Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5704 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 46 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Xenic:  9 mins ago
 pseudaxos:  12 mins ago
 Jasper:  30 mins ago
 IRTheBorg:  33 mins ago
 phoenixkonsole:  38 mins ago
 Barret:  44 mins ago
 utri007:  49 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 PR:  1 hr 56 mins ago
 simplex:  2 hrs 27 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  ftpd my problem (unsolved)
Register To Post

PosterThread
djrikki 
ftpd my problem (unsolved)
Posted on 31-Aug-2012 11:08:36
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

Using ftpd here installed it yesterday, got it listing a directory in TextWrangler. But how do I change the default path? Atm its set-up as RAM:T. Also it doesn't appear to want to open any text files - TextWrangler reportss kErrCouldNotStartDataTransfer (application error code: 22160).

Alternatively, whats the best way to get a folder/drive shared on other network computers on the local network. I can only reach other computers from AmigaOS atm, but not the other way around.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: ftpd my problem (unsolved)
Posted on 31-Aug-2012 14:04:19
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

I have AAMP installed, I want the AmigaOne 500 below my office desk to act as the local development server. The problem being, I want to be able to reach the htdocs drawer from other computers in the office so I can copy stuff in there like graphics etc... as well as open up text files in TextWrangler.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
abalaban 
Re: ftpd my problem (unsolved)
Posted on 31-Aug-2012 14:18:48
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Oct-2004
Posts: 1103
From: France

@djrikki

I don't know about TextWrangler so can't tell what error number 22160 could mean. I suggest you try to connect using a command line ftp client if it works then maybe the problem may be from TextWrangler side which requires some sort of configuration...

_________________
AOS 4.1 : I dream it, Hyperion did it !
Now dreaming AOS 4.2...
Thank you to all devs involved for this great job !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jabirulo 
Re: ftpd my problem (unsolved)
Posted on 31-Aug-2012 19:26:53
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2004
Posts: 314
From: Donosti (GUIPUZCOA)

@djrikki
Hi, I have ftpd on my system, but rarely use it (using RC-FTPd), but here are my config files:

'DEVS:Internet/servers' has an entry like this:


ftp stream inactive stack=32768 DH1:Comm/FTP/FTPdaemon/ftpd



ftpd is located in: 'DH1:Comm/FTP/FTPdaemon/'

'ftpd.conf': YOU MUST COPY IT TO 'DEVS:internet'
++++++++++++++++++++++++++

#ftpd.conf
#
# Where can i find the FTPUsers File
FTPUsers=DH1:Comm/FTP/FTPdaemon/FTPUsers
# Where can I find my FTP.Before and FTP.After file
# please include a trailing / or :.
SignOn=DH1:Comm/FTP/FTPdaemon/
# When may I login????
# 0023: connection ftp is authorized from 00H00 'til 23H59.
CurfTWin=0023
# The external dir commando...
DevDir=SDK:local/C/ls -al
ArgDir=SDK:local/C/ls %s
# Level of logging:
# 0 - nothing
# 5 - add and delete operations
# 10 - retrieving and wrong logins
# 15 - correct logins
# 20 - Starting and stopping of the deamon.
LogLevel=20
# Where must I place the log file?
LogFile=RAM:FTP.log

++++++++++++++++++++++++++


'DH1:Comm/FTP/FTPdaemon/FTPUsers':
++++++++++++++++++++++++++

# This is the ftp user file, Format: User Password Path Permission
#
# add 1 for FTP/Mailbox Read
# add 2 for FTP/Mailbox Write
# add 4 for FTP/Mailbox Delete
# add 8 for Mailbox to AX25 gateway
# add 16 for Mailbox to TELNET gateway
# add 32 for MailBox to NET/ROM gateway
# add 64 for Mailbox for REMOTE Sysop
# add 128 for Mailbox for EXCLUDED
# add 256 for MultiUser Access
#
#==================================================
# The ftp entry is used for 'ftp' and 'anonymous' entries.....
# With multiuser it wil login under the userID 'ftp'.
#
# the rest entry is special for multiuser. It defines how all other
# usercodes must be handled. (256=MultiUser).
# Odds'n'Sods
ftp * DH7:MyFTPdrawer 255
#rest * * 263

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

By default I have such service (ftpd) inactive, when I want to use it, Just load internet prefs, go to servers and ACTIVATE.
Then go to CLI/Shell use ftp cmdline (ftp my_IP).
Login as ftp (no psw, and is the only user I have in 'FTPUsers' and it points to 'DH7:MyFTPdrawer' when I make a ls/dir command.
Hope it helps.

Last edited by jabirulo on 31-Aug-2012 at 08:01 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 31-Aug-2012 at 07:56 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 31-Aug-2012 at 07:55 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 31-Aug-2012 at 07:48 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 31-Aug-2012 at 07:45 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 31-Aug-2012 at 07:44 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 31-Aug-2012 at 07:27 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: ftpd my problem (unsolved)
Posted on 31-Aug-2012 20:30:42
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

@jabirulo

Cool a part solution.

Where can I find this rcftp btw?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thematic 
Re: ftpd my problem (unsolved)
Posted on 31-Aug-2012 20:44:07
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1614
From: I'm actually flying into a bug!

@djrikki

Aminet

_________________
: AmigaOneXE (unmod.) 750FX/512 MB +stuff & AmigaOS 4.(0|1)
: A1200/68060&96MB/SCSI/EM1200-Voodoo3 & OS 3.5
: A500/1MB
: Pegasos (ff) 512 MB & MorphOS
Praise seitan.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jabirulo 
Re: ftpd my problem (unsolved)
Posted on 1-Sep-2012 10:28:41
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2004
Posts: 314
From: Donosti (GUIPUZCOA)

@djrikki

http://aminet.net/search?query=rc-ftp

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: ftpd my problem (unsolved)
Posted on 3-Sep-2012 20:03:30
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

Followed the installation of rc-ftpd and tried to run it all I get is an error every time:

"Unable to bind port. Probably trying to start twice.'

Edit: Never mind, starting to get somewhere now if I ask for the IP address via FTP.

Last edited by djrikki on 03-Sep-2012 at 08:05 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle