Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5701 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
44 crawler(s) on-line.
 8 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 MEGA_RJ_MICAL

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  3 mins ago
 K-L:  18 mins ago
 terminills:  20 mins ago
 Argo:  41 mins ago
 Fl@sh:  41 mins ago
 hlt:  42 mins ago
 Raffaele:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 Trekiej:  1 hr 48 mins ago
 billt:  2 hrs 14 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  need help my A4000 won't start with new A4000 ATX PSU adapter
Register To Post

PosterThread
klx300r 
need help my A4000 won't start with new A4000 ATX PSU adapter
Posted on 20-Jul-2019 3:43:33
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3495
From: Toronto, Canada

So wanting to replace my old and trusty original A4000 PSU with A4000 ATX PSU power adapter I purchased a micor-ATX psu that fits nicely into the A4000 PSU chasis BUT....

1-tried connecting micro-ATX and nothing..PSU not starting at all nor A4000 so tried another dull size ATX PSU and same thing
2- contacted Amigakit and they told me it was some 'sense' thing with newer PSU's but I had my suspicions
3- tried starting the PSU without connecting to A4000 and voila PSU started up no problem with following voltage readings:

Grey (what you call purple)-+5.21v
Blue--11.32v
Yellow-+ 12.14v
Red-+5.23v
4- let Amigakit know and they said these readings were fine and adapter was working ok but offered no help as to why it wasn't powering on my A4000

So long story over I turn this mystery over to my fellow amigans and hopefully I'm not the only one in the world this has happened too?&^! ..how come this kinda luck never happens when I buy a lottery ticket

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: need help my A4000 won't start with new A4000 ATX PSU adapter
Posted on 11-Aug-2019 4:11:55
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3495
From: Toronto, Canada

Update:

got around to try a full sized ATX PSU tonight and readings as follows when not connected to anything again:

Grey -+5.11v
Blue--11.52v
Yellow-+ 12.21v
Red-+5.11v

and yet again like the micro-ATX PSU my A4000 won't boot up at all. Tried attaching an old 'real' hard drive to see if some extra load draw would kick it up but same thing.

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: need help my A4000 won't start with new A4000 ATX PSU adapter
Posted on 11-Aug-2019 9:59:17
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2033
From: ST/AT

@klx300r

What ATX power supply do you use resp. what's its power rating for the outputs?

Over on a1k.org Matze developed a more sophisticated ATX power supply adapter for classic Amigas that can also put some load on the 12V line as modern ATX power supplies seem to expect most load on this line (because of the CPU voltage regulators connected to 12V - contrary to Amigas, which have most load on the 5V line).

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: need help my A4000 won't start with new A4000 ATX PSU adapter
Posted on 11-Aug-2019 17:11:58
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 508
From: Unknown

@klx300r

I don't know what you did and what you missed to do.

But many modern PC Power Suplys won't start up without a proper modification.

Look here: https://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-power-up-an-ATX-Power-Supply-without-a-PC/

So if you know all this details, have you checked the output voltages with a voltmeter?



Last edited by OneTimer1 on 11-Aug-2019 at 05:12 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle