Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5731 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
50 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Trixie,  terminills

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Trixie:  1 min ago
 terminills:  2 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  11 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  17 mins ago
 jacknife:  20 mins ago
 LarsB:  22 mins ago
 Jasper:  26 mins ago
 Everblue:  26 mins ago
 Serpi:  50 mins ago
 towo2099:  1 hr 23 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  Third gen Amiga?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )
PosterThread
Rose 
Re: Third gen Amiga?
Posted on 4-Oct-2019 7:42:09
#61 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 654
From: Unknown

@Samurai_Crow

Quote:

Samurai_Crow wrote:
Re:future vision

Continuing the line of products that once was known as Amiga, I can only see one affordable path: cluster computing. There are "compute unit" cards that put the capabilities of a RasPi3 on a $20 USD card. It is self contained enough to include boot media and 1 GiB of RAM on each. Now imagine running 8 in parallel. That's 32 cores and 8 GiB of RAM for $160 plus the motherboard they are plugged into. If that board were plugged into an add-on card for the PineBook Pro laptop that would be 38 cores and 12 Gigs of RAM for $400.

The downside is that the units need to talk to each other over USB2 lines to have enough connections to propogate as a hypercube network and a new version of Rust or Go that can cope with the parallelism of 8 slave busses and one master bus.

Is there enough interest or energy to do this?


To make this anyway feasible you would have to make some kind of weird NUMA implementation. And doing that over USB2 WLAN is somethign that you REALLY don't want to do. Both memory troughput and lantency would be beyond horrible.

And that's before thinking about scalability of your usual desktop software.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Third gen Amiga?
Posted on 4-Oct-2019 15:35:20
#62 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10794
From: In the village

@billt

Quote:
Has that been confirmed?


Of course not.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai_Crow 
Re: Third gen Amiga?
Posted on 5-Oct-2019 3:52:45
#63 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2003
Posts: 2176
From: Ft. Collins, Colorado, USA

@Rose

Numa was what I was after. Would a Sopine compute unit be any better? Because it's rare to see 4 independent ethernet controllers on an SoC in a compute unit, USB3 will be the best you'll see. Do USB3 controllers do DMA transfers?

Edit:
When researching the Sopine clusterboard it indicated an Ethernet switch and exposed USB2 for each compute unit up to 7. Never mind.

Last edited by Samurai_Crow on 05-Oct-2019 at 04:08 AM.
Last edited by Samurai_Crow on 05-Oct-2019 at 03:53 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: Third gen Amiga?
Posted on 5-Oct-2019 12:24:32
#64 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 654
From: Unknown

@Samurai_Crow

Quote:

Samurai_Crow wrote:
@Rose

Numa was what I was after. Would a Sopine compute unit be any better? Because it's rare to see 4 independent ethernet controllers on an SoC in a compute unit, USB3 will be the best you'll see. Do USB3 controllers do DMA transfers?

Edit:
When researching the Sopine clusterboard it indicated an Ethernet switch and exposed USB2 for each compute unit up to 7. Never mind.


Ethernet in general has too much latency. You would need something akin of InfiniBand and that would be WAY too expensive to make. And not sure would even that make implementation worth of it.

And a Bonus. Given how hard it seems to be to make a working SMP for Amigalikes, making NUMA implementation which isn't totally braindead is whole next level.

Last edited by Rose on 05-Oct-2019 at 01:03 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
paolone 
Re: Third gen Amiga?
Posted on 5-Oct-2019 14:47:06
#65 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Sep-2007
Posts: 1054
From: Unknown

Hi.

I don't know how much it could fit with the definition of "third gen Amiga" but I'd make you aware of the fact I've just released a pre-alpha version of 64bit Icaros Destkop. It's not complete yet and we'd really like if some people here prefered to help us with ironing the bugs and porting their software, instead of just blaming the others and fighting this "war among the poors".

The ISO is available here:
http://vmwaros.blogspot.com/2019/10/icaros-64-v000-pre-alpha-is-available.html

I've also recently released a pre-configured, Ubuntu 64 based virtual machine, compatible to VMware Player and VirtualBox, with AROS sources already downloaded, configured and ready to compile, for whoever would learn how to cross-compile their software using AROS metamakes. This would allow to build executables for practically any architecture AROS works on.

Details and download link for the Development VM are here:
https://vmwaros.blogspot.com/2019/10/a-pre-configured-development-machine.html

Moreover, there's a hub page for Icaros 64 collecting all relevant information about the new distro:
https://vmwaros.blogspot.com/p/64-bit.html

Please spend some minutes of your time reading all these.

thank you for your attention,

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai_Crow 
Re: Third gen Amiga?
Posted on 5-Oct-2019 16:05:42
#66 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2003
Posts: 2176
From: Ft. Collins, Colorado, USA

@paolone

Thanks. It's still second generation but it's the most advanced 2G Amiga around.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle