Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5907 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
70 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 AP,  mobileconnect2

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 AP:  3 mins ago
 mobileconnect2:  4 mins ago
 amigakit:  15 mins ago
 smf:  32 mins ago
 AmigaBlitter:  42 mins ago
 WolfToTheMoon:  45 mins ago
 clint:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 libz:  1 hr 33 mins ago
 Amiguy:  1 hr 44 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
spud101 
AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 5-Aug-2017 20:43:14
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 61
From: Unknown

Tried to purchase Enhancer Software Special Edition for my A4kPPC running AOS4.1 FE Classic Update 1.

But my god, AmiStore and Odyssey are totally unusable and always fail when trying to purchase.

Paypal is no option, I simply can't log in with Odyssey.
Paying with credit card always fails and returns an error message.

So much A-EON for trying to interest people for AOS4.1. I may have considered an A1222 but with this disgrace of a user experience I'm cured from that now...

Can't we just have a webfront you can also use on a PC to do the payment, which then is checked by AmiStore and when all is OK simply downloads the software??

Last edited by spud101 on 05-Aug-2017 at 08:44 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 5-Aug-2017 21:13:32
#2 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 61
From: Unknown

OK, I simply copied the purchase url over to the PC and payed it from there. Dreadful workflow... :(

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 5-Aug-2017 21:40:52
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2005
Posts: 3802
From: Unknown

@spud101

Can't speak for the experience on your A4kPPC but every thing works ok on my Sam460ex.
Purchased the Enhancer Software Plus edition last weekend without a problem using Amistore, Odyssey and paypal.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 0:59:35
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11487
From: Norway

@spud101

Maybe your Clock, not correct, or SSL certificate is out of date.
Or maybe your using old outdated web browser. with too old SSL.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 3:17:59
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1384
From: Oullins, France

Or maybe you do not have enough memory to run Odyssey.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 5:52:59
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2005
Posts: 281
From: Sacramento, CA

@spud101

It works on My A1-G4!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 7:29:42
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9130
From: Unknown

@spud101

Odyssey is memory hungry. 128 MB on CSPPC is simply not enough. Do you have some Z3 RAM?

Quote:
I may have considered an A1222 but with this disgrace of a user experience I'm cured from that now...


Well, A1222 will have at least 2 GB RAM.

Quote:
Can't we just have a webfront you can also use on a PC to do the payment, which then is checked by AmiStore and when all is OK simply downloads the software??


Good idea! I hope A-eon looks at this thread, because your user experience gives important message about AmiStore "performance" on low-end systems.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 7:53:17
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 581
From: Unknown

@spud101

Amistore works really well on machines with a higher spec like a SAM board, X5000 and will probably work to the standards you expect it to on the upcoming A1222.

Classic machines and the software you can use under OS4.1 sadly are hampered by the limitations of the hardware it is running on.

Have you tried to do purchases via Netsurf as this should run a lot better on a lower spec NG machine compared to Odyssey?

_________________
Amigaone X5000/20 4GB Radeon RX 550 Polaris 12 AmigaOS4.1 Final Edition Update 1
Amiga 1200 Workbench 3.1.4
Amiga CD32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 7:57:33
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9130
From: Unknown

@outrun1978

Quote:
Have you tried to do purchases via Netsurf as this should run a lot better on a lower spec NG machine compared to Odyssey?


If I remember correctly, paypal needs javascript for the purchase - Im not sure Netsurf has mature enough JS.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 8:06:34
#10 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 40
From: Unknown

@spud101

I can report that AmiStore/Odyssey works ok on my PPC classic machine. Its a BlizzardPPC/BVision with 256 MB RAM. It is not very fast but it is quite usable. I also bought Enhancer package via AmiStore application that way.

Maybe its a memory issue on your configuration? Try to free some memory before launching AmiStore.....that can maybe help.

-Dooz

Last edited by dooz on 06-Aug-2017 at 08:09 AM.
Last edited by dooz on 06-Aug-2017 at 08:08 AM.
Last edited by dooz on 06-Aug-2017 at 08:07 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 8:16:35
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 581
From: Unknown

@pavlor

I can pay for items using from the Amistore using Netsurf on the x5000 so i see no reason why this shouldn't work. I do use Paypal to complete the transaction instead of the card payment btw.

_________________
Amigaone X5000/20 4GB Radeon RX 550 Polaris 12 AmigaOS4.1 Final Edition Update 1
Amiga 1200 Workbench 3.1.4
Amiga CD32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 8:30:42
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9130
From: Unknown

@dooz

Quote:
256 MB RAM


Most important part...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 11:02:33
#13 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 61
From: Unknown

I have 128 MB on the CSPPC and 256 MB BigRamPlus.

As stated with the workaround I managed to buy the stuff. I'm not gonna retry until I want to purchase something else.

Thanks for all the responses.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 21:41:02
#14 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 61
From: Unknown

2,5 years later and I thought, why not boot my A4000D in AOS4.1 FE again.

I regretted it right away. Updating Hyperion part with the corresponding AmiUpdate went more or less OK, albeit a bit slow..

However trying to update even just AmiStore keeps on failing. Just like anything else, like my Personal Paint and Enhancer Tool purchase. They all start downloading but the download simply stalls along the way and eventually times out.

Sometimes it even asks to set APPDIR, while that is assigned at boot.

No clue what the reason is. Browsing the internet works fine. As said the AmiUpdater works acceptable. Only the AmiStore Updater simply refuses to do its job.

Yes SSL is fine (that updated OK to 4.4. via AmiUpdate) and time is also correct.

Is it the CF filesystem (I use Smart fFle System) that's just too slow?
Is it some setting in one of he apps?
Is it an ENVARC setting I need to do.

Or is the tool simply not tested on classic A4k and plainly misleading...

Come on guys, just offer all these updates via the web as well... So I can download from PC and then move to the Amiga.


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 21:52:15
#15 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2370
From: www.amigakit.com

@spud101

AmiStore works on 4.1 Classic here.

However, if you have Enhancer Software, simply use Updater tool which has a smaller footprint for memory and resources:

http://wiki.amiga.org/index.php?title=Updater

Updater is part of the Enhancer Software and can be used to update components and Amistore purchase.

Last edited by amigakit on 22-Mar-2020 at 09:52 PM.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 7:56:23
#16 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 61
From: Unknown

@amigakit

Sorry, I wasn't clear it seems. I'm using the updater. This is started from AmiStore automatically when updating too, BTW. And downloads just never finish.

Forgot to mention I have a Realtek RTL 8029AS based PCI network card in a Mediator.

What I'll try next is set the download folder to the RAM disk, to check whether it's got something to do with slow HDD (CF) access.

Last edited by spud101 on 23-Mar-2020 at 07:57 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 19:12:09
#17 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 61
From: Unknown

@spud101

Update setting RAM disk as download folder doesn't fix it. But I'm starting to fear it's more of a generic networking issue.

Is there a way to tweak the networkcard RTL 8029AS on a more low level in AmigaOS4.1 FE Update 1?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 24-Mar-2020 17:09:26
#18 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 61
From: Unknown

After multiple tries Updater starts to fall apart...

Any update I select and then click on the download button doesn't do anything anymore now. No download window pops up anymore. And my purchased tab is empty now...

Lovely... not.

Last edited by spud101 on 24-Mar-2020 at 08:52 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
colinw 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 25-Mar-2020 23:52:11
#19 ]
Member
Joined: 20-Jul-2007
Posts: 41
From: Brisbane, in the land of Oz

@spud101

Quote:

Sometimes it even asks to set APPDIR, while that is assigned at boot.
No clue what the reason is.


Well, assigning it would be the reason it doesn't work.
APPDIR: is not an assignment, never was, and won't work like one.

APPDIR: is a virtual volume of softlinks that is mounted during boot,
the softlink targets point to the actual executable to run.

The appdir-handler is built into DOS before 54.51 and is now a separate
handler from DOS 54.51 that resides on disk as L:appdir-handler with
a mount entry in devs:dosdrivers/

It requires that;
1) No other thing collides with APPDIR name.
2) The volume that hosts ENVARC:AppDir/ is not write protected,
so it can update the cache for new or relocated entries.

Last edited by colinw on 26-Mar-2020 at 12:13 AM.
Last edited by colinw on 26-Mar-2020 at 12:11 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AmiStore - does it even work on AOS4.1 classic?
Posted on 26-Mar-2020 8:21:29
#20 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 61
From: Unknown

OK, clear.

Now then explain to me, when no ASSIGN to AppDir is there, AmiStore always asks to mount/assign AppDir (don't remember the exact text of the file selector that pops up) when I run it for the first time after boot....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle