Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5753 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
30 crawler(s) on-line.
 21 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 towo2099:  5 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  10 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  14 mins ago
 LarsB:  15 mins ago
 K-L:  24 mins ago
 MichaelMerkel:  47 mins ago
 megol:  47 mins ago
 DiskDoctor:  58 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 18 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  X5000 Network printing
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
Swoop 
X5000 Network printing
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 22:49:42
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2156
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

His is anyone printing via ethernet on the X5000.

I have copied the same way I had lpr.device installed on my A1XEG3.
I share the printer with my imac, and previously printing was fine.

When I enter - Quote:
Echo >PRT: "Hello World!"

The response I get is "Echo: unable to open redirection file

Any advice gratefully recieved.

Last edited by Swoop on 23-Mar-2020 at 11:26 PM.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
graff 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 24-Mar-2020 8:10:39
#2 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Jul-2005
Posts: 42
From: Unknown

@Swoop

Just from the top of my head - haven't done any network printing myself - but I'd assume that you would need to have PRT: mounted also. Could that be the issue?

_________________
Regards
Thomas Graff Thøger

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 24-Mar-2020 8:33:19
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11384
From: Norway

@Swoop

Typing “assign” in shell, give list all mounted devices, and volumes, and assigns.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 24-Mar-2020 9:53:42
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2156
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
Typing “assign” in shell, give list all mounted devices, and volumes, and assigns.


Volumes:
RAM Disk [Mounted]
System [Mounted]
work [Mounted]

Directories:
AMISSL
C System:C
CLASSES System:Classes
CLIPS RAM Disk:Clipboards
DEVS System:Devs
ENVARC System:Prefs/Env-Archive
FONTS System:Fonts
GHOSTSCRIPT
HELP
KEYMAPS System:Devs/KeyMaps
L System:L
LIBS System:Libs
+ System:MUI/Libs
LOCALE System:Locale
+ System:MUI/Locale
MUI System:MUI
MultiEdit System:Utilities/MultiEdit
MultiViewer System:Utilities/MultiViewer
PRINTERS System:Devs/Printers
PYTHON System:System/Python
REXX System:S/ARexx
S System:S
SOBJS System:SObjs
SYS System:
T RAM Disk:T
tbimages System:Prefs/Presets/tbimages

Devices:
APPDIR AUDIO AUX AUX1 CON
DH0 DH1 DH34 ENV ICD0
ICD1 IDF0 IDF1 LPR PAR
PIPE PRT RAM RANDOM RAW
SER SER1 TCP TEXTCLIP URL

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 24-Mar-2020 11:12:32
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 173
From: Unknown

@Swoop
Do you have in your Sys/Devs/Dosdrivers drawer a file named "NPR"? It should be there and have in it a text like this:

/* mountfile for printer direct data throughput to netprinter.device */
/* instead of parallel port. Useful in Pagestream for "Send to NPAR:" */
/* $VER: NPAR: 1.1 (30.12.2009) by Ernest Unrau, Dec. 20, 2009. */

EHandler = L:port-handler
Stacksize = 10000
Priority = 5
Device = netprinter.device
Unit = 0
Control = "PAR"

You should also have in Sys/Devs 'netprinter.device' and in Sys:Prefs the 'Netprinter' program for configuring it.

PS. The package can be found from Aminet: http://aminet.net/comm/tcp/NetPrinter.lha

Last edited by Gregor on 24-Mar-2020 at 11:32 AM.
Last edited by Gregor on 24-Mar-2020 at 11:31 AM.
Last edited by Gregor on 24-Mar-2020 at 11:18 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 24-Mar-2020 11:43:01
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2156
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Gregor

Quote:
Do you have in your Sys/Devs/Dosdrivers drawer a file named "NPR"? It should be there and have in it a text like this:

/* mountfile for printer direct data throughput to netprinter.device */
/* instead of parallel port. Useful in Pagestream for "Send to NPAR:" */
/* $VER: NPAR: 1.1 (30.12.2009) by Ernest Unrau, Dec. 20, 2009. */

EHandler = L:port-handler
Stacksize = 10000
Priority = 5
Device = netprinter.device
Unit = 0
Control = "PAR"

You should also have in Sys/Devs 'netprinter.device' and in Sys:Prefs the 'Netprinter' program for configuring it.

No, I dont have any of that

Quote:
PS. The package can be found from Aminet: http://aminet.net/comm/tcp/NetPrinter.lha

Thanks for that. I will download that. Do I need to uninstall/revert the lpr.device, as well?

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 24-Mar-2020 13:38:07
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 173
From: Unknown

@Swoop
Quote:
http://aminet.net/comm/tcp/NetPrinter.lha
Thanks for that. I will download that. Do I need to uninstall/revert the lpr.device, as well?

I do not know how it is working, have never used it... But you have to at least edit also 'Printer' prefs and input there the 'netprinter.device'. Do you have now there the 'lpr.device'?

I have a postscript laser connected to my router and it has worked ok with Netprinter and X5000.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 24-Mar-2020 18:15:00
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2156
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Gregor

Yes I have also have a postscript laser printer. I have managed to print one of the Doc files successfully, so I will cop across pagestream, wordsworth etc and get them set up.

Thanks for your help

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 24-Mar-2020 19:13:57
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 173
From: Unknown

@SwoopQuote:

Yes I have also have a postscript laser printer. I have managed to print one of the Doc files successfully, so I will cop across pagestream, wordsworth etc and get them set up.

Glad to hear you got it working!

I'm also using Pagestream, and there I think it is best to bypass the AmigaOS printing system and print directly from PGS by selecting in Print setup "Send to 'device'" and NETPAR: (or whatever name you give to the Dosdriver - I have renamed it to NPR).

Regards,

Gregor



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 19:32:08
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2156
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Gregor

Quote:
I'm also using Pagestream, and there I think it is best to bypass the AmigaOS printing system and print directly from PGS by selecting in Print setup "Send to 'device'" and NETPAR: (or whatever name you give to the Dosdriver - I have renamed it to NPR).

I can getOdyssey to print, and also notepad, but pagestream is not playing ball.

I have a 400 page dictionary compiled in Pagestream, and I have not been too good with this Covid-virus, and have only just managed to get pagestream to display it properly.
I had to set the screen display to 75 x 75 in screen prefs , or else the screen was stretched sideways, and I had to sort out the font installs, etc.
Currently, it looks how it should but at the moment I cant get it to print.

Any pointers?

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 20:59:34
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 173
From: Unknown

@Swoop

Sorry to hear you were hit by the Covid . I hope you will recover soon...

Quote:
I can getOdyssey to print, and also notepad, but pagestream is not playing ball.
...
Currently, it looks how it should but at the moment I cant get it to print.

Any pointers?


What happens when you try to print from Pagestream? Do you get any message on the screen? Does your printer receive any data or react in a way or another?

How are your "Print prefs..." in Pagestream set currently?

Last edited by Gregor on 29-Mar-2020 at 09:13 PM.
Last edited by Gregor on 29-Mar-2020 at 09:12 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 21:00:09
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 577
From: Unknown

@Swoop

If you have installed net printer then the printer should not be parallel.device but netprinter.device

When printing from a odyssey webpage make sure print is PRT:

You should be able to print postscript without any issues via this way providing your printer supports it.

_________________
Amigaone X5000/20 4GB Radeon RX 550 Polaris 12 AmigaOS4.1 Final Edition Update 1
Amiga 1200 Workbench 3.1.4
Amiga CD32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 22:48:56
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2156
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Gregor

Quote:
I'm also using Pagestream, and there I think it is best to bypass the AmigaOS printing system and print directly from PGS by selecting in Print setup "Send to 'device'" and NETPAR: (or whatever name you give to the Dosdriver - I have renamed it to NPR).

I have the following in Devs/DosDrivers, with no icon -
Quote:
/* mountfile for printer direct data throughput to netprinter.device */
/* instead of parallel port. Useful in Pagestream for "Send to NPAR:" */
/* $VER: NPAR: 1.1 (30.12.2009) by Ernest Unrau, Dec. 20, 2009. */

EHandler = L:port-handler
Stacksize = 10240
Priority = 5
Device = netprinter.device
Unit = 0
Baud = 0 /* set this to ZERO for parallel.devices */

#

Pagestream (and Turbocalc and Wordsworth) want to prtint tp PAR:
Do I need to copy across PAR: from storage and change the tooltypes in the icon?

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 22:53:40
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2156
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@outrun1978

Quote:
If you have installed net printer then the printer should not be parallel.device but netprinter.device

When printing from a odyssey webpage make sure print is PRT:

You should be able to print postscript without any issues via this way providing your printer supports it.

I have netprinter.device installed but Pagestream doesnt want to use netprinter.device, it seems to want PAR:
When I look in Devs/DosDrivers PRT: says it is mounted, but PAR: is not there.
Do I copy PAR: across and edit the tooltypes?
If so what do I have to enter.

It was 2003 when I set up my A1XEG3 - a) a long time ago, and b) I was a bit younger then. ;)

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DiscreetFX 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 23:19:33
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Feb-2003
Posts: 1885
From: Chicago, IL

@Swoop

When not just save what you want to print as a PDF? Then you can print it from any OS or device.

_________________
Sent from my Quantum Computer.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 30-Mar-2020 6:16:21
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 173
From: Unknown

@Swoop

Quote:
/* mountfile for printer direct data throughput to netprinter.device */
/* instead of parallel port. Useful in Pagestream for "Send to NPAR:" */
/* $VER: NPAR: 1.1 (30.12.2009) by Ernest Unrau, Dec. 20, 2009. */

EHandler = L:port-handler
Stacksize = 10240
Priority = 5
Device = netprinter.device
Unit = 0
Baud = 0 /* set this to ZERO for parallel.devices */
#


You need edit that file and remove this line:
Baud = 0 /* set this to ZERO for parallel.devices */

and replace it with this:
Control = "PAR"

(You have of course to reboot before the change is effective.)

Is the NAME of that file still 'NPAR', as I suppose it was originally? What ever it is, it gives the name to device you have to use in Pagestream. So, if it is NPAR, you have to input NPAR: into Pagestream!

In PageStream, open the "Print Setup..." from menus. At the top of the window there is the selection 'Type'. It should be "Postscript". Beside it, you should set the 'Send to' to "Device" and input after that 'NPAR:' (or whatever is the name of that Device driver file in Devs/DosDrivers).

You should not need to do anything else. This way the AmigaOS printing system is bypassed totally, and the prefs there have no effect on printing from PageStream.

It is, though, possible to print from PageStream ALSO by using the AmigaOS printing engine. In that case you have to choose in PageStream's "Print Setup..." the 'Type' "Preference" (below it should read then 'Model' PostScript). In the 'Options' you can select a DPI suitable for you laser. But this way of printing is not optimal, and there may appear e.g. offset errors.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 30-Mar-2020 13:14:57
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2156
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Gregor

Quote:
You need edit that file and remove this line:
Baud = 0 /* set this to ZERO for parallel.devices */

and replace it with this:
Control = "PAR"

(You have of course to reboot before the change is effective.)
I have done that but pagestream tells me that NETPAR: is not mounted.

NETPAR and Lpr are the two files in Devsw/DosDrivers, but they are just text files, with no icon.

If I look at icon info they are both Mountfiles but their default tool is "Multiviewer:Multiviewer"

If I look at PRT: or PAR:, they have an icon and the default tool, is c:mount.

Do I just need to change the default tool, or do I need to add an icon as well?

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 30-Mar-2020 13:33:13
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2156
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Gregor

I have changed the default tools to c:mount, and Pagetream tells me NETPAR: cant be opened, and yet if I click on thye icon in DosDrivers it tells me it is mounted.

Any suggestions?



_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 30-Mar-2020 14:41:41
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 173
From: Unknown

@SwoopQuote:


NETPAR and Lpr are the two files in Devsw/DosDrivers, but they are just text files, with no icon.

If I look at icon info they are both Mountfiles but their default tool is "Multiviewer:Multiviewer"

If I look at PRT: or PAR:, they have an icon and the default tool, is c:mount.

Do I just need to change the default tool, or do I need to add an icon as well?


At least in my system the Dosdrivers do not need to have an icon! If they just are in Devs/DosDrivers, they are automatically mounted when the system boots (I cannot now remember whether there is some setting in AmigaOS prefs to enable or disable it...).

So it's peculiar if the NETPAR: is not automatically mounted in your system.

I think multivew is the default tool for all text files, when they do not have any icon. Basically a Dosdriver is just a text file, there is nothing special in the file format.

If you change the default tool for a file which does not have an icon, and save it, an icon is created automatically. Othervise there would not be a place where the info about the default tool could be stored.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 Network printing
Posted on 30-Mar-2020 14:46:44
#20 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 173
From: Unknown

@Swooprote:
Quote:
I have changed the default tools to c:mount, and Pagetream tells me NETPAR: cant be opened, and yet if I click on thye icon in DosDrivers it tells me it is mounted.

Any suggestions?


I suggest that we exchange mutually our 'NETPAR' files. So we could control that the problem is not in them... I will send you PM with my email address.
---

While waiting for your answer I did some testing... I created on purpose a syntax error on that "NETPAR" file. I left away the quotation marks which should be around PAR, and got the same symptons as you: The NETPAR: was mounted, but Pagestream says that NETPAR: cannot be opened!

So, I would guess there is just some small syntax error in your NETPAR file... Could you still check that the end part of it looks like this (including the # at very end; the number of spaces before '=' is not important):

EHandler = L:port-handler
Stacksize = 10240
Priority = 5
Device = netprinter.device
Unit = 0
Control = "PAR"

#

Last edited by Gregor on 30-Mar-2020 at 03:47 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle