Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6040 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
83 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 eliyahu

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 eliyahu:  1 min ago
 SimplePPC:  6 mins ago
 kamelito:  29 mins ago
 evilFrog:  31 mins ago
 simplex:  51 mins ago
 Trixie:  54 mins ago
 fishy_fis:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 quillaston:  1 hr 25 mins ago
 outlawal2:  1 hr 34 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Who does your recapping?
Register To Post

Poll : Who recapped your Amiga(s)?
I did it myself
An individual did it
A company did it
I haven't recapped yet
Recapping is for wimps / no intention of recapping
Pancakes
 
PosterThread
A1200 
Who does your recapping?
Posted on 19-Feb-2017 22:21:39
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3028
From: Westhall, UK

For those A600, A1200 and CD32 owners or other models if you have found the desire or need to recap. Let's find out who you get to replace the capacitors if of course you have bothered. Perhaps shout out any people or organisations who you have used who offer the service to all.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Juzz 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 19-Feb-2017 23:22:11
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Mar-2003
Posts: 234
From: Korsør, Denmark

@A1200

I have used tborro from AmiBay and I am super happy with the end result
And the fact that he lives just down the street from me is also good.

Cheers
Juzz

_________________
AmigaOne Owner since 2002.
The first person to get a Linux installer running on the AmigaOne :-

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
even 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 20-Feb-2017 1:47:34
#3 ]
New Member
Joined: 5-Feb-2017
Posts: 4
From: Brazil

@A1200

I did it myself. It was a... uh... beautiful job.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 20-Feb-2017 16:24:10
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1680
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@A1200

I have a list of a few people who do repairs and recapping on my website, though there are plenty of other people too. I can add to the list of course if people have recommendations.

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 21-Feb-2017 17:56:17
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1420
From: Unknown

Why do one need to make recapping? I have several Amigas and none has had the need for recapping.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 22-Feb-2017 10:13:25
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1680
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@Niolator

Because capacitors (specifically aluminium electrolytic capacitors) degrade and fail over time. Typically this takes decades and gives subtle symptoms such as increased ripple in the power supply lines and reduced audio quality. As the capacitors degrade, pressure builds up in their casings and eventually they start bulging or even rupturing at the top.

Now, this isn't normally a problem until it happens, and even then it's just a matter of replacing the failed parts, but A600s, A1200s, A4000s and CD32s use SMT capacitors instead of the older through-hole types used on older models. There are two problems with this:

First off, the SMT capacitors were relatively new in the early '90s, and the technology wasn't as mature and stable as it was for the older capacitors, meaning they had significantly shorter life expectancy than the through-hole counterparts. Coupled with Commodore using the cheapest parts they could get their hands on and the fact that storage without use accelerates the failure of these capacitors, we're seeing them failing en masse at the moment.

Second off, these SMT types do not have the pressure relief mechanism of the through hole capacitors which bulge and vent upwards. Instead, when the pressure gets high enough, they leak their electrolyte downwards, directly onto the PCB beneath them. This electrolyte is corrosive, and given time, can eat its way through the fine traces hidden beneath the capacitor's base. This can also spread to nearby traces, and eventually causes far more severe symptoms, such as failure to boot, loss of video or audio, etc.

Recapping is mostly a preventative measure - replacing the capacitors before they have a chance to cause this damage. But all too often there is substantial damage already - I've had to practically rebuild the entire video output area of an A600's board more than once due to the capacitors beside the IDE port leaking. And similarly for the audio area.

If you only have through hole capacitors in your Amigas, it's generally going to be fine, and even if you do get a capacitor fail, it likely won't cause much damage. But for the Amigas I listed with SMT capacitors, it's almost guaranteed that they'll leak and cause serious damage sooner or later.

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Overflow 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 22-Feb-2017 10:59:06
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Jun-2012
Posts: 1627
From: Norway

@Daedalus

I had Geir from Retroservice in Norway for recapping my A1200 and 600, in addition to RF modulator port removal and fixing the A600 IDE pins.

http://www.retroservice.no/nb/?v=c2f3f489a005

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 24-Feb-2017 4:55:37
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3599
From: Toronto, Canada

maccaps did a fantastic job on my A4000 and power supply maccaps webpage

Acill over at amiga.org does some fine work as well Acill's webpage

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Birbo 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 24-Feb-2017 6:51:44
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Apr-2007
Posts: 549
From: Zurich, Switzerland

I'm living in Switzerland

Is there a ReCap-Service in Switzerland or somewhere close? Germany?

_________________
Sometimes we give people a lot of credit just because they’re writing nice sentences even if it isn’t adding up to much.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 24-Feb-2017 14:51:36
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1420
From: Unknown

@Daedalus

Thanks for the answer. That cleared out a few things.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 24-Feb-2017 17:50:03
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3028
From: Westhall, UK

@Niolator

I gotta say, I have had some Amigas come my way recently in excellent cosmetic condition, working fine. When I looked inside the solder was a dull grey/green colour and so the damage was already starting.

The longer left, the worst the corrosion is. I have noticed that 5-10 years ago recapping was hardly being mentioned and rightly so, I never encountered it. Now, almost without exception, machines with SMD caps are in desperate need of attention, even if the instability hasn't begun yet. You got to think, how much damage will be done before the issue manifests itself in instability issues?

I know why people don't want to do it - whether doing it yourself or sending it to someone it is a pain in the bum but if you don't your machine will eventually succumb to the issue. Why do I know for certain? Because any motherboard revision of A1200/A600 I have seen has come to this so I don't think there is a "good" batch that doesn't have this problem.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: Who does your recapping?
Posted on 24-Feb-2017 19:59:37
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1420
From: Unknown

@A1200

It was some time ago I opened my Amiga Classics. I will have to check how they are doing some time soon, I guess.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle