Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5715 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 68 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 eliyahu:  22 mins ago
 bison:  36 mins ago
 Karlos:  37 mins ago
 Lukar82:  46 mins ago
 blakespot:  47 mins ago
 Bugala:  57 mins ago
 retro:  1 hr ago
 JimIgou:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 Trekiej:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 amigang:  1 hr 17 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
Daedalus 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 15-Jan-2018 11:13:10
#21 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1636
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

Mine's still going strong too. I bought it 2nd hand around 2006 or so, upgraded the abysmal stock cooler and PSU, and fitted PATA and USB2.0 PCI cards. I feed it batteries fairly regularly, but other than that it's been pretty solid ever since.

I suspect that there was a lot of variation across batches - mine's a later board without the sound chip - so maybe there were other improvements that help some batches perform better than others.

As for the PC hardware, it's hit and miss too. I've got plenty that was retired after 10 years, still fully working, but I've also seen plenty of dead hardware - laptops with batteries dying under warranty, dead motherboards after 18 months... You get good and poor quality everywhere.

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 16-Jan-2018 15:47:09
#22 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9078
From: Greensborough, Australia

@OldAmigan

I've had dodgy IDE cables as well. Most recently I discovered the power to my DVD drive is dodgy but is stable as of present. However the DVD drive has a problem as it ejects but won't inject. And UBoot has stopped recognising discs in it. Also it's a Pioneer and I've had trouble with things like no DRQ and failing on DMA which I read hapened on Pioneer branded drives.

I've also ran SmartCtl when a drive was suspect. My first listed errors. Rest have been good.

And I've watched it load Kickstart then ask me to insert Workbench! It just loaded Kickstart off that partition, how the hell can it lose the partition? Things like that make OS4 confusing and look stupid.

I've got an AGP card in that 66Mhz slot. Did you put your machine into AGP mode from UBoot? Yes I know you need a screen to do that. But best to monitor the UBoot serial output for problematic hardware.

I'm seeing more browser lock ups now. Especially with MUIOWB it can just freeze. But so can the hardware. So it can be hard to tell if it is software or hardware. Linux freezes as well. But going to the same site usually confirms the browser crashing.

I've found my X1000 can be quite sensitive. The firmware crashes on boot up quite easily then goes into a reboot loop. Once I found it was due to a thin power cable. But now it has no excuse. Happens too much.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 16-Jan-2018 15:49:26
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9078
From: Greensborough, Australia

@tonyw

Quote:
Heh. That's the CPU board you gave me - I had ACube perform the 1 GHz update on it, which lasted many years before it died.


Yeah funny that. Your old CPU board is still working. Infact I'm using it right now. Maybe you should have kept it. LOL.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 16-Jan-2018 15:56:24
#24 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9078
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Morphix

That sounds funny. I must have been around a while then if I've been handing out XE advice all these years. I should almost be an expert by now. With my trusty null modem cable and laptop terminal I can usually debug most hardware problems. Usually.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 16-Jan-2018 23:51:46
#25 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1866
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

I'll Power up the XE when IB 2.5 is out;)



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
realize 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 17-Jan-2018 1:43:59
#26 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2003
Posts: 1775
From: nyc

@Hypex

These boards were NEVER meant to be sold commercially to the public. They are rebadged Teron motherboards considered crap by the industry. How do I know? I was at the Motorola labs with Genesi and we talked about this at length.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Morphix 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 17-Jan-2018 3:12:42
#27 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Aug-2009
Posts: 445
From: Greece

@realize

Wow!

_________________
Peg1, Peg2, Efika,
Amiga 500, Amiga 1230,
Amiga 4000PPC,
Sam 440EP, AmigaOne XE,
MacMini PPC, PowerMac G4, G5

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 17-Jan-2018 15:43:45
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9078
From: Greensborough, Australia

@realize

Seems thay should have found a better board. Infact I thought the Pegasos would have made a better board. A batch of those with UBoot would have been much better. They could have rebadged them as AmigaOne boards. Or tried to come to some agreement with Genesi on using their hardware as the offical AmigaOne. Try. Ha.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cheese 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 17-Jan-2018 16:20:49
#29 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Oct-2006
Posts: 221
From: Unknown

@realize

Reminds me of this wrongpla.net article

_________________
x86/MorphOS 4.0

"Delving into the past can be a dangerous exercise." -hyperionmp

"I've been a supporter of "REACTION" GUI because is an Amiga OS thing." -Snuffy

"I personally prefer a vision of do'ers and makers rather than

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 17-Jan-2018 17:25:29
#30 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1561
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Morphix

We now know that the Amiga One's boards we buyed are simply crap.Sad for this

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Morphix 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 17-Jan-2018 20:27:11
#31 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Aug-2009
Posts: 445
From: Greece

@newlight

Still love mine :)

_________________
Peg1, Peg2, Efika,
Amiga 500, Amiga 1230,
Amiga 4000PPC,
Sam 440EP, AmigaOne XE,
MacMini PPC, PowerMac G4, G5

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Robert 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 18-Jan-2018 10:08:53
#32 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 865
From: Glasgow

@Hypex

I switched my A1XE on the other week for the first time in over a year.
At first I couldn't get it to power on so I changed the CMOS battery. Still nothing. Was frustratedly pushing the power button repeatedly when suddenly there was a loud pop, a burning smell and then, quite unexpectedly, it booted up and seems to be working OK.

Think (hope) the 'explosion' was related to some non-essential part of the tower case rather than the mother board.

_________________
Robert
--
A1XE G4, OS4.1. Peg1 G3, MOS 1.4.
Abel Soul - Check out our tunes on Spotify

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Robert 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 18-Jan-2018 10:12:04
#33 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 865
From: Glasgow

@daveyw

Quote:

daveyw wrote:
@Hypex

Replacing the awful stock Thermaltake CPU cooler probably greatly extends life and stability; it certainly did for mine.


Yes, this was one of the first things I did too.

_________________
Robert
--
A1XE G4, OS4.1. Peg1 G3, MOS 1.4.
Abel Soul - Check out our tunes on Spotify

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 18-Jan-2018 15:15:52
#34 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9078
From: Greensborough, Australia

@newlight

The newer one have to be made in better quality one would hope?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 18-Jan-2018 15:17:27
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9078
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Robert

Sounds like what my A4000 did when it suddenly reset one time and the PicassoIV board RTG stopped working.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 18-Jan-2018 16:22:33
#36 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1561
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Morphix

And I too.I renewed last year replacing the G3 with a "new" G4.From Norway

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 18-Jan-2018 16:29:24
#37 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1561
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Hypex

What do you appoint me here? WHat's newer? The CPU?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Morphix 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 19-Jan-2018 3:08:50
#38 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Aug-2009
Posts: 445
From: Greece

@Robert

Sounds like PSU. I think.

Probably something from the inside of the tower, for example a screw??? Touched your PSu?..

Last edited by Morphix on 19-Jan-2018 at 03:11 AM.

_________________
Peg1, Peg2, Efika,
Amiga 500, Amiga 1230,
Amiga 4000PPC,
Sam 440EP, AmigaOne XE,
MacMini PPC, PowerMac G4, G5

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Robert 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 19-Jan-2018 14:18:36
#39 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 865
From: Glasgow

@Morphix:

Possibly.

I have almost no spare time just now to investigate further but am happy enough that it seems to be working OK.

As an aside and a bit off topic, I have 256MB RAM / 800MHz G4 in it and it seems a *wee* bit sluggish.
I was thinking of replacing the RAM with a GB or two. Anyone recommend the best place to get this in the UK?

_________________
Robert
--
A1XE G4, OS4.1. Peg1 G3, MOS 1.4.
Abel Soul - Check out our tunes on Spotify

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Why do the AmigaOne XE machines die?
Posted on 19-Jan-2018 14:22:05
#40 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9078
From: Greensborough, Australia

@newlight

No I mean the boards. Like that X5000. Surely it has to be better quality than the XE ever was. I mean, my XE is good, but that random freeze still lurks in the background. And it never goes away.

At least with the X1000 and X5000 it shouldn't just freeze. For no apparent reason. And Linux can run normally without needing patches for things like no coherent cache and what not.

The CPU, what ever the age, might the best part of all.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle