive solutions. And they'd go faster.-- D.Haynie

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 12:59:05
#71 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4680
From: Australia

@BigBentheAussie

Does Fantasy/C500 include MXM slots?

Is it possible for Fantasy/C500 to be GPU bias i.e. desktop GPU with mobile Core i5/i7 instead of desktop Core i7 with mobile GPU.

Last edited by Hammer on 12-Aug-2010 at 01:01 PM.
Last edited by Hammer on 12-Aug-2010 at 01:00 PM.

_________________
Ryzen 9 7900X, DDR5-6000 64 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 4080 16 GB
Amiga 1200 (Rev 1D1, KS 3.2, PiStorm32lite/RPi 4B 4GB/Emu68)
Amiga 500 (Rev 6A, KS 3.2, PiStorm/RPi 3a/Emu68)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mark76 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 13:21:41
#72 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2010
Posts: 61
From: Leicester

Moving from Power PC chips to x86_32/64 is a perfectly logical step. It's one Apple took (after moving from 68K to PPC), and one that, I've no doubt, the original Commodore would have made had they lasted beyond 1994. They might even have gone straight from 68K to x86 without ever passing through PPC in the first place.

Using PPC chips in gear branded Commodore would be as inauthentic as fitting a Wankel rotary engine in a Spitfire.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 13:50:21
#73 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@BigBentheAussie
Nice stuff, would love to see an AmigaOne X500 in the Phoenix case (Commodore AmigaOne X500 how do you like that?! ).

One thing that concerns me in this small form factor devices (including the standard Sam440EP and macMini for that matter) is lack of expandability on the graphics part. The A500 initially had little use for better graphics as it came with a great built in sub system, but today things have changed (well not exactly "today" but many years ago), and non being able to upgrade a graphic card might hinder the experience a lot.

In the past this wasn't an issue on Amiga as there were no advanced drivers but I reckon these machines can use Windows (and even AOS4 is evolving in this regard with new drivers in the making) so what kind of graphics chip do these things come with and what solutions would be available for expansion?

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
persia 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 14:14:31
#74 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2009
Posts: 1059
From: Unknown

@DAX

Don't think to hard or you'll see the basic design flaw in the screenless laptop idea....

These are not things you buy because there's any practical reason behind them, they are things you buy because you think they look cool. They actually manage to combine the disadvantages of both laptops and desktops into one package.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 14:15:09
# ]

0
0

@BigBentheAussie

Congratulations Ben! (what do you mean your name's not Ben? When did this happen? Does Leo know about this? Are any of our login names safe!?)

I admit I was one of the people who originally thought the Commodore USA thing was a hoax, but I'm glad to be shown up as a fool (again). Sorry, Barry.

Great to hear the detail level on the C500 comes down the keyboard. Are we talking chunky DEL / HELP keys, etc or is it PC layout with Commodore-style labels? I didn't see Wi-fi there although it's on the Phoenix - is this planned?

Anyway, good luck. I want one!

Chris

 
     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 16:14:10
#76 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@persia

Quote:
Don't think to hard or you'll see the basic design flaw in the screenless laptop idea....

How many people buy a laptop, connect it to a monitor, keyboard and mouse, and then just leave it that way? A fair few, and I'm one of them. Not everyone requires the ultimate portability of a laptop, and not everyone wants a big hulking monster box on their desk. Nettops and small form factor PCs go some of the way to cutting out desk clutter, but if you're going to use a keyboard anyway, the computer in a keyboard concept does do the trick. I'm one of those people that have always had a stationary computer in their study or bedroom or whatever. A "computer" room. Why shouldn't it be a Commodore computer keyboard? It's in the exact same position my previous keyboard was and my desk no longer has a big box on it with noisy fans. You don't need a Swiss army knife to cut something. And you know, if you really need a keyboard you can put on your lap, you know you can always plug one into a Commodore too. If you must, consider this a small form factor PC with a bonus keyboard.

I also own a laptop and even a netbook for when I'm on the go, which in my case is rare....I also can't bring myself to get a tablet....until Commodore makes one that is.

Of all my devices what do you think gets the most usage? My Commodore... because at the end of the day the majority of people are going to do their computing at a desk. Yeah, there will be people who have their laptop open while they're watching TV in their living room, but we don't have to solve every possible use case with the one product.

And of course if you don't want your Commodore to remain "screenless", there will be Commodore monitors available some time soon.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wodenhelm 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 16:25:03
#77 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Oct-2009
Posts: 11
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

My *only* quip, is the presence of the Windows logo on the "super" key. Perhaps the C= logo would be more fitting?

Otherwise, seeing this thread made my day :D

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Argosy 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 16:38:02
#78 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2010
Posts: 129
From: Shores of Adriatic sea



screenless laptop(or comoputer in keyboard) idea isn't bad... the only thing to worry would be cooling and dust.

I've got a Toshiba laptop with AMD64 x 2 proc and a ATI HD2600 GPU. The damn thing gets so hot you could make an omlet on it. I had to reduce both CPU and GPU output to get it to decent temperatures.

the other thing is dust... it will get in so make sure that the computer case is made of solid material so when you have to clean it up you don't brake something in the process.

_________________
The shadow is cast on who you used to be,
Let me set you free.
Come now, come take my hand, then you'll understand,
We'll go to that forbidden land.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 16:38:05
#79 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@clebin

Quote:
Great to hear the detail level on the C500 comes down the keyboard. Are we talking chunky DEL / HELP keys, etc or is it PC layout with Commodore-style labels? I didn't see Wi-fi there although it's on the Phoenix - is this planned?

I'm sure there'll be an option if it isn't standard.
The C500 will be standard PC layout, with Commodore-style labels, and possibly even media keys. It won't be exactly like the render. It is ultimately a PC so we need all the standard keys.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Argosy 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 12-Aug-2010 16:44:51
#80 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2010
Posts: 129
From: Shores of Adriatic sea

@BigBentheAussie


Quote:
The C500 will be standard PC layout, with Commodore-style labels, and possibly even media keys. It won't be exactly like the render. It is ultimately a PC so we need all the standard keys.


I hate media keys... I much prefer a simple, clean, lasting design to a overpopulated keyboard. IMHO, don't do it... both original C64 and A500 had very clean, minimalistic design which looks good to this day.

_________________
The shadow is cast on who you used to be,
Let me set you free.
Come now, come take my hand, then you'll understand,
We'll go to that forbidden land.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle