Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5619 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 84 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Punkyclown,  portarinos

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 portarinos:  22 secs ago
 Punkyclown:  4 mins ago
 OlafS25:  5 mins ago
 Zendarion:  9 mins ago
 outrun1978:  9 mins ago
 amyren:  9 mins ago
 bennymee:  13 mins ago
 amigasociety:  13 mins ago
 pavlor:  14 mins ago
 samo79:  15 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )
PosterThread
K-L 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 9-Nov-2018 20:28:13
#41 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1281
From: Oullins, France

@kas1e

For the 2nd point (emptuy changelog), I already reported this to AmigaKit a few months ago but sadly it was not solved.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 9-Nov-2018 22:08:17
# ]



@K-L

Regarding that i got an answer from AmigaKit.

Obviously most of the changes are "too technical" for us mere users and as such they don't list them. Take that as you may...

 
     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 10-Nov-2018 7:32:34
#43 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3303
From: Russia

@Raziel, K-L

I think _real_ ressons for empty changelogs for almost all components (i found few, where chngelog shown : calendar, and some other), is that mattew have no time to worry bout.

That of course understandable, but a bit looks strange. I mean, why there needs to have that "information" button at all, if, almost none of all the components provide any info in.

And what mean "too technical" ... In the whole world changelogs included, morphos even too include it for all the components, but on amigaos there was problem with hyperion firstly, but then they at last realize there needs for changelog, and for who its "too technical" they will skip it, but now there with Enhcer the same needs for chngelog, asked by many users, and again answer "you don't need them".. Sadly !

More of it, to prove point about no time : there _is_ changelogs in Enhcer for some components , they just do not included in updater's changelog window. For example RadeonHD driver have changelog, and that one interesting to read always, and its not "too technical", so why not put it to the information for updater: i do not know. No time probabaly.

@zzd10h

Found also issue with AmiSphereServer (53.37) : if i put it in WB startup (so it will starts on every boot automaticaly), i always have a window from Workbench saying : "Programm 'AmiSphereServer' has not yet returned. Do you want to wait some more? Ok/Chancel". And only Chancel make it runs.


@Mattew
If you don't want to made anything with changelogs, can you at least fix real problem atic bugs about missing TimeGuard, ClipViewer and MultiViewer on server ?

Last edited by kas1e on 10-Nov-2018 at 07:35 AM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 10-Nov-2018 7:44:45
#44 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3303
From: Russia

@Mattew
Another bug:

When once to choice to install from updater "RadeonHD.chip" (to update from 3.4 version to 3.6 for example), it downloads, unpacks, but copy with wrong file name : it copies not with name RadeonHD.chip, but with RadeonHD.chip(v3), so, user have in kickstart 2 versions : old one with normal name, and new one with (v3) at end, so, of course, nothing updates, and updater all the time saying there needs to update. I manually overwrite it of course, but that probably another typo bug to fix in the instllation scripts of updater.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 10-Nov-2018 8:57:30
#45 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1481
From: Cork Ireland

@kas1e

Quote:

kas1e wrote:

@zzd10h

Found also issue with AmiSphereServer (53.37) : if i put it in WB startup (so it will starts on every boot automaticaly), i always have a window from Workbench saying : "Programm 'AmiSphereServer' has not yet returned. Do you want to wait some more? Ok/Chancel". And only Chancel make it runs.


I don't know if it helps, maybe you could add "DONOTWAIT" to the icon ToolTypes or uncheck the "Wait until finished"-checkmark at the bottom of the RAWBinfo window..
The issue you describe does not come up here, so I can not test.
Quote:

@Mattew
If you don't want to made anything with changelogs, can you at least fix real problem atic bugs about missing TimeGuard, ClipViewer and MultiViewer on server ?

yes, not vital, but itchy:

Exchanger: local 1.3 remote 1.2
RadeonHD: v1 local 3.6 remote 1.20 (same with debug version)
RadeonHD: v2 local 3.6 remote 2.22 (same with debug version)
Time: local 53.21 remote 53.20
Calendar: local 53.29 remote 53.28
MultiViewer: local 2.12 remote 2.8
TuneNet: local 2.9 remote 2.7

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 10-Nov-2018 17:29:49
#46 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1069
From: France

@Kas1e

For wrong Radeon.chip name, you are right, it was fixed few days ago in Updater 53.55 18/11/04


For AmiSphereServer, I don't use it in WBStartup because the programs using it start it if needed. Therefore no need to start AmiSphereServer at WB startup.
But I tested, it works fine for me when started from WBStartup.

Did you removed the DONOTWAIT in the .INFO ?


For the others questions, Matthew should certainly reply better than me...

Last edited by zzd10h on 10-Nov-2018 at 05:31 PM.
Last edited by zzd10h on 10-Nov-2018 at 05:30 PM.

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 10-Nov-2018 19:29:26
#47 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3303
From: Russia

@zzd10h

Quote:

For wrong Radeon.chip name, you are right, it was fixed few days ago in Updater 53.55 18/11/04


Thanks to confim !

Is missing ClipViewer, TimeGuard and MultiViewer also bugs in updater, or it is wrong entries on server from where they should be downloaded ?

Quote:

But I tested, it works fine for me when started from WBStartup.

Did you removed the DONOTWAIT in the .INFO ?


I didn't touch amispehere's infos , but what i found is that my system:system/amisphereserver.info : have no info at all for the icon. And the same in enhancer 1.4 and enhancer2.0 by deafult.

Instead, in both enhancers, it is prefs:amisphere.info, have DONOTWAIT options in the info, but not system:amispehereserver. Probably its just a mistake , and should be other way around ?

For sake of tests, i put DONOTWAIT for the system:amispehereserver : and yes, i can run it from wbstartup now fine.

Is it mean that there is just bug in the Enhancer's packs, where 2 icons swapped by mistake ?

Last edited by kas1e on 10-Nov-2018 at 07:30 PM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 10-Nov-2018 21:38:32
#48 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1069
From: France

@kas1e

Yes, certainly a mistake. I checked the SVN and DONOTWAIT is in AmiSphereServer.info.
I will notice Matthew.


For components that you list, yes, "it is wrong entries on server".

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 11-Nov-2018 17:10:57
#49 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2295
From: www.amigakit.com

@zzd10h
@kas1e

Thank you for your reports and feedback.

I added DONOTWAIT to the AmiSphereServer.info file in the latest Enhancer Software beta

I also uploaded icon file with DONOTWAIT added to Updater.

I have uploaded the latest Exchanger 1.3 to Updater

I have uploaded the latest Time Prefs 53.21 to Updater

I have uploaded the latest Calendar 53.29 to Updater

I have uploaded the latest ClipViewer 1.10 to Updater

I have uploaded the latest TimeGuard 53.1 to Updater

I have uploaded the latest MultiEdit 1.8 to Updater

I have uploaded the latest MultiViewer 2.14 to Updater

I have packaged and uploaded the latest TuneNet 2.9 to Updater

Last edited by amigakit on 11-Nov-2018 at 05:58 PM.
Last edited by amigakit on 11-Nov-2018 at 05:42 PM.
Last edited by amigakit on 11-Nov-2018 at 05:25 PM.
Last edited by amigakit on 11-Nov-2018 at 05:19 PM.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 11-Nov-2018 19:23:10
#50 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3303
From: Russia

@amigakit

Thanks , all works !

@zzd10h

Have suggestion:

Its me missing that setting, or its not implemented : ability to "update all" at once. I.e. i tick for example 10 files. Press "download". Then, every file ask confirmation. Sure, that good, but maybe if add some options to prefs , like "do not ask" and so they all will be installed without needs to press button all the time ?

Also cosmetic suggestion, button download, maybe better call "download & update" ? As it not only download, but also update. Button seems big enough to be able to deal with that.

But overrall, should to say you do good job ! It never crashes for 2 days of entensive use, and all works as expected. All downloads well, etc, no warnings or crashes.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 15-Nov-2018 8:50:57
#51 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1069
From: France

@kas1e

You are right for the "non asking" option.
Done, check your mail to test it.

"button download, maybe better call "download & update""
No, at least in french, there is no enough room for a big string.


"should to say you do good job"
Thanks ;)

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 15-Nov-2018 21:36:46
#52 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3303
From: Russia

@zzd10h

Yeah answered, but its not exactly what i mean. Now its silencly download, and silencly install all when i tick "without asking" option. But what i mean is to be able to choice where to download archives still as it was , only when actuall installation starts, make an option to avoid always clicking "ok".

Like user tick 10 files, press "download", and it ask him where, as before. But then, after they downloaded , installation should be silent.

Probabaly we again hit there issue called "downlaod and update are different procedures" :) I mean maybe in settings it can be splitted out like options for downloading, and options for updating. By that way it will easy to extend in future if there will be needs.

For example:
- Downloads --
Notification Mode
Show file after download
- Updating -
Silent (default pathes)

And call button dl & update :) or kind of :)

Last edited by kas1e on 15-Nov-2018 at 09:39 PM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 16-Nov-2018 10:47:43
#53 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3380
From: Italy, Perugia

@zzd10h

Guillaume when you have time have a look at bug #362


_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 16-Nov-2018 20:28:33
#54 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1069
From: France

@kas1e

Archives are downloaded everytime at the same location (Download drawer in Settings window).
The location that you specify is where install the component. By default it's the system default.

With "without asking" option, I check 10 components and have only 1 confirmation to download/install the components in the default location.

I certainly don't understand you, my english, but the new option like it is now, is very useful. Maybe not that you wanted, but for me it's perfect, thx ;)


@Samo79
Not reproduced.
Check your mail, thanks

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Updater tool: latest releases and updates
Posted on 16-Nov-2018 20:51:17
#55 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3303
From: Russia

@zzd10h

I mean that without asking good when install files, but still will be good to have as before "where to download" question. I mean ask where to download all archives , and dont ask where to install when option "without asking" on. I.e dont asking when install, but still ask to what place to download

Because without that new option, i asked to what place download (not install) files. That good. And then installation process going in default patches if option is on

In other words if option "without asking" on, will be good:
1. Ask to what place download all files (as before). Just one time before downloading starts.
2. Then silent install of all files

Last edited by kas1e on 16-Nov-2018 at 08:58 PM.
Last edited by kas1e on 16-Nov-2018 at 08:55 PM.
Last edited by kas1e on 16-Nov-2018 at 08:53 PM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle