Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5630 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel

Who's Online
 58 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 eliyahu:  16 mins ago
 Trixie:  23 mins ago
 ferrels:  28 mins ago
 Tiw1:  1 hr 22 mins ago
 Debaser:  2 hrs 1 min ago
 Kraftwerk2:  2 hrs 7 mins ago
 Steady:  2 hrs 18 mins ago
 ggw:  2 hrs 19 mins ago
 Jasper:  2 hrs 59 mins ago
 ne_one:  3 hrs 14 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Unstable X5000
Register To Post

PosterThread
amigasociety 
Unstable X5000
Posted on 23-Dec-2018 0:27:53
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2010
Posts: 762
From: Unknown

I am guessing Enhancer 1.4 and its many add-ons could be a culprit but can't say for sure.

I have a fairly fresh Amiga OS 4.1FE install on my X5K and did all the Enhancer 1.4 on top of it. Guessing quite a few Amigans do the same since the purchase of the X5K from some dealers comes with the Enhancer. I normally have Candi running.

I seem to get frequent lock-ups when I do the following...

Turn on X5K... launch Wookie or AmIRC, launch AmigaAmp 3.23, and as music starts I grab AmigaAmp window to reposition on my screen, and as I move the app the system freezes. Music still plays but I lose control of doing anything else.... no cursor, nothing. Only a hard reboot takes care of it.

I can get the same thing to happen in TuneNet 2.9 also.

Most the time I use only a few apps after turning on my X. Wookie, Odyssey, and music from either AmigaAmp or TuneNet.

Anyone else experience this kind of issue?

I may do a new install and NOT install Enhancer and see if I can get the same music related crash but before I do so, figured it would not hurt to ask here.

TJ

Last edited by amigasociety on 23-Dec-2018 at 01:01 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigasociety 
Re: Unstable X5000
Posted on 23-Dec-2018 3:23:35
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2010
Posts: 762
From: Unknown

May have answered my own question. Appears to be Wookie that is the culprit for my issue. Was the common app that I always ran.

Testing going well. Switching between AmigaAmp and TuneNet... move all around with Odyssey, AmIRC running. So, if it keeps like this, could be Wookie will finally be over for me. Have used it for years. Only change I can think of is on-board ethernet versus NIC. Had been on NIC until about 2 months ago when the on-board ethernet became available. Switched to on-board and things did get unsettled but got worse. Maybe coincidence. Right now appears Wookie is it and why I would lock up when using these apps in question.

TJ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: Unstable X5000
Posted on 23-Dec-2018 5:30:14
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3157
From: Sydney (of course)

@amigasociety

Isn't that always the way? You wrack your brains for days over a problem and finally decide to ask the world if they've seen it before.

Five minutes after posting the question, you find the answer and fix it, feeling foolish.

Happens to me all the time.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigasociety 
Re: Unstable X5000
Posted on 23-Dec-2018 7:32:19
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2010
Posts: 762
From: Unknown

@tonyw

Indeed.

Wookie of course, as well as AmIRC, are quite old but both have always worked for me. Wookie was my preferred. Seldom used AmIRC but always have on my drive.

Could have swore I tested AmIRC before and had the same lock up but maybe since it happened so much it was a fluke.

Glad I went back to switching to a different app to see.

Looks like it may be time for Wookie to be laid to rest for use on my systems.

TJ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Unstable X5000
Posted on 23-Dec-2018 8:59:50
#5 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2303
From: www.amigakit.com

@amigasociety

The Enhancer Software 1.4 is stable and mature software. It is used widely by many hundreds of users here and improvements are made frequently and quickly.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigasociety 
Re: Unstable X5000
Posted on 23-Dec-2018 18:49:29
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2010
Posts: 762
From: Unknown

@amigakit

Can AmigaKit please tell us owners of the X5K what exact model sound card you are selling and recommend for 100% compatibility with Amiga OS 4.1 that comes shipped with our X5Ks?

If I can start at the exact base AmigaKit recommends would make my life easier.

Regards

TJ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Unstable X5000
Posted on 23-Dec-2018 19:06:45
#7 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1762
From: Czech Republic

@amigasociety

Quote:
Can AmigaKit please tell us owners of the X5K what exact model sound card you are selling and recommend for 100% compatibility with Amiga OS 4.1

I don't know what AmigaKit are shipping with their pre-built systems, but I use the ESI Juli@ PCI soundcard in my X5000, and it works wonders. The sound is crisp and clear, and the signal/noise ratio is very good. The card has flexible I/O configuration: you can either use unbalanced RCA (cinch) connectors, or you can flip the card's detachable I/O socket and use balanced TRS connectors. I feed the card's output into a TASCAM LM-8S line mixer using balanced connection, and my Amiga never sounded better.

Unfortunately, the PCI Juli@ is now discontinued. There is a PCI-e version, the Juli@ XTe, but I have no idea if or how it works in the X5000.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle