Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5823 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
54 crawler(s) on-line.
 6 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  25 mins ago
 Rob:  26 mins ago
 Lou:  1 hr 38 mins ago
 klx300r:  2 hrs 9 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 SHADES:  2 hrs 23 mins ago
 Samurai_Crow:  2 hrs 53 mins ago
 fishy_fis:  3 hrs 5 mins ago
 Jasper:  3 hrs 46 mins ago
 ealm:  4 hrs 24 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  OS3.1.4 on CF for A1200 not booting
Register To Post

PosterThread
1Mouse 
OS3.1.4 on CF for A1200 not booting
Posted on 5-Feb-2020 21:34:25
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1328
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

Hi all,

I recently purchased OS3.1.4 on CF for my A1200 and it arrived today.

Unfortunately it doesn't boot.

I have 3.1.4 ROMs and when I have OS3.1 on CF flash it boots without any issue.

On replacing the OS3.1 with OS3.1.4 CF it no longer boots.

Can anyone suggest possible causes or cures.

Thanks to all.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kraftwerk2 
Re: OS3.1.4 on CF for A1200 not booting
Posted on 6-Feb-2020 5:27:35
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 218
From: Waterloo, NY

@1Mouse

Boot using the Install Floppy and start HDtoolbox. Chances are you need to update the filesystem and Jake sure the partition is bootable.

Just make sure you have a backup partition first.

Last edited by Kraftwerk2 on 06-Feb-2020 at 07:34 AM.

_________________
µA1-C/750FX@800Mhz/OS4.1 FE up#1
A4000/CSPPC 060-233/146Mb/CVPPC /OS3.9
A3000/CSPPC 060/233/64MB/Prometheus w/ Voodoo3/ OS3.9
A3000/PIV, A3000T/PIV

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_Steve_ 
Re: OS3.1.4 on CF for A1200 not booting
Posted on 8-Feb-2020 21:37:20
#3 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Oct-2002
Posts: 6747
From: UK

@Kraftwerk2

Also needs to make sure the missing libraries are on the boot media given things like workbench.library were moved out of ROM and onto disk to save space for some of the other updates now included in the 3.1.4 ROMs.

_________________
Test sig

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilFrog 
Re: OS3.1.4 on CF for A1200 not booting
Posted on 9-Feb-2020 10:15:16
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jan-2004
Posts: 319
From: UK

@1Mouse

Have you checked in HDToolbox to see if the bootable flag is set on the partition, and that the priority is something sensible (usually you'll want a number between 0-4)?

What’s the make and model of the two cards? Have you tried a Ctrl-A-A reset?

_________________
"Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard, be evil."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle