Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5829 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
50 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 billt:  5 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  14 mins ago
 DruggedBunny:  23 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 Argo:  1 hr 14 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 32 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 41 mins ago
 Dragster:  2 hrs 4 mins ago
 The_Shadow:  2 hrs 18 mins ago
 monstercoder:  2 hrs 20 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Increase MUI stack size (OS3.9 - MUI5.0)
Register To Post

PosterThread
smartroad 
Increase MUI stack size (OS3.9 - MUI5.0)
Posted on 10-Nov-2019 14:01:46
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2005
Posts: 197
From: United Kingdom

I've been trying to figure this out but to no avail. A number of MUI apps report that the stack size for MUI is to small (

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
alanwall 
Re: Increase MUI stack size (OS3.9 - MUI5.0)
Posted on 10-Nov-2019 17:48:59
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 21-Dec-2003
Posts: 106
From: Oregon

@smartroad

have you tried to increase the stack size ?
from the icon info file
or "Stack #"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tboeckel 
Re: Increase MUI stack size (OS3.9 - MUI5.0)
Posted on 10-Nov-2019 20:38:36
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2004
Posts: 274
From: Rehmerloh, Germany

@smartroad

To be on the safe side for all programs (not just MUI applications) use a tool like StackAttack. Unfortunatly Aminet seems to be down right now, so I cannot provide a link.

The point is that it is impossible the predict the real minimum stack usage of an application. But on the other hand a stack overflow of just a single byte can be lethal for other applications while it goes by absolutely unnoticed by the causing application. That's why it is absolutely necessary to ensure a large enough stack for b]any[/b] application. And MUI puts lots of volatile data on the stack. 8K might have been enough for MUI 3.8, but MUI simply demands more. That's why I raised the minimum requirement to 32K. And even the warning about these 32K might come too late, because the check is done when the MUI Application is created. If a stack overflow has happened before already due to the typical nested object creation the warning might be raised and the harm has been been done already.

To make it short: AmigaOS cannot automatically enlarge the stack, so it is up to you to provide enough stack size to avoid unwanted and unpredictable havoc.[

_________________
Why stop it now, just when I am hating it?

Thore Böckelmann

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle