Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6041 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
23 crawler(s) on-line.
 10 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 zipper

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 zipper:  3 mins ago
 sibbi:  14 mins ago
 amigang:  34 mins ago
 Frank:  37 mins ago
 Karlos:  39 mins ago
 austgarden1:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 deadduckni:  1 hr 41 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 57 mins ago
 21stcentury:  2 hrs 5 mins ago
 OlafS25:  2 hrs 20 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  SketchBlock Professional Edition Now Available from AMIStore
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 11-Nov-2018 20:44:11
#21 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@kas1e

Thanks for buying. Can't reproduce those crashes here (obviously as I use this a lot myself).

The first crash is in ListBrowser, what version do you have installed? I tried it on FE Update 1 and it worked fine.


3.FE:> version listbrowser.gadget
listbrowser.gadget 53.62


The secind crash is more mysterious still it's the line that opens the ASL file requester, does a requester open for you? Do you have ASL patched (by MUI for example?)

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 11-Nov-2018 21:08:25
#22 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 2057
From: Czech Republic

@broadblues

Congratulations on getting the Pro version out of door! Although my painting is even worse than my singing, I've purchased the program because we definitely need more software like this.

I've noticed that when I load a picture larger than the current window view, neither of the scrollers is set appropriately to allow getting to the hidden portion of the image. Only after I resize the window do the scrollers get initialized to the correct values.

As kas1e points out, resizing the image window is rather slow (X5000 here: perhaps the lack of DMA in the graphics.library is at fault?). Also, the behaviour of the zoom selector seems a bit quirky: if you click the +/- gadget a few times to get to a desired zoom value (e.g. from 100 to 95), the operation does not take place using that value. Instead, it zooms at previous value minus 1 (i.e. at 99%), also resetting the gadget to that value. So you select a zoom of 95 but you get 99, which feels strange.

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Derfs 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 11-Nov-2018 21:26:52
#23 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 787
From: me To: you

@Trixie

Quote:

Trixie wrote:
@broadblues

I've noticed that when I load a picture larger than the current window view, neither of the scrollers is set appropriately to allow getting to the hidden portion of the image. Only after I resize the window do the scrollers get initialized to the correct values.



Same - it seems to resize correctly on the 2nd try for me.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 11-Nov-2018 21:48:55
#24 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@Trixie

The slow resising is down to the heavey conversion overhead to blit of whole frame at once. Difficult to get round, without some fake scaling technique I suppose.

The scrollers thing, is mysterious bug I've never manahged to track down. Only affects the window on first opening.

The scalng gadget is a bit odd it;s becase the window takes too long to rescale and the gadget gets updated at the end of the scale, which is fine when the scale was initiated from else where, quite sets it back when it was started from that gadget. Could be I need to chnage the order of events, in the underlying scale function.

For nowb best to type in the desired number in one go. Or use the View->Zoom menu for better presets. Works best at powers of two anyway.

Last edited by broadblues on 11-Nov-2018 at 11:49 PM.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 12-Nov-2018 0:41:31
#25 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@broadblues

I fixed the quirky scale gad behaviour simply by reordring the substeps of the ZOOM command. Should be more interactive in the next release.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 12-Nov-2018 6:56:35
#26 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 2057
From: Czech Republic

@broadblues

Great, thank you!!!

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 12-Nov-2018 10:13:13
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3527
From: Russia

@Broadblues
Quote:

The first crash is in ListBrowser, what version do you have installed? I tried it on FE Update 1 and it worked fine.


3.FE:> version listbrowser.gadget
listbrowser.gadget 53.62


My one are 53.74 (10/23/2016) . I can't easyly reproduce it, but few time a have it again.

Quote:

The secind crash is more mysterious still it's the line that opens the ASL file requester, does a requester open for you? Do you have ASL patched (by MUI for example?)


Nope, ASL window didn't come up before crash. And nope, have clean ASL. At moment can't reproduce is, but it happens yesterday after i play with all the kind of settings a bit.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 12-Nov-2018 13:25:07
#28 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 332
From: Unknown

@broadblues

Just bought SketchBlock Pro. Thanks for your hard work...

Works very well on X5000 and A1222.

On A1222, I notice some transparent lines in the canvas when I resize the paint window.

Is it ok to report on amigadeveloper.com ?


_________________
AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
----------------------------------
Amiga X5000 8GB Radeon RX 560
Amiga A1222 2GB Radeon RX 550
Sam 460 2GB RadeonRX 550

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 12-Nov-2018 14:47:33
#29 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@SinanG

Screen shot of the corruption?

Does it affect the actual image (ie corrupt data is saved) or just the display?

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 13-Nov-2018 8:16:53
#30 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 332
From: Unknown

@broadblues

Here is the screenshot. I can reproduce it both when SketchBlock opens its own screen or it is on Workbench.

https://ibb.co/jMX4Hq

It only affects the displayed image.

I saved the image as sketch and reloaded there were no problems.

Also

In a shell window, following is displayed.

pencusror load failed 1
pencusror select load failed 1
paintcusror load failed 1

Btw when I try to export the image, I get this error.

Rexx/ExportProjectAsPlugin.py: file not executable.

Last edited by SinanG on 13-Nov-2018 at 08:17 AM.

_________________
AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
----------------------------------
Amiga X5000 8GB Radeon RX 560
Amiga A1222 2GB Radeon RX 550
Sam 460 2GB RadeonRX 550

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 13-Nov-2018 8:27:47
#31 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 332
From: Unknown

@broadblues

I will post more information on OS4Beta mailing list.

_________________
AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
----------------------------------
Amiga X5000 8GB Radeon RX 560
Amiga A1222 2GB Radeon RX 550
Sam 460 2GB RadeonRX 550

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 13-Nov-2018 11:39:33
#32 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@SinanG

@broadblues

Quote:

Here is the screenshot. I can reproduce it both when SketchBlock opens its own screen or it is on Workbench.

https://ibb.co/jMX4Hq

It only affects the displayed image.


If you tweak the zoom up and down a percentage point does it go away?

Quote:

I saved the image as sketch and reloaded there were no problems.


Yes, I think it;s an issue with teh blitting of the image inot the window.

Quote:

Also

In a shell window, following is displayed.

pencusror load failed 1
pencusror select load failed 1
paintcusror load failed 1



Make sure you have a recent AISS version.

Quote:

Btw when I try to export the image, I get this error.

Rexx/ExportProjectAsPlugin.py: file not executable.


As noted above the AmiStore download process somehown resets the protetion bits.

Please open a shell CD to the SketchBlock directory and do

protect all Rexx/#?.py + s


_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 13-Nov-2018 11:46:15
#33 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@SinanG

Was that proect using Extended Memory?

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 13-Nov-2018 12:21:11
#34 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 332
From: Unknown

@broadblues

Quote:
If you tweak the zoom up and down a percentage point does it go away?



Yes it goes away. I tried zooming to 200%. But when I turn back to 100% other lines appear. Check the image below.

https://ibb.co/eNrC5L

* Updated AISS, problem is gone.
* Fixed protection bits of Rexx/ drawer

_________________
AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
----------------------------------
Amiga X5000 8GB Radeon RX 560
Amiga A1222 2GB Radeon RX 550
Sam 460 2GB RadeonRX 550

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 13-Nov-2018 12:22:56
#35 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 332
From: Unknown

@broadblues

Quote:

broadblues wrote:
@SinanG

Was that proect using Extended Memory?


What do you mean ? I have 2GB RAM in A1222

_________________
AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
----------------------------------
Amiga X5000 8GB Radeon RX 560
Amiga A1222 2GB Radeon RX 550
Sam 460 2GB RadeonRX 550

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 13-Nov-2018 12:30:46
#36 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@SinanG

Quote:


@broadblues

Quote:
If you tweak the zoom up and down a percentage point does it go away?



Yes it goes away. I tried zooming to 200%. But when I turn back to 100% other lines appear. Check the image below.

https://ibb.co/eNrC5L


Hmm okay, any issues with other applications? This conversation might be more suited to a beta forum or ML at this point....

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 13-Nov-2018 12:36:07
#37 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@SinanG

Quote:

Quote:

broadblues wrote:
@SinanG

Was that proect using Extended Memory?


What do you mean ? I have 2GB RAM in A1222


SketchBlock can use the extended memory system to allow loading of larger images, it needs to be enabled when you create a project so if you don't know what I meant you probably didn't enable it.

You can still get a benefit with omly 2Gb as not all that memory is available to you in normal usage as other components also share the momory space.

On the X1000 with the cfeide.device in use there is conflict that can cause crashes and superficially similar corruption, though in that case it does not go away with zooming and would be saved with the image, so I just wanted eliminate that possibilty.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 18-Nov-2018 18:39:43
#38 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@kas1e

Quote:

@broadblues

Purchaced already : it runs, look very rich by options and stuff. Trying to play a bit , like painting a littel, resize main window (sadly, resizing of whole window area is still a bit slow, and i can see redrawing of scroll-bar gadgets), then press quit, choice "no" or "not save", and then crash.

Crashlog: http://kas1e.mikendezign.com/aos4/sketchblock/Crashlog_SketchBlock_2018-11-11_23-08-27.txt


Think I've identified this issue. I suspect you closed the 'Layers Window' before closing / quiting the window, this forces the layers and toolwindow open again. And in this context the current project pointer was stale. (should have been NULL) actually in may indeed have been NULL but I was talking the address of the pointer, so now check for NULL before that.




_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 18-Nov-2018 19:50:37
#39 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@kas1e

Quote:

kas1e wrote:
@broadblues

Also "save as" from menu after some painting crashes as well, crashlog:
http://kas1e.mikendezign.com/aos4/sketchblock/Crashlog_SketchBlock_2018-11-11_23-18-30.txt



Had you closed the project before calling saveas? Ie so that were no projects open? I just got crash that way at roughly the same point, should be easy to fix that, the saveas function should have bailed out as there was no project to save!

Last edited by broadblues on 18-Nov-2018 at 07:54 PM.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Getting ready for SketchBlock Professional Edition
Posted on 18-Nov-2018 20:04:54
#40 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@kas1e

Thinki I fixed both your issues will send you a test build.


_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle