Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5603 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 eliyahu,  Trekiej

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Trekiej:  32 secs ago
 eliyahu:  1 min ago
 billt:  12 mins ago
 bhabbott:  18 mins ago
 ne_one:  24 mins ago
 kinchan:  31 mins ago
 Barret:  41 mins ago
 freak:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 26 mins ago
 Spectre660:  1 hr 27 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
Deniil715 
New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 7-Aug-2011 1:26:47
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

A new beta of Ann 3.0 is out. It is internally called 2.7.8. There is a mixture of bugfixes and new features.

- A bug in the default prefs caused it to always try to open a screen and the keyboard selection probably failed. Fixed.
- Fixed reloading syntax. Flushed all editors' syntax.
- Couldn't single-click to exchange editors when save-on-inactive is selected.
- Replace aand find forgot the first line.
- Implemented Live Search; like emacs the editor will continously find the closest match when you type.
- Implemented inconification. (not working I think)
- Stopped the jumping of text when cutting or deleting text at the top.
- Added arexx commands SHOW_EX_EDITOR and HIDE_EDITOR.
- Fixed loading of macros.
- Added the menu/hotkeys Tools to the prefs.
- Fixed some screen handling and quitting issues, prefs saving etc.
- Added saving of open/closed status of the Ed Exchange for project.
- Monitors file changes and alerts when a file was changed on disk.

You can find it here: http://hem.bredband.net/deniil/

Last edited by Deniil715 on 07-Aug-2011 at 12:27 PM.
Last edited by Deniil715 on 07-Aug-2011 at 02:00 AM.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 7-Aug-2011 12:30:02
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

@Deniil715

Hehe, ok I've had a few whiskeys yesterday when I implemented the final features and fixes and did the release so maybe I missed something. I also forgot the link to where I put it...

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sicky 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 7-Aug-2011 13:10:50
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2797
From: Essex, UK

@Deniil715

Excuse my ignorance but what is Annotate?

_________________
SAM 460 with 2GB or RAM, 1000GB HD, 4 port SATA, DVDRW drive and Radeon HD 4650 GFX card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai_Crow 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 7-Aug-2011 13:24:04
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2003
Posts: 2080
From: Ft. Collins, Colorado, USA

@sicky

It's a text editor for writing computer programs with.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 8-Aug-2011 14:45:31
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

@sicky

Quote:
Excuse my ignorance but what is Annotate?


Oh, sorry! I made the classical mistake, didn't I
However, this wasn't a news item or I would be really ashamed. This beta is mostly for those who already use Ann.

Ann(otate) is a text editor with lots of features including syntax highlighting that makes it extra easy to write code or web pages or edit XML documents etc.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
serk118 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 8-Aug-2011 16:43:48
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Nov-2004
Posts: 681
From: London(uk)

@Deniil715

aros version???

_________________
http://aros-exec.org/

http://serk118.blogspot.com/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 9-Aug-2011 7:41:05
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

@serk118

AROS version is coming in the full release.
I only make OS4 version of these betas since the MUI GUIs are not in sync. Infact, the new Ed Exchange that is actually useable does not exist in MUI at all yet and the old GT is not compatible anymore. Some work to be done there...

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
serk118 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 9-Aug-2011 14:01:02
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Nov-2004
Posts: 681
From: London(uk)

@serk118

great editor & can we have the scroll bar on the right or have a option for user
to select in settings.

thank you..

_________________
http://aros-exec.org/

http://serk118.blogspot.com/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nikosidis 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 9-Aug-2011 14:03:17
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Dec-2008
Posts: 839
From: Norway, Oslo

@Deniil715

AROS version in full release. Great, thx :D

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 9-Aug-2011 14:28:38
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

@serk118

Scrollbar on the right is already implemented! It is optional. The left custom bar will still be there though since it contains useful information such as modified sections, where the cursor is, if and where there is a selection, the last cursor positions and scroll stores.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 9-Aug-2011 14:30:31
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

@nikosidis

If I'm not mistaken, there should already be an AROS version of v2.7 in the archive on os4depot.net and aminet.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
emeck 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 15-Aug-2011 15:23:26
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Apr-2003
Posts: 673
From: Barcelona, Spain

@Deniil715

I have installed v2.7 and when I try to use syntax highlighting a meesage says: Found no suitable syntax for this editor. I've tried with C++ and Amiga E sources.

I'm running AOS 3.5 (no BoingBags) and expat.library 4.1 under E-UAE.

BTW, it works with the AROS version.

Last edited by emeck on 15-Aug-2011 at 03:24 PM.

_________________
PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.9
PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.9
Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 15-Aug-2011 19:28:49
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

@emeck

Hmm, strange. I must say I haven't tested OS3 on a real OS3 system though, only the OS3 executable on OS4.

Do you think you can run SnoopDos or something similar to see if something failes during startup and when loading a C or E source? However, MOS and OS3 uses the same code for opening expat.library and it works on MOS I'm sure.

I believe there has to be something wrong with paths somewhere so it doesn't find AnnotateSyntax.xml.

Also, have you tried selecting "Try Syntax highlighting" from the Tools menu directly? Guess you did since you got that message... Please check in the Config if there are any syntaxes loaded there, or if it is possible to (re)load them.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
emeck 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 15-Aug-2011 19:42:51
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Apr-2003
Posts: 673
From: Barcelona, Spain

@Deniil715

Yes, there are syntaxes in the config and can use both, C/C++ and E syntax. Is the menu that gives the error.

I'll check now with SnoopDOS.

Edit:
This is SnoopDos log.
Quote:

Count Process Name Action Target Name Options Res.
----- ------------ ------ ----------- ------- ----
1 WBL ChangeDir Work:Annotate
2 WBL Load Ann.AmigaOS3 OK
3 WBL ChangeDir SYS:
4 Ann.AmigaOS3 Open CON://///AUTO/CLOSE/WAIT Read OK
5 KingCON DOS-proces Open ENV:Sys/def_KingCON.info Read Fail
6 Ann.AmigaOS3 ChangeDir Work:Annotate
7 Ann.AmigaOS3 Open ENV:Annotate.xml Read OK
8 Ann.AmigaOS3 Open ENVARC:AnnotateLastLine.xml Read Fail
9 Ann.AmigaOS3 Open AnnTools Read Fail
10 Ann.AmigaOS3 Open s:AnnTools Read Fail
11 Ann.AmigaOS3 Open Default.AnnMacs Read Fail
12 Ann.AmigaOS3 Open s:Default.AnnMacs Read Fail
13 Ann.AmigaOS3 Open Workspace:PortablE/Examples Read OK
14 Ann.AmigaOS3 Open AnnotateSyntax.xml Read OK


AnnotateSyntax.xml is in the drawer but I don't see AnnotateLastLine.xml

Edit 2:
Trying different c sources. With some, syntax highlighting works automatically when loading the file, for others doesn't. Even a simple source file with just a printf in main fails. SnoopDos output is the same, no matter if it works or not.

I can send the files if you want. They are some intuition examples that I don't remember where I downloaded.

Last edited by emeck on 15-Aug-2011 at 08:43 PM.
Last edited by emeck on 15-Aug-2011 at 08:42 PM.
Last edited by emeck on 15-Aug-2011 at 08:03 PM.

_________________
PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.9
PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.9
Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 16-Aug-2011 10:21:50
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

@emeck

Aha, I think I know what the problem is: Your source files may be too short for them to be positively identified. The larger the source - The higher the chance of a correct recognition.

Quote:
Even a simple source file with just a printf in main fails.

Yes of course. Here "printf" could have been a comment in a text document, or a bash script or anything. "main" is just a common English word. Ann needs to find more special C/C++ or E keywords and tokens in a file to be sure it is really that particular language.

If you open the AnnotateSyntax.xml file you can see in the qualifying section for each language what must exist for it to be recognized. You can also of course change it if you like it to be less strict when qualifying a syntax for a text. But beware that it may very well make annoying mistakes too. Remember that it will not choose the language the fits *best*, it will choose the language that fit *first*, and it searches from the bottom of the xml file and up.

AnnotateLastLine.xml contains a list of files you have edited in the past and the last line you were at when you saved or closed the file the last time. You have to enable this feature manually. Don't worry about the file.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
emeck 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 16-Aug-2011 11:34:05
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Apr-2003
Posts: 673
From: Barcelona, Spain

@Deniil715

Quote:
Aha, I think I know what the problem is: Your source files may be too short for them to be positively identified. The larger the source - The higher the chance of a correct recognition.


Ok, that is then. I've been trying with small examples. Yes, the larger files are recognized immediately. No problem then, I'll keep practicing so my source files grew larger

_________________
PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.9
PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.9
Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 16-Aug-2011 13:24:24
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

@emeck

Maybe the "qualifiying" as I call it should also take into account how large the file is, so that if the file is small and it only finds a few correct tokens, it would be ok. But if the file is large, a lot more tokens need to be present to make it ok.

This would prevent plain text files with a few programming words in them from being incorrectly recognized, but at the same time allow small, pure source files to be correctly recognized as well.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
eliyahu 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 19-Aug-2012 14:19:11
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2010
Posts: 1763
From: Waterbury, Connecticut (USA)

@Deniil715

any news on annotate v3.0? the beta builds are no longer available on the site linked to in this thread.

edit: whoops. forgot to try the built-in update features. i now have annotate v3.0 on my machines, and am very pleased indeed. thanks for keeping this terrific editor alive!



-- eliyahu

Last edited by eliyahu on 19-Aug-2012 at 02:34 PM.

_________________

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 19-Aug-2012 18:35:04
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4168
From: Sweden

@eliyahu

Yes, due to various reasons, the public release hasn't happened yet, but the auto update has been out for a few month now. So you who have the Audio update feature turned off, try just running it manually from the config window to get v3.0!

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tbreeden 
Re: New Annotate v3.0 beta3!
Posted on 20-Aug-2012 16:52:36
#20 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Feb-2004
Posts: 117
From: Charlottesville, Virginia, USA

@Deniil715
Quote:
- Fixed loading of macros.


Hooray! Works great now.

Tom

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle