Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5620 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 72 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 ggw

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 ggw:  3 mins ago
 L8Knight:  5 mins ago
 RobertB:  18 mins ago
 Kremlar:  39 mins ago
 BigD:  44 mins ago
 Trekiej:  49 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr ago
 tonyw:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 amigasociety:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 Yssing:  1 hr 7 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Register To Post

PosterThread
danwood 
Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 30-Aug-2011 22:53:33
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2008
Posts: 1058
From: Unknown

After many hours of trying to solve crashes with many MUI based apps (IBrowse, YAM, SabreMSN, and MUI prefs itself) a few hours in the Amigaworld IRC channel and we sorted it on my system.

This solution may help others users who were suffering from similar, unexplained crashes too. Basically we found out that the version of muimaster.library was an older version resident in RAM to the version in MUI: after some digging it seems I had some older MUI files installed in LIBS:

Now I was baffled, I'd deleted everything related to MUI, configs, ENVARC:Mui sys;mui etc. all restored from update 2/3.

But a MUI directory and the libraries were present in my LIBS: directory. Now, as other users are experiencing the same problem, we can only assume some Installer from some app we have all installed has put these files there, more than likely an update to a MUI class or component. So the solution is to

delete libs:mui#?

then reboot. The system will then use the files from sys:mui instead, which should be current versions! I'm happy to report all MUI apps are working as expected now, looking forward to MUI-OWB!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ddni 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 30-Aug-2011 22:58:09
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2007
Posts: 818
From: Northern Ireland

@danwood

Great news. So not too angry at update3 now??

_________________
AmigaOne X1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
danwood 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 30-Aug-2011 23:01:20
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2008
Posts: 1058
From: Unknown

@ddni

USB 2.0 isn't working still with my Apple keyboard but I can live without it. :)

Would be interested to know if anyone else is using an Apple slimline keyboard with OS4.1.3?

Last edited by danwood on 30-Aug-2011 at 11:01 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 30-Aug-2011 23:48:23
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

@danwood

I can certainly test a regular Apple keyboard you.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 0:32:48
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2085
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@danwood

Was this a full MUI install in libs:, or just some of the mui files.
If so, you may be able to identify the rogue mui install, so users can check if they use those classes.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
danwood 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 5:50:06
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2008
Posts: 1058
From: Unknown

@Swoop

Seemed to be the main mui libraries and a version of the mui libs drawer too.
They had MagicWB icons and inside libs/mui/ were drawers named OS3 OS4 and MOS too. No idea which installer dumped them there, but they caused big problems.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
danwood 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 5:50:53
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2008
Posts: 1058
From: Unknown

@djrikki

Please, if you don't mind, my keyboard is this one:

http://thmb.inkfrog.com/thumbn/snoopersparadise/Apple_Q-2.JPG=600

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cha05e90 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 7:19:09
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2009
Posts: 1268
From: Germany

@danwood

Quote:
Seemed to be the main mui libraries and a version of the mui libs drawer too.


Oh dear, this is wrong with all versions of all Amiga-esque operating systems )OS3.x, OS4.x, MorphOS)...

_________________
X1000|II/G4|440ep|2000/060|2000/040|1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mr2 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 7:59:11
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 3-Feb-2004
Posts: 632
From: Poland

@danwood

I have Apple compact keyboard (without numeric keys). The keyboard works ok but I'm unable to use its HUB. Before U3 pendrives worked well but now OS says there is not enough power to feed devices. Requester appears and wants me to confirm this information but sometimes mouse and keyboard stop working so I have to reset my SAM.
The same pendrive works very well in SAM usb ports.
Whats interesting, just after U3 this message appeared once as notification but after that it appears only as a system requester

Last edited by mr2 on 31-Aug-2011 at 08:00 AM.

_________________
Sam440ep-flex 800MHz 1GB RAM R9250 128MB SB Live!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
itix 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 8:49:04
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2004
Posts: 3398
From: Freedom world

@danwood

This could be avoided if developer used Installer utility instead of shell scripts. Looks like this was not a case and application install overwrite your operating system files with old versions.

_________________
Amiga Developer
Amiga 500, Efika, Mac Mini and PowerBook

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RuDeE 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 9:16:02
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Jul-2003
Posts: 154
From: Haugesund, Norway

@danwood

Hi,

I'm using an Apple slimline keyboard with OS4.1.3 and it seems to be working fine.

_________________
God is a man with a grey beard. His name is Jay Glenn Miner.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
VooDoo 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 10:10:27
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2003
Posts: 1495
From: Croatia

@danwood

Ahh thanx a God..and here problem is gone..Only what I need is deleting muimaster.library from LIBS after this no MUI crashes...

Thanx to Danwood and other ppl who is helping me!

_________________
--
A1200 sandwich :)

uA1c/g3-800 mHz/512mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 Final + upd #1

MacMini G4 1.5ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.9

Croatian Amiga portal

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 11:10:43
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

@danwood

I can confirm the Apple standard keyboard (wired) works fine on my SAM 460.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
vox 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 31-Aug-2011 19:51:41
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Jun-2005
Posts: 3725
From: Belgrade, Serbia

@danwood

Good solution was not that hard to find and that MUI apps are back

_________________
Future Acube and MOS supporter, fi di good, nothing fi di unprofessionals. Learn it harder way!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
daveyw 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 18-Sep-2011 3:00:50
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 274
From: New Zealand

@danwood

I haven't had any crashes with MUI (at least, any that I *know* is because of MUI), but I am having a couple of annoying problems with MUI on 4.1 update 3.

Firstly, sometimes while browsing with either IBrowse or OWB-MUI, my font sizes all default back to size 8, making things a tad hard to read. Seems to happen on Linkedin. IIRC, this was a problem on Classic Amigas as well, and it was caused by MUI using a font too large for the screen.

Secondly, opening a listview e.g. my hotlist on either IBrowse or MUI-OWB is fine, but closing it becomes very, very slow. Some of my groups have alot of links, and it takes a while to close. Maybe a problem with NListTree?

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 P5020 2Ghz, OS 4.1
AmigaOne XE G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 40Mhz 68040, OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: Update 3 MUI Issues Possible Fix
Posted on 18-Sep-2011 4:28:34
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@daveyw

Quote:
Maybe a problem with NListTree?


I'm pratically sure that browse or MUI-OWB don't use Nlist for their hotlists.

There are some refresh problems on the MUI-OWB hotlist surely caused by a little problem on the List class on the new MUI 3.9 for AOS4.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle