Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5789 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 46 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Jasper,  Trekiej

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Trekiej:  1 min ago
 Jasper:  3 mins ago
 Templario:  42 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  1 hr ago
 ne_one:  1 hr 28 mins ago
 freak:  1 hr 34 mins ago
 Trixie:  2 hrs 8 mins ago
 WolfToTheMoon:  2 hrs 29 mins ago
 nikosidis:  2 hrs 38 mins ago
 otakui:  2 hrs 54 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Emulation
      /  Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
SnkBitten 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 22-Jul-2018 21:16:33
#21 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Apr-2018
Posts: 40
From: SC, US

@Trekiej

Quote:

Trekiej wrote:
I hope I'm not being too emulator centric, has anyone here had much luck at running Amithlon on an emulator?



You can run Amithlon in Oracle's Virtualbox quite well. You have to add "nosleep" to the init string for it to boot though. Audio and USB work and for some Networking does as well (I think this is dependent on the host system as it worked well on my laptop at work but doesn't on my PC at home). Graphics are unaccelerated but extremely fast, just scrolling is slow. In fact Amithlon in VB is faster than my physical system I have dedicated to running Amithlon.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 22-Jul-2018 21:49:46
#22 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 464
From: Unknown

@SnkBitten

Where do I put the "nosleep" option? Is it in VB or Amithlon?

I was going to bring in about 4 pc's into the house from storage.
This would save space and effort for now.
I have a mouse, keyboard, and monitor to my right that I want to connect to those pc's.
Maybe this week I could check those.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 22-Jul-2018 22:29:44
#23 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 464
From: Unknown

@Trekiej
@SnkBitten

I was able to get it to boot.
The Boing Ball was bouncing at the bottom of the screen.
I hit enter and the 040 rebooted and then it went into Workbench.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
SnkBitten 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 23-Jul-2018 0:25:28
#24 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Apr-2018
Posts: 40
From: SC, US

@Trekiej

Quote:

Trekiej wrote:
@SnkBitten

Where do I put the "nosleep" option? Is it in VB or Amithlon?

I was going to bring in about 4 pc's into the house from storage.
This would save space and effort for now.
I have a mouse, keyboard, and monitor to my right that I want to connect to those pc's.
Maybe this week I could check those.



It's in the init string for the kernel. They are named 'amithlon', which loads the bigird.gz file with the built-in amithlon_hd boot image, and 'small', which loads just the kernel/amithlon and looks for your Amiga boot enabled HD/Partition.

Edit 'amithlon' and just add nosleep at the end. If booting the CD it's kind of difficult to edit the file :)

emubox.gz init=/linuxrc console_level=0 root=/dev/ram0 initrd=bigird.gz vga=769 ramdisk_size=12010 leavepages=7400 nosleep

you can copy the .gz files, amithlon, small and loadlin.exe to a "dos" boot hd if you create one in Virtualbox and then edit the amithlon and small file there. Otherwise you are going to have reburn an Amithlon CD with the edits made. I just create a 20 MB freedos boot partition and copy those files and the newer kernels (kern310 and kernel4) to it and then create another partition that I format in AmigaOS as my Amiga partition.

boot to DOS, loadlin.exe amithlon (to boot with the HD) or loadlin.exe to boot Amithlon with your own AmigaOS 3.9 HD.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 23-Jul-2018 1:24:12
#25 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 464
From: Unknown

@SnkBitten

Thanks, I need to see if my Amithlon page is still up at www.amiga.org .
But, the site is not up right now.

I still have some old guides.

Last edited by Trekiej on 23-Jul-2018 at 01:30 AM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
SnkBitten 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 23-Jul-2018 9:57:16
#26 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Apr-2018
Posts: 40
From: SC, US

@Trekiej

Check out my site http://amithlon.snkbitten.com/ and you can have some "new" guides :)

Or you can download them as .pdfs from aminet http://aminet.net/package/docs/help/Amithlon-Guides

Complete walk-thru on installing, do the same for a Virtual box session, just instead of a PC have a DOS setup with IDE HD/CD and a 16 MB video card. Use the ICH AC97 sound and set USB to 'USB 1.1 (OHCI) Controller. If you want to try networking use the PCnet-FAST III or if you are using kernel4 and it's drivers you can use the Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 23-Jul-2018 15:14:14
#27 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 464
From: Unknown

@SnkBitten

I will check those out later.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 24-Jul-2018 1:12:22
#28 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 464
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

Downloaded.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
serk118 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 24-Jul-2018 10:40:37
#29 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Nov-2004
Posts: 681
From: London(uk)


I have use once for few weeks than moved to AROS because aros was users amiga in way and still is and free plus no politics..

_________________
http://aros-exec.org/

http://serk118.blogspot.com/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SnkBitten 
Re: Amithlon users - Looking for feedback please.
Posted on 24-Jul-2018 17:45:37
#30 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Apr-2018
Posts: 40
From: SC, US

@serk118

Quote:

serk118 wrote:

I have use once for few weeks than moved to AROS because aros was users amiga in way and still is and free plus no politics..


Very valid reasons, the inability to obtain it and the BS that went on to make it unavailable.

My infatuation with Amithlon began shortly after installing it the first time on some really old hardware, having read how fast it was, and then seeing it actually be faster than my installed WinUAE setup. It was also just neat to have what felt like AmigaOS running on this old PC hardware I had lying around. Once I got deeper into the setup and configuration and use of it, I liked it even more.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle