Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5753 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
73 crawler(s) on-line.
 18 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 MEGA_RJ_MICAL,  Georg

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  20 secs ago
 Georg:  1 min ago
 Dege:  10 mins ago
 DiskDoctor:  17 mins ago
 thinkchip:  19 mins ago
 CygnusEd:  27 mins ago
 BillE:  29 mins ago
 bison:  31 mins ago
 BigD:  45 mins ago
 amisteph:  55 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
DBAlex 
3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 23-May-2020 22:40:35
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 759
From: UK

Hello all,

So I finally got my A1200 back on the internet after having to setup an old router as an access point using WEP WiFi security (yes I know it's not secure but at least there is *some* password on there now).

Since i've been using the A1200 more it got me wondering what 3D games I could try on my A1200 now.

I downloaded the Freespace demo from Hyperion but it needs Warp3D/RTG so that one's out. I tried Wazp3D but doesn't seem to run on 060.

I was wondering if there are other 3D games I could try on my 060/AGA setup, I know about maybe Quake 2 but anything else fairly modern that I could try?

Looked at ADescent on Aminet too so might give that a try, hopefully it works with Shareware files.

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
x303 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 23-May-2020 23:53:33
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Jan-2005
Posts: 173
From: Amsterdam

@DBAlex

You could try Genetic Species.

You can download it for free @ Aminet.

Last edited by x303 on 24-May-2020 at 12:04 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 24-May-2020 0:54:08
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5915
From: S.Wales

@DBAlex

Not all 3D games but it was the easiest way to bring up all of NovaCoder's ports on Aminet.

http://aminet.net/search?readme=NovaCoder

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 24-May-2020 13:02:28
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 759
From: UK

@x303,@Rob

Thanks for the recommendations i'll give them a try. Didn't know that Genetic Species was on Aminet and it looks like it's been on there since 2001!

I'll give some of Novacoder's ports a try Rob, might try ZDoom as it's the port I use on my PC, one of the best IMHO.

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 24-May-2020 15:49:44
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1004
From: United States of Europe

@DBAlex

The shadow of the third moon http://hol.abime.net/1894
Trapped II http://hol.abime.net/4182

Original Trapped was nice game
http://hol.abime.net/1499

Last edited by utri007 on 24-May-2020 at 04:31 PM.
Last edited by utri007 on 24-May-2020 at 04:30 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 24-May-2020 16:02:05
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5915
From: S.Wales

@DBAlex

Quote:
idn't know that Genetic Species was on Aminet and it looks like it's been on there since 2001!


I remember downloading it back in the day when I was on dial-up and then spending a while unpacking it all.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
x303 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 24-May-2020 20:45:43
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Jan-2005
Posts: 173
From: Amsterdam

@DBAlex

Quote:
Didn't know that Genetic Species was on Aminet and it looks like it's been on there since 2001!

Well, I have the game on cd since it came out

Don't forget Heretic 1 & 2 and Hexen.

Last edited by x303 on 24-May-2020 at 08:49 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wol 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 24-May-2020 22:27:12
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 968
From: UK.......Sol 3.

@DBAlex

Gloom...

It always played at good speed on my A4K 060.

Wol.

_________________
It is my conviction that killing under the cloak of war is nothing but an act of murder.~Albert Einstein

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 25-May-2020 15:26:27
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5915
From: S.Wales

@DBAlex

Testament digital download for 2.

https://www.amigashop.org/product_info.php?cPath=2_35&products_id=214

Flyin High digital download for 8 and data disks 1 & 2 2 each. I seem to recall a review mentioning that the data disks fix a problem with the control system in the original release.

https://www.amigashop.org/product_info.php?cPath=2_35&products_id=135
https://www.amigashop.org/product_info.php?cPath=2_35&products_id=136
https://www.amigashop.org/product_info.php?cPath=2_35&products_id=137

Demo version and various extras can be downloaded here.

http://flyinhigh.apc-tcp.de/download-de.php

Desert Racing of BarDos 30 plus shipping.

https://www.amigashop.org/product_info.php?cPath=2_35&products_id=132

Demo version and patches.

http://desertracing.apc-tcp.de/download-de.php

I actually went to the Amiga Future shop to look for Nemac IV but they don't seem to sell it despite APC&TCP being the publisher in the past. Maybe worth sending them an email to see if there's any possibility to make it available again.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 25-May-2020 17:37:37
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1004
From: United States of Europe

@Rob

Quote:

Desert Racing of BarDos 30 plus shipping.


I really would like to like this game, but it is so bad that it is not a even a game. 99% unplayable, 1% playabilyt comes because it reacts a joystick.

But APC / TCP has some really nice games for very economy price.

Like this https://www.amigashop.org/product_info.php?cPath=2_35&products_id=131

Last edited by utri007 on 25-May-2020 at 05:51 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 25-May-2020 22:01:35
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 601
From: Unknown

@DBAlex

NemacIV might be missing, it was a nice 3D game for Amigas (not a port) in the style of DOOM, no monsters only robots but great looking explosions.

---

All those Wolfenstein, DOOM, Gloom Quake games used a simplified 3D technology that was optimised for surfaces with horizontal and vertical orientations, they where excellent for dungeons or rooms with rectangular surfaces, they didn't needed a 3D accelerator.

Last edited by OneTimer1 on 25-May-2020 at 10:02 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 25-May-2020 23:36:31
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5915
From: S.Wales

@DBAlex

Not so obvious is Legends Of Valour. I think it was the first Amiga game to use a texture mapped 3D game engine.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 26-May-2020 13:23:48
#13 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 759
From: UK

@All

Thanks for all the suggestions!

Will probably start with Genetic Species but definitely worth having a look at others.

Tried just for fun to get an MP4 to play using ffplay the other day but it needs SDL which does have an AGA port but I can't find an AGA SDL.library unfortunately.

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
x303 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 26-May-2020 19:00:05
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Jan-2005
Posts: 173
From: Amsterdam

@DBAlex

For ffplay to work, you'll need CGX or P96.
If you have that and if you still can't get it to run and get "Could not initialize SDL - No available video device", you need to kick the file sdl_videodriver from envarc:

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 26-May-2020 20:55:07
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1004
From: United States of Europe

@DBAlex

Most of SDL stuff for real 68k Amigas are not worth of time wich is used to to test them

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 27-May-2020 12:57:57
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 759
From: UK

@x303

Yes it requires CGX or P96 but I thought there might be an AGA fallback.

I would be OK with NovaCoders AGA SDL Library (http://aminet.net/package/dev/lib/SDL_AGA) but it doesn't have an SDL.library. Maybe it can be compiled to spit out an sdl.library file I'll have to have a look.

It would still be really slooww but it's just for fun. I wondered if I could convert the MP4 to AVI and maybe try and play with OS3.9 Action, but i'm not 100% what AVI format Action supports.

Last edited by DBAlex on 27-May-2020 at 12:59 PM.
Last edited by DBAlex on 27-May-2020 at 12:58 PM.
Last edited by DBAlex on 27-May-2020 at 12:58 PM.

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
x303 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 27-May-2020 16:57:17
#17 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Jan-2005
Posts: 173
From: Amsterdam

@DBAlex

You could try this one. Dunno if it works.
CGXAGA

There is no general SDL.library. Normally sdl is added to the compiled source, which makes the output a lot bigger.
The only thing is that a lot of sourcecodes are set to 15,16,32 bit screenmodes, which is bigger than the 8 bit aga.
That's why you need p96/cgx. Or someone that recompiles / re-code everything for 8 bit.

Last edited by x303 on 27-May-2020 at 05:07 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 29-May-2020 19:07:23
#18 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 759
From: UK

@x303

Thanks for the suggestion will give that a try. Maybe it can fool my system into believing it has CGX!

No general sdl.library? I used this one from Aminet (http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/SDL-Amiga) but as I said before only for RTG systems I believe.

It does say "maybe it works with CGXAga , but it's untested." so i'll give it a try.

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
x303 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 29-May-2020 20:56:29
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Jan-2005
Posts: 173
From: Amsterdam

@DBAlex

Normally, when porting to a68k using gcc, you use the sdl link library, not the sdl.library.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: 3D Games for 060 AGA Amiga
Posted on 29-May-2020 22:05:23
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 759
From: UK

@x303

Yeah we took a left turn when we should took a right eh with all of that static linking nonsense.

Shared libs FTW, when possible!

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle