Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5639 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
35 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 broadblues,  pavlor

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 broadblues:  1 min ago
 pavlor:  4 mins ago
 SimplePPC:  6 mins ago
 kamelito:  14 mins ago
 K-L:  17 mins ago
 emeck:  20 mins ago
 olsen:  21 mins ago
 ppcamiga1:  39 mins ago
 Trixie:  44 mins ago
 OlafS25:  51 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Network driver for X1000?
Register To Post

PosterThread
Deniil715 
Network driver for X1000?
Posted on 21-Apr-2019 21:18:05
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4178
From: Sweden

Was there ever a network/ethernet driver for the X1000 motherboard/onboard ethernet chip/port?

I have a problem when transferring data between my peesea and the X1000 which are connected to the same local switch, that after a while, quite random, the X1000 has a short hickup in whatever sound (music) it is playing and the network drops out.

I think this happens when the switch dynamically optimizes and routes the packet traffic directly between the two ports instead of sending it to the default gateway to bounce back like it normally does. The RTL8139 driver, or Roadshow itself, cannot handle this but simply looses the connection completely.

After about 5 minutes or so (maybe when the switch drops its temporary optimization) the connection comes back and everything works as normal again.

I'd like to try with the onboard ethernet on my X1000 to see if that helps because it prevents me from using RDP or FTP between these machines properly.

I suspect the driver since it seems to freeze in an interrupt for about half a second (causing the sound hickup) when this happens.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Network driver for X1000?
Posted on 21-Apr-2019 21:31:23
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10627
From: In the village

@Deniil715

I don't have any current information on that topic.

As of November, 2018 when I posted there was no driver, I had asked Amigakit publically for any corrections.
At the time Matthew indicated :
Quote:
We have received no official information from Hyperion on status, progress or any possible release date


Any new information is certainly welcome.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: Network driver for X1000?
Posted on 22-Apr-2019 0:10:27
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3158
From: Sydney (of course)

@Deniil715

Daniel, plz contact me privately, wyattaw (at) optusnet (dot)com (dot) au.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: Network driver for X1000?
Posted on 22-Apr-2019 5:21:30
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1302
From: Oullins, France

@Deniil715

If you use a PCI card, I'd suggest you to find a 8168/8169 PCI-Express (1x) card. The PCI ports don't use DMA so they use a lot of CPU power.

For example, with a 8139 PCI card, the CPU saturates whith transfers reaching 8MB/s whereas with a 8168 card, I can reach 50MB/s before the CPU saturates.

Using a 1Gbs PCI-E (you can buy one for 10) changed my network usage with my X1000.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: Network driver for X1000?
Posted on 23-Apr-2019 19:45:08
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4178
From: Sweden

@K-L

Thanks for the suggestion!
I'll look into the options.

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Network driver for X1000?
Posted on 25-Apr-2019 19:11:47
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2732
From: Gloucestershire UK

@Deniil715

After reading this thread I bought one of these (links to cheaper ebay page, not the one I bought):

https://tinyurl.com/yyhp2nyc

It orks fine with the RTL8169 driver (I'm using it now).

Last edited by Severin on 25-Apr-2019 at 07:12 PM.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ncafferkey 
Re: Network driver for X1000?
Posted on 10-May-2019 14:05:46
#7 ]
AROS Core Developer
Joined: 8-Jul-2003
Posts: 272
From: Unknown

@K-L

Quote:

K-L wrote:
@Deniil715

If you use a PCI card, I'd suggest you to find a 8168/8169 PCI-Express (1x) card. The PCI ports don't use DMA so they use a lot of CPU power.


Im sceptical about that, as most PCI cards require DMA. If the RTL8139 causes high CPU usage, it may be a driver problem.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Network driver for X1000?
Posted on 10-May-2019 21:30:47
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2732
From: Gloucestershire UK

@ncafferkey

Quote:
I'm sceptical about that, as most PCI cards require DMA. If the RTL8139 causes high CPU usage, it may be a driver problem.


I Don't think it's entirely a driver problem,I use(d) the RTL8169 driver with both PCIe and PCI cards, the PCI card maxed out at around 3.8MB/s, then I upgraded my CAT3 cables direct to the router to CAT8 and a local switchbox and got upto 6MB/s. after installing the PCIe card I get around 10.5MB/s.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle