Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5765 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 69 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 vox:  24 mins ago
 Wumpus:  40 mins ago
 Jasper:  43 mins ago
 DWolfman:  46 mins ago
 ggw:  1 hr 44 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 54 mins ago
 Rob:  2 hrs 4 mins ago
 Zylesea:  2 hrs 18 mins ago
 AmeegaGuy:  2 hrs 32 mins ago
 SinanG:  2 hrs 38 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  sam460 emulated in qemu
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 Next Page )
PosterThread
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 15-Mar-2018 20:37:18
#101 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2546
From: Amiga land

just because is cool :)


Image

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 15-Mar-2018 20:45:00
#102 ]
Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 36
From: Napoli - Italy

@tlosm

Great!
Is there any chance to run Qemu@460ex under PowerMac G5? And.. I want to repeat again, what about KVM support under PM G5?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 16-Mar-2018 6:17:00
#103 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2546
From: Amiga land

@Fl@sh

yesterday just make a fast build and test on my pc, i will check it on g5

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 28-Mar-2018 21:18:32
#104 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6081
From: Unknown

@tlosm

how do i set up and run sam emulation in qemu? how do i compile a harddisk image?
i compiled odyssey for aros on sam440/460 and id like to try it out. i have aros ppc system compiled too.

Last edited by wawa on 28-Mar-2018 at 09:31 PM.
Last edited by wawa on 28-Mar-2018 at 09:18 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 29-Mar-2018 10:55:25
#105 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2546
From: Amiga land

@wawa

you will need the git dev version of qemu it is not mainsream.
Quote:
git://github.com/dgibson/qemu.git tags/ppc-for-2.11-20171108

build it with --with-sdlabi=2.0 --with-gtkabi=3.0 --audio-drv-list=pa,sdl,oss after:
you will need to run qemu-system-ppc -M sam460ex and setup your img and iso like usual on qemu.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 29-Mar-2018 12:05:43
#106 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6081
From: Unknown

@tlosm

i have already built it from latest sources this night. i can start it and it loads aros from the dedicated iso (up to wanderer, mouse and keybord input doenst work though). but after i added tcp settings, odyssey and user-startup to iso it says:
Quote:

AOS4 FLB
FLB:noSLB found in anyof the designated boot sources

(is there any way to redirect the output to the console it started from?)

i invoke it like this:
Quote:

qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -serial stdio -drive if=none,id=hd,file=/home/wawa/aros-sam440-ppc.iso,format=raw -device ide-hd,drive=hd,bus=ide.1 -device rtl8139

Last edited by wawa on 29-Mar-2018 at 12:08 PM.
Last edited by wawa on 29-Mar-2018 at 12:07 PM.
Last edited by wawa on 29-Mar-2018 at 12:07 PM.
Last edited by wawa on 29-Mar-2018 at 12:06 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 29-Mar-2018 12:11:05
#107 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2546
From: Amiga land

@wawa

you need to set the debug level in the env of uboot (note the max is 9) plus i dont know if there is way set a kernel debug in aros for understad what is going on..
Strange you have SLB error ... look like the iso become not bootable after your modifications
serial -stdio is not needed if you use gtk video output

Last edited by tlosm on 29-Mar-2018 at 12:12 PM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Mar-2018 at 12:11 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 29-Mar-2018 12:30:55
#108 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6081
From: Unknown

@tlosm

i dont think i need to enable kernel debug in aros, its uboot that fails to find bootable drive, not aros that fails to bootstrap, right?

Quote:
look like the iso become not bootable after your modifications


right. i could attach another image to another inteface, as zoltan has advised, but i need aros to autostart network and owb, since i dont have any way to interact with it after boot.

Last edited by wawa on 29-Mar-2018 at 12:32 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 29-Mar-2018 14:24:01
#109 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2546
From: Amiga land

@wawa

good that you are in touch with zoltan too.


yes the issue is in uboot . if it is an issue ... but i have the feeling that something in the udf goes bad and make the cd dont bootstrap after the modifications. if you have a recordable cdrom try to burn it and swap the iso line in qemu with /dev/cdrom and see what happens ( if linux read ok the cdrom).

Last edited by tlosm on 29-Mar-2018 at 03:20 PM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Mar-2018 at 02:25 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 19-Apr-2018 3:26:11
#110 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6081
From: Unknown

@tlosm

i have now mouse working

i invoke qemu like that:
Quote:

/usr/local/bin/qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -serial stdio -drive if=none,id=cd,file=/home/wawa/aros-sam440-ppc.iso,format=raw -device ide-cd,drive=cd,bus=ide.1 -device rtl8139 -device usb-mouse -device usb-kbd -show-cursor

is there anything particular how keybord should be attached/configured? it doesnt work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 19-Apr-2018 8:26:34
#111 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2546
From: Amiga land

@wawa

i didnt test the Aros on Qemu-Sam but i suppose it is a usb issue like we have on real Sam460.
you can made another test try to attach an emulated usb pci board and there attach the keyboard and the mouse with the hope this emulated boards are recognized by aros

Last edited by tlosm on 19-Apr-2018 at 08:29 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 19-Apr-2018 at 08:27 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ilbarbax 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 20-Apr-2018 9:16:26
#112 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2010
Posts: 158
From: Italy

@tlosm

funny! The emulation would be really good if you can have usb issues on the emulateted sam as it is in the real one.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 20-Apr-2018 15:15:18
#113 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2546
From: Amiga land

@ilbarbax

yup! on my sam 460 i had sometime unplug and plug in the keyboard for make amigaos see it after the boot.
But this is not possible on qemu (unplug and plug), this why i suggest to use the emulated pci usb for attach the devices where this issue was not present.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 20-Apr-2018 16:47:57
#114 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6081
From: Unknown

@tlosm

I See;)
Thats really troublesome that we need to test ppc target agsinst broken hardware. Luckily i just need to seeif my compile of odyssey works and dont really need to bother wuth it. Ill build qemu tonight again and see.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 1-May-2018 16:54:33
#115 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3073
From: Maryland, USA

OK, so it seems that 12.2 is finally out. Can I run this inside a Virtualbox VM? I run Linux in Vbox on top of my Windows laptop.

OR, does Qemu run directly on Windows host??

Time to start learning how thing thing works...

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 1-May-2018 20:53:07
#116 ]
Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 36
From: Napoli - Italy

I'd like to know if the latest release is able to startup aos4 for sam460ex or is still only linux compatible.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
miggymac 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 1-May-2018 21:20:15
#117 ]
Member
Joined: 27-Oct-2014
Posts: 23
From: Flensburg (Germany), a footstep away from Denmark

@Fl@sh

Well, Kickstart loads, AmigaOS 4.1 FE boots, shows the boot screen (with heavy color distortion) and stops booting because Loadmondrvs cannot create screenmode for Siliconmotion 502. Changing to onboard graphics in uboot has no effects, because the settings are bot properly saved for reboot. Conclusion: there‘s still a lot of work to do before it‘s usable.

_________________
All sorts of computer errors are now turning up. You'd be surprised to know the number of doctors who claim they are treating pregnant men. (Isaac Asimov)

AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 (WinUAE on MB Pro 2016) / A1200 w. Blizz.1230IV / CV64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 1-May-2018 21:20:29
#118 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2546
From: Amiga land

@Fl@sh

for now os4 dont work because sm502 is not fully emulated , i dont have a pci gpu and a pc with pci for test if the passtrught work.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 1-May-2018 23:20:59
#119 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3073
From: Maryland, USA

@tlosm

qemu does cirrus 5446 as found on picassoiv. did they ever adapt the chip deiver for general pci card using same chip?

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 2-May-2018 12:58:55
#120 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2546
From: Amiga land

@billt

the cirrus is emulated inside the qemu-x86 and not in qemu-ppc . i suggested to Zoltan if is possible add this device on sam 460 because i know for sure will help the amigaos emulation.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle