Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6146 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
67 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 simplex:  37 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 terminills:  1 hr 19 mins ago
 Jasper:  1 hr 25 mins ago
 number6:  1 hr 31 mins ago
 Bradsco:  1 hr 47 mins ago
 The_Shadow:  1 hr 54 mins ago
 Chain-Q:  1 hr 58 mins ago
 tygre:  2 hrs 3 mins ago
 amigadave:  2 hrs 4 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  AROS Hardware
      /  Aros laptop ?
Register To Post

PosterThread
Metalheart 
Aros laptop ?
Posted on 26-Feb-2016 21:16:03
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2968
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

Hi all.

I was wondering if it is possible to run aros on a standard(ish) x86 laptop.

Thanks.

Martin

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Aros laptop ?
Posted on 26-Feb-2016 21:20:13
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9209
From: Unknown

@Metalheart

Of course. Native on some selected models, or at least in most virtual enviroments (eg. QEMU, VirtualBox etc.).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: Aros laptop ?
Posted on 26-Feb-2016 21:31:10
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2968
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

@pavlor

Wich selected models might that be ? Apart from the aspire.

Im realy looking fir a full size laptop.

Vrtualised might be fine if it would never sow the host os. Like amithlon did

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
deadwood 
Re: Aros laptop ?
Posted on 27-Feb-2016 6:14:12
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 4-Nov-2008
Posts: 386
From: Unknown

@Metalheart

Here is HCL for AROS. I hope this helps:

https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/x86_Complete_System_HCL

_________________
Krzysztof

https://www.axrt.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nikosidis 
Re: Aros laptop ?
Posted on 27-Feb-2016 9:41:36
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Dec-2008
Posts: 983
From: Norway, Oslo

@Metalheart

ACER aspire one 110 is very nice and cheap for running AROS. Fully supported with wi-fi native gfx etc. Sure not the most powerfull mashine in the world for gameing etc. But nice for browsing etc.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Heinz 
Re: Aros laptop ?
Posted on 27-Feb-2016 12:22:20
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Oct-2005
Posts: 212
From: Unknown

@Metalheart
A few years ago I tried AROS on two Dell Latitude Notebooks (both with Core2Duo CPU).
I think both worked quite well only WLAN did not work, but I think it would have been possible to switch the internal WLAN Card with a compatible model. Or at least you could use a USB-WLAN Card.

I believe one was a Latitude D520 and the other a Latitude E 1700 but I am not 100% sure. The smartest thing would be to burn AROS on a CD/DVD and try it before buying a Notebook.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Aros laptop ?
Posted on 27-Feb-2016 13:55:07
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1928
From: Australia

While pretty dated I used to use a Compaq presario v6610.
Its only an athlon 64x2 @ 2.4ghz and geforce 7300m based system, but it smacks the atom based systems silly (aspire one, eee PC, etc) and is a full sized laptop.

While only available second hand they're easy to find, and dirt cheap.
Mine was given to me for free, but I've seen plenty since going for $50 and less.

I'm currently using an Asus v55, which is an i5 3210m system using a gf525m, which also works nicely, but the nvidia gfx in this machine doesn't work by default (it can, but I'm not comfortable telling people new(ish) to aros how to get it running,.... its not standard "end user" tinkering).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: Aros laptop ?
Posted on 27-Feb-2016 18:18:21
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2968
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

Ok, thanks.

The Aspire is quite nice but to small for my taste. I realy want a 17 inch laptop.
Also I read about Aeros, that might be a nice option. If that means I can choose any laptop I'd like.

Does any of you have any experience with Aeros ?


Thanks

Martin

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
phoenixkonsole 
Re: Aros laptop ?
Posted on 29-Feb-2016 18:56:33
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Nov-2009
Posts: 1770
From: Unknown

@Metalheart
Hi, the problem with AEROS for PC is that it hasn't been updates for a long time.
I will finish Broadway (notifications center, Chat-tool like Skype and some other things are on the list) first and based on that will update AEROS for PC.
Realistically it will be ready somewhen at the end of the year.
I wan't to have a "finished" product this time.

If, then you should try the 3.9 version which is only available as USB-image.
Which means that you need to write the image to an 8gb or bigger USB-Stick.
The good thing is you don't need to run through the installer.

This version is based on Debian Wheezy. (this will get security updates till 2018).
The last CDROM iso was based on Debian 6 which is now unsupported.

_________________
AROS Broadway - AEROS - Aminux - AmiCloud - indieGO! Appstore - AmiWallet - VAN lossless video codec - AMC Amiga media Center -KrypUnite - LibertyNet - MinX - amigaNX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle